We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our greatest expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our greatest expectations”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We purchased the Zulu Nyala vacation from a charity auction, as most of the guests at the lodge do. The purchase opened up an adventure we would never have had if not for the auction. Our room was large and very comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time it though as our guide kept us very busy with the two game drives and the other opportunities. The Zulu Nyala game preserve provides an incredible experience of seeing the amazing animals up close. Our guide, Welcome, was wonderful and we think we had the best guide there was. Everyone thinks that about their guide at Zulu Nyala! The food was plentiful with plenty of delicious variety. Our vacation to South Africa was better than we ever could have imagined it would be. The optional activities we chose were Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve, Elephant Interaction and Cheetah Rehabilitation. Each experience was magical. We regretted that we missed St. Lucia wetlands outing; but we were very pleased with the whole experience provided by our Zulu Nyala adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Cathleen,

We are so pleased to hear that we managed to exceed your greatest expectations in making your vacation to South Africa as well as to our magnificent Zulu Nyala Game Lodge an amazing and unforgettable one! We truly strive to provide our guests with an adventure of a lifetime and we are delighted to hear that we succeeded!

Looking forward to many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    198
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
111
290
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Zulu Nyala from a charity purchase, not knowing what to expect. But they exceeded our expectations with great customer service, accommodations, food and safari guides. The front desk was very helpful with any questions or problems we had. The dining staff was excellent with a buffet of options, always going above and beyond. The tents were cozy, and rooms by the pool at a great view. The safari guides were highly educated and passionate about their work. The wifi was good so we could communicate back to the US and catch up on work emails. You can even watch a movie in the lounge area, or play tennis.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool had a great view and tents are a great experience. Bring mosquito repellent, they co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Carolina,

We are thrilled to hear that Zulu Nyala Game Lodge staff members flourished during your stay with us by providing you with great customer service, accommodation, food and safari guides. We truly hope that we assisted in creating the best possible memories for you to take back home.

Hope to see you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We normally travel to places like Kruger Park, or Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park - but decided to give Zulu Nyala Game Lodge a try for my honeymoon. The rooms are huge and quite luxurious really. Big couches, bath, shower. Great food. Game drive was really awesome.
For us it was almost a little boring though. Not that there was anything wrong with the place - but when I'm on a game reserve type holiday - I want to be able to get into my car and drive around looking at animals at my leisure. You can't do your own game drives here. You drive from the gate to the resort and that's it! But the game drives they offer are really good - I just prefer driving on my own!
If you are looking for a quiet time away - where you don't have to cook and can just chill by the pool, or relax - then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception would be quite exposed to people walking past all of the time I think! I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear JodySimpson,

Thank you for allowing Zulu Nyala Game Lodge to share in a magnificent occasion such as your honeymoon. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and truly enjoyed the Game Drives.

Unfortunately self drives are not permitted in most Private Game Reserves due to safety issues. Kruger Park is one of the very few Reserves that will provide their guests with this opportunity. However, despite this we are happy to hear that you still had a pleasant experience with us.

Thank you very much for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We bought this trip at auction and overpaid.

We had a great time. Staff was friendly and outstanding all the way around.

Buffet for breakfast was good, but dinner buffet was definitely buffet and got boring.

Howard, our safari guide was unbelievably knowledgeable and taught us a lot. His friendly manner and skill at communicating to us about the flora, birds, animals and environment made our trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what the room is going to be like. Ours was great, but our daughter and her frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Edward T,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful Zulu Nyala Game Lodge experience with us. It is unfortunate that you found the dinner buffet a bit boring at times but we are pleased to hear that despite this you still had a great time!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent nearly a month exploring South Africa from October 2013 to November 2013. Stayed at several game lodges and B&B's and had a great experience in general. Honestly our two worst stays were at Zulu Nyala Game lodge (this review) and Zulu Nyala Country Manor (another one of my reviews). We won a silent fund-raising auction to Game Lodge for $1350.00 which is a great deal. And it proved to be so except for the massive amounts of mosquitos everywhere at the lodge. They were in our rooms (paid extra $$ to updgade to a better room), in the lounge area, at the pool, everywhere except while on the safari vehicle. We started to suspect that the problem begins at the stagnant green pond below the eating area balcony. There are no mosquito nets in the rooms and our first room had about a 1.5" gap under the door. Our only relief from the bugs were to have the ceiling fan on high . Our second room overlooking the pool did not have a fan but the room was sealed a bit tighter and we went into town to purchase mosquito repellent and a Raid plug-in whole room mosquito repellent which helped a bit. The showers in both rooms could use some massive elbow grease to get them clean.
The food....Average but kept us fed.
Drinks...a bit on the pricey side.
Gift shop.....about 80% higher than road-side stands selling the same items.
Wi-fi.....Barely a signal in the rooms.
Air-con...Great!
Views...Amazing!
Game drives....Good (the reserve is small)
Game Ranger Howard...Exceptional! And I mean it as I have been to 5 star game lodges in SA and some of the rangers are actually boring. Howard's spirit and eagerness to share his knowledge was awesome!

Room Tip: If you won an auction at a good price you really can't go wrong. We spoke to some people who wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferret50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Like most we bid on a safari at the Zulu Nyala Game Lodge. The folks here are fantastic. We had two game drives per day. There are several optional tours that are most affordable when you put a party of folks together. Recommend renting your own car if you are comfortable driving on the "funny side" and shifting with your left hand. Not really as difficult as it sounds.

The concentration of wildlife is really great. This is a fenced preserve as are all of the game parks in South Africa. The animals like the elephant, rhino, giraffe do not "run free", but are in reserves. After Zulu Nyala we ventured onto Botswana for a safari experience in the "wild", however we are really glad we did Zulu Nyala as it was a great place to see a wide variety of animals close up, including Rhino and Giraffe. There are no lions here, a separate trip to Phinda is required.

The food is very good. The accommodations vary from excellent to very good. Clean, well maintained and safe. Highly recommend the Zulu village and school tour.

Meals are served in central dining hall, usually buffet style. There are other options with tenting, etc. at sister sites we did not explore.

Room Tip: Rent your own car if you can. Do the Zulu village tourn. For souvenirs, head to Ilala Weavers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-and-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you have come to Africa to see big game....this is as good a place as any! We bought our trip at a charity auction and found that everyone we met there had also. Our room was #29 and was perched above the cliff that expanded out among the Sahara ... Room 29 had 1 king sized bed and 2 twins, a sitting room and a bathroom with oversized shower, soaking tub and two sinks. It was massive and luxurious.

One morning as I was leaving my room to go on a game ride....I heard the splitting of lumber...I walked to edge of cliff and there were the three resident elephants ....big as life! These prehistoric beings lumbering by the lodge in search of nourishment.

The food is good, the people are terrific. The Zulu people are so gracious and kind. So excited to share their world.

We left some of our clothes behind (had to make room for the treasures) and our chamber maid was very excited to have some new stuff!
,
Well worth the trip.... We met people from all over the world

Room Tip: I'm told the rooms by the pool are great but I liked room 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
9.1 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
362 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
303 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Game Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Address: Msinene Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An entrancing experience in a unique wilderness area. Zulu Nyala Private Game Reserve provides a unique bush experience in the heart of one of South Africa’s most diverse conservation regions. Nestled between the wilderness reserves of Mkuze, Hluhluwe and St Lucia, this lush stretch of paradise is home to a wide variety of game, from the majestic elephant to rhino, buffalo, hippo, giraffe, the shy and beautiful Nyala buck that is endemic to the region and the secretive leopard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Game Hotel Hluhluwe
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing