We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amorello Bush Golf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amorello Bush Golf Lodge
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our accommodation was disappointing. The first room we had had some structual issues. We were then moved to a self catering unit that was far better. I would suggest that you take this option. I would not do a return visit.

Room Tip: Rhino room is to be avoided if you want any kind of view from your room. There are currently some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Cheryl,

You had issues left, right and centre from the moment you arrived here, clearly trying to get upgraded which we did, and, for which I commend my staff in dealing with in a very professional and courteous manner throughout the ordeal.

The room you stayed in is quite a family favorite as it has the double bed in the loft and the 2 single beds below, air-conditioned, a shower and a bath, and the private area on the side, which does have a view actually, as per the picture you sent me. The tiny crack in the cement screeded floor is far from a structural fault, but purely a floor movement crack.

You are correct, it is disappointing to see how a guest can look for so much fault in so little, especially when paying the equivalent of R175/p B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
15
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Our weekend away with collegues and their families can best be described as a little slice of heaven. I have and definitely will recomend Amorello to friends, family and aquaintence. Your staff is friendly and accomodating. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

place was great.staff very friendly and helpful.although the catering didnt meet all preferences.a few of us are Hindu and do not eat beef or pork.for supper and breakfast ,there was only beef and pork .Vegetarians was also not fully catered for.

Room Tip: make arrangements for dietary requirements beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi Rajini,

Thanks for the constructive suggestions. We did have limited vegetarian options on the menu when you were here as unfortunately we do not get many vegetarians, but have now added a couple of new ones such as Chicken curry, Butter Bean Bunny chow, Butternut & Blue cheese salad, vegetarian lasagna to name a few. We hope to see you again to come and give us soome feedback on the new items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had the most fantastic time at Amorello. The staff are so friendly and the food is absolutely delicious. The accomodation is wonderful as well. The whole experience was absolutley awesome. We will definetly advise other friends,collegues and acquaintances to go here for a getaway which is relaxing. Love you all at Amorello.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have had two work function at Amorello and I must admit that it was the best fun I had in a long time. The staff is competent, friendly and helpful. They make you feel like part of the family. The food is exquisit!!! The rooms are very cozy and I loved the outside showers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Excellent Location, Service was great, view and scenary was spectacular and the best part for me. Food is very good.. Great place to relax and destress. Lots of Game around and the rooms are very spacious and clean! There's even a huge deck where you can chill outside

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

My colleague and I needed to visit farmers in the area for business, and with all of the rave reviews, and the great rates on offer, Amorello seemed to fit the bill on all counts. It actually served its purpose quite well and I really would have liked to rate it "good", but it did not deserve a "very good" rating. Such a pity, because the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but they were let down by a few things that could have so easily been avoided.
My colleague, who is a lady was placed in a lovely room (all of the rooms seemed to be very nice, clean and well-maintained) that had a small problem of bat-droppings being continually deposited on the one side of her bed. They offered to move her to another room which unfortunately only had a double bed on a second floor, which she could not climb as she has a bad back. They were friendly and apologetic, but made no other plan, or perhaps a discount on the room? The other issue was the food, which generally ok, but we were expecting much more after the hype on TripAdvisor - and our most expensive dinner, which included some 'Tiger Prawns' was one of the worst I have eaten (the prawns were tiny and over-cooked). The problem is that the head chef was so friendly, as were the rest of the staff, that I did not have the heart to complain.
Having said this, the owner is very friendly, the lodge is well located (and beautiful), game is abundant while you sit on the deck and the driving range provided some needed stress relief. I will stay there again, and I am sure that my next review will read 'Excellent'!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushgolf, Owner at Amorello Bush Golf Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks Mike for the feedback.

We do try to go out of our way to please everyone but unfortunately when it comes to food, everyone will have their own acquired taste. Next time you are here, i will personally make the prawns for you which I will be keen to get feedback on.

The bats have been safely removed from that room without any harm as we do not promote killing any creatures at Amorello. We do clean all our rooms every single day to keep our hygiene standards above the acceptable level, but on every odd occasion, one will have these type of encounters.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.0 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amorello Bush Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorello Bush Golf Lodge

Property: Amorello Bush Golf Lodge
Address: Route 22 | 300 km north of Durban, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amorello Bush Golf Lodge & Conference Centre can be found on the R22 Sodwana Road, past the little town of Hluhluwe in the heart of Zululand, nestled below the majestic Lebombo Mountains. Amorello Bush Golf Lodge provides both an ideal hideaway for a relaxing break or the perfect setting for corporate functions, conferences and weddings. The affiliated SAGU golf course is a short but testing 9 holer with 18 tee boxes set amongst the wild bush with wildebeest and antelope watching your every shot. Let the festivities begin after a good day out and join us at Amorello Sunset Deck Restaurant and Bar for a refreshing drink followed by a pizza fresh from our unique to the region pizza oven. We have an extensive menu to tempt you. Stay over and choose from one of our Big 5 rooms or our 4 modern fully fitted self-catering 3-star Bush Chalets located in the heart of our bush golf course surrounded by thick indigenous trees. If you prefer something a bit more private, we also have our exclusive and lavish 5-star Ihlozi Private Lodge available. Amorello offers free hi-speed wireless internet access to all our visitors as well as use of our helipad for landings. We also have a big screen TV for the sports fans, a fantastic rock swimming pool, a fully equipped gymnasium and a kiddie’s jungle gym which gives everybody something to do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amorello Bush Golf Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing