We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pineapples and Giraffe an unusual mix”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ezulwini Game Lodge
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pineapples and Giraffe an unusual mix”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were travelling as a partly of three, wanting self catering facilities. Ezulwini seemed a good choice because we could book two self catering chalets at a modest price, with the bonus of having their game reserve to walk in. When we arrived they offered us accommodation in the a very large family unit instead, at no additional cost, which we accepted. It had one very large ensuite bedroom, with two additional smaller bedrooms with a shared bathroom. A large kitchen, dinning room and lounge. There was even a washing line out in the back garden which was very useful. It had been the owners house, until they moved into their new home.

We mostly cooked our own meals, but we did eat in the restaurant one evening and had two breakfasts with them. The food was okay nothing memorable but there was plenty of it. The homemade muffins at breakfast were very good.

Ezulwini is a mix of pineapple farm and game reserve, and our unit looked up the hill over grassland to a field of pineapples. The giraffe and zebra seemed to be very attracted to field and would wander around it for hours. Not the usual setting for these creatures. We really enjoyed getting up early and walking in the reserve, listening to the birds and spotting the different antelope, zebra and warthogs as they crossed the paths. There is a herd of black impala, which I was very keen to see and on the last morning we found them. Only the male is black and the young, and we saw these adorable all black babies. It was fun to get out of the car and use our legs for a change.

Initially we had a problem getting into the farm, because you have to phone from the gate, of course we couldn't find the phone it was buried somewhere deep in the luggage. Fortunately a farm vehicle came along and they got the gate opened for us. The staff gave us a remote control for it so that we could come and go as we wished.

Overall we were very happy with our stay

Room Tip: Have your mobile phone to hand when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

On paper it looks great. A lodge with own game, a pool and restaurant. Unfortunately we were a bit disappointed. The people were friendly but it didn’t really fell sincere. The owner (I think she was) would always smile when she saw us but within a minute she would have a quite unfriendly conversation with the staff (which we could hear since the very small pool is close to the office). There was no information provided about things to do in the area and we had to ask for everything. Our little cottage was ok but basic, no air-conditioning. To end this review with something positive; the dinner buffet was nice. Plenty to choose from! And a huge pro for choosing this lodge are the giraffes. They walk free over the property and are really pretty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Our biggest problem was that you didn't feel welcome there. The houses are beautiful as wel as the surrounding. But dinertime started at 19.00 our and at 20.00 our the lights were out, and they gave us the key to close the door of the tv room and the left! Bar closed. We saw a jeep for gamedriving but couldnt find the time and rating anywhere. They also didn't tell us. When you are goning there note that you can only pay cash!! And the nearest ATM is in town 30 min drive away!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The houses were ok. Although they could be cleaner. I thought it was way to dark in there.
Swimming pool was dirty.
Food was ok. Don't eat there 2 nights in a row, you'll get exactly the same.
Breakfast was not that good either. Ok but compared to other lodges not good at all.
People are friendly.
The gate opens when you call them so you have to call every time you wanne leave the property. Costs a lot if you're from Europe!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDkes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ezulwini Game Lodge

1) Room: This was one of the better rooms, very clean when we came in the room the smell was great, nice decorated. Everything what you needed was there, large kitchen, good shower.
2) Surroundings: Hotel is laying in their own reserve, there are a lot off animals they even have giraffe over there. When you approach the hotel you will have to drive via a sandy road through the beautiful trees and you will see lots of animals. But take care when we arrived at the hotel after a night safari a big scorpion was waiting for us in the middle of the room. But the staff was very helpful and removed it for us.
3) Atmosphere: in one word GREAT.
4) Food: The food is very good and the lady in the kitchen can do magic…this for the breakfast as well the diner.
5) Good items: Very friendly and helpful staff, they assist and helped us very good with everything what we needed. Rooms very good-Surroundings fantastic
6) Improvements NONE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Really enjoyable few days spent in this comfortable and hospitable lodge set on private gameland. Food was very good, extensive menu, scrumptious breaksfasts and typical friendly South African hospitality ensured a great stay. Rooms were comfortable with mosquito nets, aircon, room service.

A short walk to the pool and braai area, and a few minutes stroll to watch giraffe, zebra and other wildlife strolling about.

The friendly staff arranged a game drive in neighbouring Umfolozi Game Park (BIG 5) and river cruise which ended a superb stay taking in sightings of crocodile, hippo and abundant birdlife.
Thank you...we will back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Ezulwini as part of a tour group. Perhaps we were just in a basic room but our room was a bit average. Tiny bathroom, twin beds instead of a double and paper thin walls - we could hear our neighbours tinkle on the toilet. However it was fine and a place to sleep. It sounds like there are different room types to book so maybe you just need to go for the tree house that someone else mentioned in their review. Having said that, the staff were nice, and the grounds seemed nice although we didn't spend long there. Our group had dinner there and while the milk tart at dessert was very memorable (so yummy!) dinner in general was a bit expensive (for south africa) and not terribly special. The ladies did a little song and dance which was nice and breakfast in the morning was good. There was a very cute little jack Russell with his little coat on that we enjoyed giving some pats to!

Room Tip: I think ours was a basic room - don't go basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
14.6 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
24 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
20.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mkuze
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 31 in Hluhluwe
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezulwini Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezulwini Game Lodge

Property: Ezulwini Game Lodge
Address: R22 - Hluhluwe | Falsebay, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:3 star — Ezulwini Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Ezulwini Game Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing