We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neglected - and bed bugs :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hluhluwe Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neglected - and bed bugs :(”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The location was great. It was a disappointing visit as the backpackers genuinly has amazing potential but much neglect on details that make travellers want to stay an extra night. Dave was very accomodating. Unfortunately my brother and I got eaten alive by large bed bugs that had infested the pillows. One week later and we are both still itching and quite grossed out..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesserspottedhuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
We are sorry your experience was as described. Been a busy backpacker we have travelers from all over the world and we do all in our power to ensure that all bedding and such as kept clean and spotless. Please feel welcome to contact us anytime to discuss your concerns and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards Hluhluwe Backpackers Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Viernheim
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We arrived at Hluhluwe backpackers in the afternoon of 27.09.2012.

Unfortunately we realized that the description of this accommodation as mentioned in SafariNow do not have any similarity with the reality !!

The descriptions says we can get breakfast as well as dinner in this accommodation like in other accommodations. This meansfor us:"backpacker" is only a name but not the sence but this corresponds not with the truth !! The truth is, that you have to use the kitchen bay yourself !! But this kitchen is in an uncredible dirty condition !!

Additionally an other contradiction: at the entrance there is a large label, which shows 4 stars for this accommodation. The reality however is a reception where you stick with the arms.

The result: we are not in the position to have an overnight stay !!! We arranged an other accommodation for this night.

But! We should say this especially!! We have to thank the owner of Hluhluwe backpackers that he accepted that we are not able to stay and gave back to us the payed second 50% of the charge!!

Later on we became acquainted with an "accommodation tester". He told us that he knows Hluhluwe backpackers and this accommodation is not allowed to show 4 stars !!!

Fortunately this was our only bad experience in South Africa over almost seven weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Your review in all honesty does not any any sense. You had booked with an online booking agent and secondly as clear with `backpackers` we are a budget accommodation with shared bathrooms and kitchen. You arrived expecting a four star Southern Sun Hotel type of accommodation and environment which is fine but then you need to book at those type of establishments and be prepared to pay those prices. The same we state it does not make sense you met a accommodation tester??? Breakfast and dinners are available by prior arrangement and are not included in prices as stated on our website and all booking sites.Our management still gave you a refund but you put as a heading `Incredible` while still running our establishment down? Our kitchen is kept spotless that said it is shared and not possible for our staff to stand behind every single guest cooking to watch every dish is done immediately. I am sure you will understand this will be the case even in your own home. We hope you enjoyed the reat of your travels in South Africa Best Regards Hluhluwe Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We did Dave's 3 day Zululand Tour, which was a great time. Dave was an excellent tour guide and he took care to ensure that we got a proper experience. He's a funny guy and very knowledgable about the park. The rooms were fairly basic but clean, and well lit. That's what you get in South Africa at backpackers prices; if you want a five star, go down the street. But the property is beautiful, the location can't be beat, and Dave is a cool dude. Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come visit us again! Best Regards Hluhluwe Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Very close to the Hluhluwe Park Memorial Gate, easy to find and Dave (the owner) was very welcoming and friendly. Bathrooms are clean, rooms are clean, and the rates are great! I will definitely go back to Hluhluwe Backpackers the next time we head to Hluhluwe for a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

we stayed 1 night in august . we found the place really neglected, the room was very basic, just one bed , no table, no chairs, It was clean but the shower was dimly lit and broken. for the supposed breakfast , only bread available, no tea, no jam . at 8 am Dave was not up and there was nobody around!!
I don't recommend the place; its positive point is its situation , next to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. Other guests have written great reviews around this time so it may be that you were wanting upmarket luxury accommodation in which we will be more then happy to refer you to one of the many good but very expensive establishments in the area. Been a backpacker with very reasonable rates we are not luxury and rooms are just that basic.
Breakfast and dinners are available at prior arrangement as we offer self catering and braai facilities. The reason why you did not see the owner is that he is up at 4.30am most mornings to do game drives hence our close location to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve. Best Regards Hluhluwe Backapckers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I went to Hluhluwe with several friends, and we were excited to get some camping in at Dave's. However, it wasn't the happy-go-lucky kind of experience we had been anticipating. After our first night camping we awoke to find that one of our friends' stuff had been stolen. Everything. Right from the inner lining of the tent. We spent the morning trying to rectify the situation and were told that something like this had never happened before. At the police station, however, we were told that it WAS NOT the first time campers had been robbed. The stuff was never recovered (except for a pair of flip-flops). So, if you chose to stay at Dave's, lock up your stuff.

Room Tip: be on guard for theft
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonsum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Thank you for your review and your group had arrived very late at night and did not pack their bags away which was left on a car boot. We cannot be held responsible for neglect on our guests side as it is logical in Africa as anywhere in South Africa one needs to be careful with safety and put belongings away at night. We do recall that evening our camping area was fully booked and we also had 24 hour security. We do hope your enjoy the rest of your travels in South Africa. best Regards Hluhluwe Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Recommended. Nice feel, clean rooms, bathrooms, and kitchen. Very close to the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Park Memorial Gate -- great place to stay if you are coming or going to this beautiful park! The owner has great information on the area and is a pleasure to talk to. Only thing missing is wifi.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjlrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
4.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
72 reviews
7.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
8.7 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
13.9 mi away
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in KwaNompondo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe Backpackers

Property: Hluhluwe Backpackers
Address: Cnr Memorial Gate & Hluhluwe Dam Rds | Hluhluwe Dam Road, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest spot (1km) to the Hluhluwe/Imfolozi National Park. For the best 4x4 open vehicle game drives, visit Hluhluwe Backpackers!! We call the Big 5 our neighbours and enjoy a stunning 360 degree view onto the surrounding hills of Zululand and the mountains of the Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hluhluwe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe Backpackers South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing