We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonamanzi Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is a dirt road to and from the highway and it had been raining cats and dogs! The dirt road was hectic. On arrival at our tree house, about 4 Nyala were taking shelter under it! The tree houses are basic with self catering facilities, an indoor shower and loo. It is very clean. You felt like you are on your own in the bush. There is aircon for the blistering hot days and a ceiling fan.

We opted for breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. The food was ok. For the price I expected a bit more. The deserts and pastries for breakfast need improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I went there several times but it was 20 years ago , when the tree houses were very basic, when we used to find d snake skins on tree branches, when the cold water showers were screened with bamboo and u shared it with thirsty frogs and crickets, no stoves or electricity charcoal fires were great made WO derful potjes, and BBQ . I googled it recently seem to have been renovated to high standard don't know it now but loved it then, I liked the bush life as it should be same as ruffing it in man's pools but that is another adventure. Sorry the selected dates do not let me report the exact dates

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank dominiqueStAlbansUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I loved staying here and every day was better than the previous. The staff were amazing, the food was spectacular and there was always so much for us to do! I felt so immersed in nature and have never experienced anything like it. This really was on of the best weeks I've ever had!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank lboekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Iboekema

Thank you for your feedback, we at Bonamanzi loved reading your comments. It was truly a pleasure hosting you and your friends and hope you have an opportunity to visit us in Hluhluwe, South Africa again.

Sincerely
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My hubby booked a weeks get away at a lovely tree house unit with beautiful trees, bush, birds and buck that visited the site daily. We had a self-catering unit but only had breakfast there with lunch and dinner taken at the main lodge. During the day, the views from the deck over the dams teeming with birds, crocodiles and turtles were lovely and dinner outside around the boma were so enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff went out of their way to attend our every need. The highlight for us, was a river cruise were we had a once-in-a-lifetime viewing of a fish eagle and a golliath heron in a fight over territory. It was spectacular and the other guides were jealous of our experience! We also went on two game drives in Hluhluwe game reserve with the privilege of viewing rhino, elephant, hippo, giraffe and numerous antelope. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The main bungalow's overlooking the dam are good and all the tree houses are well positioned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Carol H

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guides are still talking about your great sighting on the boat cruise. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe in one of the Lalapanzi Chalets or our Dini zulu lodge.

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My Husband surprised me with a weekend away to Bonamanzi Game Reserve. We stayed in a lovely tree house. The self catering unit was well equipped, the Beds were comfortable, the veranda was nice to sit on. We went on the Boat trip and saw quite a few birds, but no game on the drive to the river. The most popular game we saw were Nyala and Impala and warthogs. The Crockodile feeding was nice to see at 1PM on the Friday afternoon. We would have liked to have seen more game. The Brid hide was an easy walk and worth the effort. We ate at the Restaurant the one night and then had our own braai the following night. We enjoyed the Breakfast in the Restaurant and found that the monkeys love to try and steel rusks from the buffet! The staff at Bonamanzi were friendly. We loved our stay and next time we may take the kids with :) I definitely want to take a Game Drive next time as we wanted to seen more Game. Very relaxing. Thank You.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Dear Finetown

Thank you for your review of our Lodge and Reserve. I have shared your comments with our staff. We do have 2 bedroom Tree houses and a 3 bedroom Tree lodge for you to enjoy when you bring the family next time.

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 with family. The resort is well designed and within its own game reserved. Restaurant setting was unique and it had a decent kids play ground. It has a bird hide set on a lake and the the resort units and outside areas are well maintained. I stayed in the Lalapanzi rooms and the treehouse. They have there own mini animal farm with crocs, tortoises and other animals. There a hikes on the property as well.

My only grip was the lack of water supply in the unit. We were told that an elephant had broken the pipe (regular occurence) and even 24 hours later was not repaired. They also did not make alternate arrangements for water or offer another unit with water. Surely they could have buried the pipes deeper and/or had better measures to repair them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Khalid B

Thank you for your review of Bonamanzi. We thank you for your positive feedback and all our facilities and reserve activities.

You will be pleased to know, now a year after your visit, we have managed to bury most of the water pipes deep enough for the Elephants not to dig up.

We hope you will come and visit again soon.

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

it was a dream vacation and the days we spent at the lodge were probably the best I ever experienced unbelievable location and amazing staff I highly recommend it to families (mine includes 5 children aged 18 to 11 and they all had the time of their lives) although we ran into many honeymooners so I suppose it will work for anyone

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasiliki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Vasiliki G

Thank you for you recent review of Bonamanzi Game Reserve, we are so glad to hear about the great stay you had. We do hope you and the extended family come back for a visit in the near future.

Do you have any photo's you would like to share on our facebook page?

Yours in Hospitality
Tracey Gold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
2 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
5.6 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.6 mi away
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
Ama Zulu Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Hluhluwe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonamanzi Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonamanzi Game Reserve

Address: Bonamanzi Game Park | c/o Bonamanzi Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £108 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonamanzi Game Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonamanzi Game Reserve, a Big 4 Reserve, is a Natural Heritage Site bordered by the spectacular Lake St. Lucia Isimangaliso Wetlands - a World Heritage Site - and the magnificent Hluhluwe River.This privately owned game reserve and safari lodge is widely recognised as one of the best birding destinations in Southern Africa. Lake St Lucia and the Hluhluwe River give Bonamanzi its Zulu name, meaning "Look, Water!". Its almost 4000 ha teams with game, and one of Bonamanzi's special features is that it provides a safe and interactive bush experience in which you can do walks or drive, with or without the company of a trained field guide. To see the Big Five animals, the famous Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve is a short 20 minute drive away or join us on one of our Game Drives.A wonderful climate prevails all year long with splendid summers and warm winter days. Set your own pace as you absorb the peaceful sounds and spectacles of three adjoining eco-systems: coastal grassland, tropical forest, and woodland. Comfortable Accommodation and every facility is available to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one, be it a peaceful getaway for couples or families, or Conference and Events or Weddings parties. And there are plenty of Activities from Boat Cruises, Bird Safari and Game Drives to relaxing at the pool at Lalapanzi Camp to ensure that your every whim is catered for.Bonamanzi Game Reserve is easily accessible, being just a few hours drive from the Durban airport as well as the Golela border post with Swaziland, and perfectly situated to explore the splendour of this heavenly part of the world. Come, and experience Zululand's warm and friendly hospitality at its finest - we'd love to share it with you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonamanzi Game Park Tree House Hotel Hluhluwe
Bonamanzi Game Reserve Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing