We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviewed 5 June 2013

About 20 minutes drive from the Hluhluwe Game Reserve, this hotel is a bit dated. The grounds are nice with peacocks and landscaping. The lobby areas and food served were good. However, the rooms need some updating. The only outlet to plug in my CPAP machine required an extension, which the hotel did provide. Overall, it was an ok hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear "Markjoe",

On behalf of the TEAM at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe, we thank you for your kind comments.

We will share your honest feedback on the services and facilities with everyone at the hotel. We are happy to inform you that the our hotel rooms are currently being refurbished which should fully address your concern raised around the outdated look and feel of our guest rooms. The refurbishment should be finished by the end of October this year. So, do make sure you pay us another visit so we can turn your perception of our hotel from OK to fantastic.

Warm regards,

Jason Hobbs - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Hluhluwe game park. It is a fine hotel for a couple of nights, but pretty dated. The rooms were large, the dining area was nice and large and staff very friendly. This was our first hotel where we didn't get any bottled water although it is safe to drink the water here. Nice gift shop and beautiful peacocks roaming the property.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow tripadvisor community members!

We are happy to receive your kind commendations on the level of service received from our TEAM members at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe, and we will celebrate this accordingly. We are also glad to announce that our rooms will soon be undergoing a soft refurbishment, allowing us to further improve the standards we offer to our guests when visiting the area.

So, do make sure you return to us soon when back in South Africa, we are looking forward to it.

Yours sincerely,


Tom Vorster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The location of this hotel was great, right by the game reserve. The public spaces were quite nice. We enjoyed the dancing in the evening. The dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent. The room was average and needs updating. The bathroom in particular needs work - the light didn't work properly and the shower tile had build up. I did see that other bathrooms had been updated and were much improved. When we were there, the wifi was not working. Overall, an average experience where the rooms need improvement and the public spaces/dining were quite good.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear "LissaJ41",


Your candid feedback on your stay with us is much appreciated! I am glad to announce that a refurbishment program of all of our guest rooms has already been initiated and will be completed in a few months time. I am sure that this will address your comments around the required room upgrade.

And on behalf of the entire TEAM, we thank you for the recommendations of our guest service as well as the breakfast and dinner quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon upon your return to our beautiful country.

Yours sincerely,

Tom Vorster - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Its always disappointing when an establishment relies on its popularity due to nearby attractions, and cannot stand on its own. This has been my experience with most establishments in and around the Hluhluwe over the years. In short the Protea does nothing wrong, but also does not excel in any one area. For all intents and purposes, average, with a high price for average. The rooms with a bit threadbare, and you can see the effect of time, both on the room as well as the Hotel in general. The supper carvery as well as the breakfast were mostly average, bar an exceptional mutton curry, which showed signs of a Durban chef somewhere in the mix. The drinks were a bit overpriced, but again, with establishments in this area little sympathy is given to the South African rand.
In short if you want to go to the reserve, and you cant overnight in the park, then accept the fact you will pay over the top to sleep, be fed and watered. It serves its purpose from this point of view.

Room Tip: The closer to reception the better, can be quite a long walk otherwise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear "Chrisjoo",

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor!

As you can imagine, we are disappointed to hear that he have been unable to exceed your expectations during you stay with us when visiting the Hluhluwe - Umfolozi area. I can assure you that it is not our TEAM's intention nor our goal to merely offer a bed, food and shelter. Or just to be "another Zululand hotel".

As noted by your kind self, our hotel and safari operation has been open for business for many years and some of the facilities do show off that proud history. However, I am glad to announce that we are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms which will rejuvenate the look and feel of our accommodation facilities and hopefully address your concerns raised. Just a somewhat fresher look in a historical environment.

It would be wonderful to welcome you back in a few months from now and convince you of the hospitality offered by the TEAM at the Protea Hotel Hluhluwe.

Yours sincerely,

Tom Vorster - General manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

we had a good stay at the hotel. it is bit on the older side in terms of decor , but our room and bath was very clean . everything thing worked well. the staff are very friendly and helpful . breakfast and supper (buffet) was good , with a good selection. there are pleanty of shops and some take aways out of the resort should you need anything or feel they are pricey. Our 4 yr old enjoyed the play area and the pool , as well and the peacocks on the premises. suggestions/ areas to improve , since there is not much entertainment activities in the area , i suggest hotel management should consider putting in more games for teenagers . things like maybe pool tables , darts, table tennis , etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sachin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear "sachin s",

Your kind and honest feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for sharing this with your fellow tripadvisor community members.

We will most definitely discuss your comments around further enhancing the entertainment options at the hotel as suggested by your kindself. Thank you for assisting us in our thinking to further improve our services and facilities.

Warm regards,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hotel is located right near game reserve, and since i cant compare with other properties i the area, i can base off what i assume. Hotel has great public areas. Nice lobby with free, easy to connect wifi. There's also a computer to connect to if you don't have a mobile device. Nice pool area although to pool wasn't very clean looking. Nice pool bar with very reasonable prices and generous wine pours ( for about 25 rand) Included breakfast buffet was excellent with a great variety for all kinds of,tastes. Had dinner buffet one night too, was equally delicious. Second night, as many mentioned, there aren't many options, although the hotel has a decent, reasonable a la carte menu and close grocery store where we got cheese and crackers and discreetly brought into common space (at least patronize bar with this option,i don't think they mind if this is the case) . Downfalls. Rooms are horribly outdated. Despite that its a game resort (so hot, sticky, open hallways with bugs and frogs) the rooms feel dirty. Clean, comfy beds with old school, printed (read:hiding dirt) comforters. Tube TVs. Hard key safes. Bathroom just feels dirty because mold and tile colors, and there were weird growths on the sink. No wifi, free or otherwise:-(:-(:-( Ac was great and served its purpose for sleeping, but totally needed an update.
Other than that, staff is friendly, especially managers. Are accommodating and helpful. Have adaptors available as well as will change money. If they did a total room reno, I'd be back with bells on:-)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank chisistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear "chisistas",

Greetings from South Africa. Thank you for the candid feedback on your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food offering, both for breakfast as well as dinner. But even more appreciated are your comments on the service received by all of our TEAM members at the hotel. I can ensure you that this will be shared with all.

I am also happy to inform you that we are in extensive discussions with the owners of the hotel and are finalising a refurbishment plan for all of our rooms at the hotel, which should address all of the facility shortcomings noted by your kind self.

So, do make sure you come back to South Africa soon to check out the progress made at our beautiful hotel!

Yours sincerely,


Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Public areas of this hotel were inviting and spacious. Whatever renovation money has been spent here was concentrated in the public areas and the grounds.. The buffet dinner was very good. A nice selection of salads, breads, warm vegetables, stews, and hot meats were tasty and not steam tabled overdone. Skip the desserts, which looked better than they tasted. Breakfast buffet was also excellent with an assortment of fruits, yogurts, breads, cereals, and juices. Hot breakfast items also offered an extensive selection, including cooked to order eggs and omelets. The hotel rooms themselves were not as nice as the lobby and lounge areas. The bathrooms were moldy and we had evidence of some wood or grout eating organism. Black piles appeared in one area that were removed by the daily cleaning but built up as the day went on, Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean, and towels were also clean and fluffy. The staff were polite and pleasant. In spite of the bath areas, we would not hesitate to stay here again. I doubt we will be back to hluhluwe, but as our trip guide said, T I A,this is Africa. The pool area had tables, wine pours were generous, and a resident peacock family roam the grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Darbymo,

Greetings from Hluhluwe, South Africa! On behalf of the entire TEAM, thank you for the honest feedback. Glad to hear you have enjoyed your enjoyed our food offering at the hotel, both in the evening as well as our breakfast service. I will share your kind comments with the kitchen and restaurant crew.

I am also happy to inform you that we are currently finalising a refurbishment plan for the hotel, which includes upgrades of both the guest bedrooms as well as bathrooms. So, do make sure you return to us one day, upon your next visit to Africa (and Hluhluwe)

Warm regards,

Tom Vorster - General Manager
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
3.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
13.7 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
20.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris

Address: 104 Main Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Hluhluwe Hotel & Safaris)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £61 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris - Luxury Set in the Heart of The Zulu Kingdom. Rich in natural ambience and with a distinctively African rhythm, Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris treats guests to luxurious accommodation, tantalising cuisine, and a world-class service with friendly staff who live the motto "hospitality is our game". The Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris encourages visitors to leave the modern world behind and to embark on a discovery ... The untamed beauty of Kwazulu Natal's Elephant coast and the neighbouring wildlife and marine reserves have created a vibrant eco-system of unrivalled diversity. Soak up the sun at the swimming pool terrace and feel the cultural richness in the evenings whilst sipping on a refreshing sundowner and watching the Zulu dance shows are held beneath the magnificent Umkanyakude (Fever) Tree. At Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris, you'll discover the wild nature of Africa, rejoice in the luxury and revel in the friendly warmth of one of Africa's most welcoming hotels!Let one of our Guides take you on Game drive adventure to Hluhluwe/Umfolozi park or one of the many interactions and activities The Elephant Coast has to offer . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe And Safaris
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing