We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay.”
Review of Emdoneni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emdoneni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights at Emdoneni Lodge - what a super place to stay. From our check-in to our departure we were treated so well. On arrival we were given a small drink which is most welcome after a long trip. The rooms are clean and well equipped with all the necessities that one needs on a short trip away from home. The rooms are tastefully decorated with an African theme. The garden/ pool area has plenty of comfortable seating. On our first afternoon at Emdoneni we went on the cat interaction experience - this was really great. Our guide was most informative and we got the chance to see some of the cats that I have not been able to see in the wild. The chance to stroke a cheetah was awesome. The dinner and breakfast are both served in buffet style. The food is plentiful and well prepared. On our 2nd day we went on a game drive to Hluhluwe. This had been organized by the staff at Emdoneni. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative about the park and the animals. All staff are friendly and most helpful. I would recommend this establishment as a super place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dearest Guest

Emdoneni strive to be a SUPER place as you said - many thanks for the lovely review!

Warm regards
Cecillie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    71
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
114
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience - from the peace and tranquility, the clean rooms, the delicious food, the friendly and helpful staff, to be able to learn about the cats from a very knowledgeable and experienced Game Guide and interact with the cheetahs was so awesome that it will always be one of the highlights of our lives. We intend going again in future and highly recommend Emdoneni

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. Here at Emdoneni we strive to offer the best experience to our guests.

Looking forward to meeting you when you are back at the lodge!

Kind regards
Cecillie
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Emdoneni Lodge is both quiet but full of vibe. I would recommend this hotel for many reasons, level of service, the quiet farm style getaway, breathtaking views of animals and cats and also the owners Are so down to earth and accommodating.. I have been twice this year already, that's how much I really enjoy going there, and I'm a fussy person!! If you are looking for a op die plaas kind of feeling but want all the benefits of a hotel, look no further as Emdoneni Lodge offers just that. Cats tours, game drives, bush walks, only you limit yourself so go on and enjoy your weekend or week at this amazing lodge and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmeuekens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks Mat for your lovely review once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great weekend with our 6 year old and the lodge was very accommodating. It was a breath of fresh air not to have to worry about that.

We were treated so great, it was like a home away from home.
The cat tour was fantastic and the Game drive was so professional.

Thanks
Monica

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonvdBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Monica

All our guests are dear to us and we strive to treat the all like kings and queens!

Kind regards
Cecillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first holiday on the North Coast,and loved every minute of it. The accommodation was comfortable,neat and clean, the grounds well kept,and the cat enclosures well designed.Easily accessible from the N2.
The tours are extremely informative,and the guide was friendly and patient.
Was really impressed with the friendliness and willingness of the staff,especially the catering team.We were always well received and enjoyed the large variety of meals prepared freshly every day.
Thank you,team for the hospitality that was metered out to us.I am still singing your praises,after a month.We will certainly be back !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyG204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mandy

We appreciate the singing of praise!

Regards
Cecillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very peaceful and tranquil getaway.
Lovely wildlife interaction.
Food and wine were superb.
Perfect for couples and kids.
Activities were great at Emdoneni and surrounding areas.Game drives are a must!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin84100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kevin

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge. We pride ourselves in the service and quality to all our guests.

Regards
Cecillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I have always wanted to see the cats up close, some of them very difficult to see in the wild. The 'up close and personal' aspect was an added bonus, as was the very professional talk on each species.
The room was clean and comfortable, the food unexpectedly good, the staff very pleasant and friendly, and, besides the cat tour, we had time to explore the western shores of St Lucia and have a few elephant encounters in Hluhluwe/Umfolozi on the way back to Durban.
All in all a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibarrow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Barrow family

Many thanks for the time to do this review for us. Full scoring in all areas show that we are right on track!

Looking forward to see you back at the lodge.

Kind regards
Louis & Cecillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
5.9 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
6.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
151 reviews
24.9 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
14.5 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 32 in Hluhluwe
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emdoneni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Property: Emdoneni Lodge
Address: District Road 123 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emdoneni Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing