We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The welcome was a special touch that made us feel part of the family immediately…”
Review of Umkhumbi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umkhumbi Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hluhluwe B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The welcome was a special touch that made us feel part of the family immediately…”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Umkhumbi Lodge - Hluhluwe
A Luxury Lodge near all the attractions around the Hluhluwe - iMfolozi National park
On arrival the owners were personally around to welcome us – this special touch made us feel part of the family immediately…
The views from the bar on the top deck overlooking the bush is a great setting for dinner that was a great taste of traditional local foods

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hey DJ!

Thanks for the lovely review, when are you coming back, it's been a while!
You have missed some stunning sunsets and the birds are loving the rain we've had recently :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed here 3 times so far, and would happily stay 3 times more! There's something special about waking up, sitting on the secluded decking and watching nyala watching me drink my morning coffee. The Scenery, company, rooms, food, swimming pool, and the local wildlife all get 5+ stars from me (oh and what maybe the worlds biggest beer fridge!)

I wouldn't change a thing.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3 different rooms and all have been equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for the great review Phillip! We're glad you enjoyed it so much again this year, and certainly look forward to seeing you next year aswell. Did you see that we recently had Serval and Leopard spotted on the property too, just as you left. Maybe you'll spot them on the trail when you come back, bring your camera this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Unkhumbi Lodge is a beautiful, peaceful and secluded place, but as family friendly as can be at the same time. All of the rooms are detatched with their own private balcony so you can sit out overlooking the bush feeling completely alone, or join the fantastic staff and other guests at the Lapa for a nice cold beer, or a delicious cocktail.

I visited with a friend and my 9 year old son, who quickly made firm friends with the owners son and their dog, and spent many hours playing safely within the confines of the lodge with more freedom than you could possibly ever give them in the UK, which is what I think made the trip so wonderful for him.

If you feel adventurous, owner Anton has a garage crammed full of wonderful critters such as snakes, scorpions and spiders, as well as the resident celebrity; fluffy, the friendly boa constrictor.

The hotel is in a lovely central location with easy access to places such as St Lucia, Hluhluwe-Umfolozi National Park and Zulu Croc, to name but a few, and whilst you are close to all manner of amenities and attractions, you still feel like you're really getting the full bush experience.

Any trip to the area, in my opinion, would not be complete without a stay at Umkhumbi Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaBoo1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hey Becky, what a lovely review, thank you!
We couldn't have described the lodge better, you have really captured the atmosphere that we try to create. We are so glad you had a lovely time.

Carly still misses Ollie, and Copper the dog is lost with only one human playmate now.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisburg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Emma and Anton and staff were friendly and personable. Accommodation is new, clean and highlights the attributes of the area. Food was delicious and well-presented. Staff were keen to answer all questions and enhance the visit as much as possible. I recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazinggrace018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
It is always nice to have feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

What a lovely discovery. After a few hours on the road in Pongola (they can be interminable...) it was wonderful to be greeted by Anton and Emma. They immediately set about making us (wife and two kids) comfortable - provided a welcome home cook meal and great conversation. Anton is a fountain of knowledge and ideas for activities. Our kids loved the snake collection and were made to fell at home in the very protected surroundings. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Manager at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Hi, thanks for the great review.
We're really glad the kids enjoyed it and liked the snakes (there is a photo of one of them holding the boa constrictor on our facebook page for you). They were great kids and are always welcome here! Would be great to have you all back again soon.

See you soon,
Anton and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a lovely few days in Umkhumbi, unfortunately it wasnt longer as we wanted to stay for longer! It is a beautiful lodge with great staff and food and bedrooms, all was perfect. Thanks Emma

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Hey Jane!
Glad you enjoyed your enjoyed your stay, now you have a good excuse to stay longer next time!
See you soon,
Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This is a great place. It is new and very nicely done. Everything was great - the rooms, the restuarant, the grounds - everything

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
20.0 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umkhumbi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umkhumbi Lodge

Property: Umkhumbi Lodge
Address: R22, next to Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umkhumbi Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umkhumbi Lodge offers spacious accommodation in beautiful air-conditioned chalets, all privately nestled in the bush. We have 12 x 2-sleeper rooms. Twin beds or Kingsize beds available. Each chalet has 2 rooms with each its own en-suite bathroom. An inter-leading door makes these units perfect for families. Each bathroom has a bath and shower. All rooms are fitted with a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, private veranda and air-conditioning. Our usual package includes a 3-course dinner and full breakfast. A B&B option is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Umkhumbi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umkhumbi Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing