We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Umkhumbi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
60
14
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
14
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanging spacethe location is perfectcouple of nightstwo nightsantonemmareservesbushwildlifeparkslodgenatureensuiteaccommodationstrailsafariveranda
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Umkhumbi Lodge is an ideal base from which to explore this beautiful part of KZN being easily accesible from both Durban and the new King Shaka Airport (15 mins from the N2 at the Hluhluwe turn off).
Anton, Emma and their friendly and knowledgeable team at Umkhumbi are great at sharing their experiences and helping you to make the most of attractions such as Isimangaliso itself, Hluhluwe Game reserve, elephant interaction (but in an educational rather than circus trick way), cultural visits or just taking it easy in a bush setting.
Very comfortable accomodation, great food, cold beer, a great elevated bar area from which to watch the sun go down over KZN and the warmest welcome around. If you haven't been yet what are you waiting for?

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi Peter, thank you for such a fantastic review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your KwaZulu Natal Experience so much that you can't wait to come back! Just let us know when and we can make a plan.
We are also currently adding new dishes to our menu - unbelievably the food is now even better so bring loose fitting clothes!
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I don't know if I can say enough about Umkhumbi Lodge.
We contacted Anton 6 weeks before we were set to travel. The response and service we received was friendly, welcoming and provided us with the sense that we were dealing with an owner who takes pride in his business. Anton set up a two week adventure for my husband and I and by the time we began our holidays, it felt like we were coming to visit friends.

Our two week journey included a stop at Amangwane Camp (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g2324973-d1757664-Reviews-Amangwane_Kosi_Bay-Kosi_Bay_KwaZulu_Natal.html), Jozini Lake, Hlane National Park (Swaziland) and back to Umkhumbi for the remaining 5 days of our trip.
If you are looking for a trip that will give you exposure to many of the amazing things to do in South Africa, this is your place.

The accommodations at Umkhumbi Lodge were top notch. Each chalet/cottage had it's own lappa where you could sit, enjoy the view and spot wildlife. The rooms were spacious and clean.
The food was 5-star. Each night we had a starter, a choice out of two entrees and dessert. You will not leave Umkhumbi hungry, that's for sure.
Our favourite part was the lappa. What a fabulous place to take in the South African sunset while enjoying your choice of beverage (or two, or three....)

There was a real sense of family and belonging at the lodge. I can't stress that enough. By the time our journey ended, we felt like we had known Anton, Emma and all of the staff for years.
I feel that the hospitality that was displayed during our stay has made South Africa our favourite place of travel to date (we have done Eastern Europe, Asia and Central America)
We will definitely be returning to South Africa and DEFINITELY returning to Umkhumbi Lodge.
I cannot imagine that a trip to South Africa would be complete without a stop at Umkhumbi Lodge - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Steph111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Don't worry Steph, you said plenty :)

We can't say how happy we are that you and Adrian enjoyed your time with us so much!
When you said you wanted to experience everything, we did our best.

With the weather you had I'm sure you appreciated the air con aswell!
It is certainly hard to leave even the smallest scrap of food, our waistlines wish Meva wasn't such an amazing Chef sometimes as well.

We feel the same, it was strangely quiet when you guys left - like something was missing. Even Copper-dog sulked for a couple of weeks after looking for you around the property.

We will always be glad to have you stay here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Outstanding as always. i visit this area several times a year and ALWAYS stay her with Anton, Emma, Carl, Copper and of course Fluffy!!

Having stayed there just after the lodge was first built it is really interesting so see how nicely it is maturing.

The location is perfect especially for iMfolozi and Hluhluwe game reserves.

Looking forward to my stay in August.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kosi_Bay_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Hey Kosi Bay Kid!

Thanks for the review, Fluffy and Copper both want cuddles!

Glad to hear you think that the lodge is improving with age, we think so too!
Hope you're looking forward to your next visit to the game reserve in August.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights on a birding trip. The grounds themselves were great for birding, with several well-maintained trails. The rooms are in individual cottages, new and clean. Power was a bit on-and-off during our stay but never a bother. Very good food in the dining room and a nice bar with cold beer and friendly hosts. Close to the Mhkuze National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you Gary,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the birds on the property didn't hide!
The electric company seems to have fixed the power problem now thankfully too.
Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

After a long days drive arriving at Umkhumbi Lodge with our small goup of travellers was something special. The warm welcome was just the start to a wnderful 2 days. The accommodation is lovely, with all rooms beautifully decorated and located a short distance from each other to ensure privacy and peacefulness. Emma and Anton, their family and workers were warm and welcoming. The meals were delicious and pre dinner drinks on the beautiful deck watching the African sunset was a highlight. I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful place you won't be disappointed.
Rosemary and Graeme

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amangwane, Owner at Umkhumbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Hi Rosemary,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us so beautifully.
We found ourselves looking forward to the pre-dinner drinks on the lappa with you and your group very much as well. Have you started planning your return trip yet? Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews