We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We arrived as strangers and left as friends”
Review of Umkhumbi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umkhumbi Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2011

What a lovely discovery. After a few hours on the road in Pongola (they can be interminable...) it was wonderful to be greeted by Anton and Emma. They immediately set about making us (wife and two kids) comfortable - provided a welcome home cook meal and great conversation. Anton is a fountain of knowledge and ideas for activities. Our kids loved the snake collection and were made to fell at home in the very protected surroundings. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Manager at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Hi, thanks for the great review.
We're really glad the kids enjoyed it and liked the snakes (there is a photo of one of them holding the boa constrictor on our facebook page for you). They were great kids and are always welcome here! Would be great to have you all back again soon.

See you soon,
Anton and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a lovely few days in Umkhumbi, unfortunately it wasnt longer as we wanted to stay for longer! It is a beautiful lodge with great staff and food and bedrooms, all was perfect. Thanks Emma

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JaneRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Hey Jane!
Glad you enjoyed your enjoyed your stay, now you have a good excuse to stay longer next time!
See you soon,
Anton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This is a great place. It is new and very nicely done. Everything was great - the rooms, the restuarant, the grounds - everything

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Umkhumbi is quiet and tranquil - a hidden gem.
Meals are tasty and the company great! The accomodation is super too! Our 3 year old loves to explore the bush for "gogga's" and there are so many surrounding places to explore during the day.
After watching the sun go down from the deck and just being away from the city, we all feel replenished and ready to face life again. Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindieot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Umkhumbi is ideally located to explore the region which has so much to offer. Great hospitality, most comfortable beds we have slept in for a long time! Excellent food and a cold beer at the end of a day exploring the regions game parks and nearby St. Lucia / Cape Vidal. Resident wildlife and natural flora compliment the units. If you are anything like me who only sleeps in a room and is more interested in the activities the region has to offer, then the accommodation will be more than satisfactory. To summarize....quality accommodation in the right place and the right price....pure value for money. Go see for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhodieBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Umkhmbi Lodge is a small collection of comfortable bungalows set in the middle of the bush, The rooms are tastefully furnished with an ajoining spacious bathroom. Each unit has a fridge and an efficient aircon system. However they would be improved if hanging space was provided. The small verandah is perfect for viewing the local bird and butterfly population not to mention the resident deer species. The lapa area is reached by a stoll along a well lit path and has breathtaking views, especially at sunset, The restraunt is on the ground floor where varied ,tasty and well presented meals are provided. Anton and Emma are attentive hosts, Anton provding a weath of information on local flora and fauna whilst Emma will provide help with travel plans with quiet efficiency. The lodge is well based for regional attractions and game parks, a perfect base for touring Kwazulu Natal.Thank you Umkhumbi lodge for making my first visit to S,A, so memorable

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annebev58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Our hosts Emma and Anton (a charming couple) made us feel instantly at home in a very relaxed setting, As this is a fairly new set up there are still a few things that need to be sorted out - e.g. there are no cupboards for clothes in the bedrooms and, whilst we realise that most people stay for a very short while, it would help for those staying longer. We gathered that they were thinking about putting cupboards in so this may have changed. The rooms are very comfortable, the food was excellent, the walks good with wonderful birds and the closeness to St Lucia ,Hluhluwe and Umfolosi and False Bay parks make this an ideal place to stay while wanting to visit the game reserves. We're due to go back again soon and will recommend this to all our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2010

Many thanks for your review. Just a note to say the rooms do have packing space for clothes and we are busy adding hanging space too. - Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.2 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
3.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0.9 mi away
The Fever Tree Guest House
The Fever Tree Guest House
#2 of 10 in Hluhluwe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umkhumbi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umkhumbi Lodge

Address: R22, next to Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £116 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umkhumbi Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umkhumbi Lodge offers spacious accommodation in beautiful air-conditioned chalets, all privately nestled in the bush. We have 12 x 2-sleeper rooms. Twin beds or Kingsize beds available. Each chalet has 2 rooms with each its own en-suite bathroom. An inter-leading door makes these units perfect for families. Each bathroom has a bath and shower. All rooms are fitted with a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, private veranda and air-conditioning. Our usual package includes a 3-course dinner and full breakfast. A B&B option is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Umkhumbi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umkhumbi Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing