We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Game Lodge 5/1 - 5/6. What an experience! The staff was super friendly, our driver Dumi was fantastic and found us all the animals that we could have hoped to have seen! HE MADE OUR TRIP! Our room faced the pool which was what we had requested basis on other TripAdvisor reviews. The room was not spectacular but it was nice. We did have some concerns with our housekeeping and changing the linens and towels. We brought that to the attention of the staff and it was corrected right away. There were some issues with mosquitoes but that is to be expected if you are traveling to Africa. Other than that, the entire experience was beyond what we had expected. The food was excellent. It was buttet style and there was always a nice selection. The grounds were nicely maintained. It was fun to see animals (nyala, monkeys, warthogs, etc) coming and going on the grounds of the hotel. It made the experience really fun. We would absolutely stay here again in the future! If you are planing a visit request Dumi as your guide! I am sure that all of the guides are great but if you can pick one, the is your guy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Absolutely tip top location with stunning views over surrounding countryside. Hotel staff helpful and flexible. Enormous room where one could see nyala, warthogs and other benign wild life roaming freely.
Game drives first class and the rangers informative and helpful especially Jeanine.
Buffet style meals were plentiful and varied and of good quality.
I would definitely repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a pool side room. Take one with uninterrupted views over the expansive country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_staddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have stayed for the first time at this hotel and we were very disappointed by the way the staff are acting. Not very nice welcoming and feel like this is a tourist industry rather than a lodge.
The lodge is located in a very nice place and the view from the restaurant and swimming pool is magnificent. The rooms are clean, comfortable but with no touch of Africa design. This is a big hotel with plenty of group coming in (American) . We have been living in south Africa for the last three years and I can say that this is the worst lodge we have done in regards of employee kindness (at reception). The safari which cost 390 ZAR/p was very poor sightseeing for a private reserve but may be it was because our guide was not good at all. We went to pick up other guest at another lodge waist almost 30 mms of game drive ! we saw one cheetah but this was all in 2h30 ! no giraffe no elephant, no zebras, etc..
The food is not bad but very basic. the desert were the same for two nights in a row. I will not go back to this place. it is not worth the price we pay for.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the swimming pool side the view is very nice there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobgourgck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We also started our month in South Africa at Zulu Nyala. We purchased it through our local charity. We stayed there from 3/15 - 3/21/14. It was so much more than we ever imagined. The personnel were great, food was fabulous and met many interesting travelers. Our, game guide, Welcome, was so great. The surroundings and animals were beautiful! We saw all big five -- the lions were seen in Phinda next to Zulu Nyala over the fence. Every game drive was a new adventure.... Would recommend Zulu Nyala to everyone! We would return, too. We stayed in Room 10 - beautiful! By the pool and very private. Huge room.

Room Tip: Room 10 was fabulous! Huge. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our 2nd stay of 3 lodges in the Kwa zulu natal area and we as many others were there as a purchase from a charity auction. It offered a different experience to the other places we stayed. It’s a very clean resort with nice large rooms and nice dining area. You do not get the quiet bush feel as much as some places but we did see nyala and warthogs outside of our door. Our guide was informative and we were able to see quite a lot on the drives. Communication between guides helped give us good views of the cheetah and rhinos. Outside of not having lions we really saw every animal we could have wanted. We also took the time from here to go on several excursions – if you have your own car and do not mind the drive it is definitely something you can do cheaper on your own. We preferred to have them drive and my only issue was that one excursion took us out on the highway in a completely open sided vehicle with no seatbelts for about 20 minutes. The elephant interaction experience however is a must! The food was a buffet for most meals and so there was plenty of choice though it was nothing special. Service was good. Overall a very good experience but we are glad we complemented with other lodges as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the lodge 4/4-4/8/14 and loved it! We bought this through an auction like everyone else!

We flew into Richards Bay...only 1.5 drive vs the 3 hour drive from Durban. From there Zulu had a driver pick us up.

We were given Aman as our guide and he made the entire trip!!! He was amazing with his "Cheetah Eyes" as we called it....He could spot an animal from a mile away and would haul but to get there! Aman treated us with great hospitality and taught us so much about the area and culture!!! Every morning Aman would take us on a coffee break which he himself supplied as the company does not and not many other guides do....great personal touch.

The food as we found out was typical buffet type food for breakfast and dinner but good. The wait staff was awesome. We stayed two nights at the tents and came to appreciate the food and the staff and the lodge much more!!!!...tents not so much.

If we came again we would upgrade rooms as we were given the small side rooms that were much older but had AC and nice bathrooms.

The pool was pretty much always empty but we were there in the start of their winter.
Bugs were not too bad but did get a handful of bites.
Wifi was spotty but seemed to work good by the front desk.

If you have time to get a massage / spa treatment...Destiny is amazing. My husband and I both got 1 hour massages and felt great afterwards. The one hour was roughly $50 dollars. I believe we each tipped her $25 so not too bad compared to at home.

The side trips are fun but pricey...this is where they make their money. We did the Cheetah Rehab which was fun...got to pet the cats and Cheetahs.

We also did the day trip to St Lucia which was a nice getaway...the boat trip was a little long and not much to see besides hippos and a few crocs. Aman took us into town for a great little lunch at Sizzlers I believe?..not the same as in the states. Great Pizza. From there he took us down to the beach to stay for awhile in the water and then shopping in the town...same crap as everywhere else.

The friends that went with us did the full day trip to the big game park so that they could see lions. For my husband and I it wasn't worth the money or waking up and being in the truck by 4:30am only to drive for 13 hours...long day in a truck. Our friends did say it was fun and they saw larger herds of animals.

Overall we had a great trip and loved our experience!!!! Thank you Aman!!!!
Will be writing separate review for tents.

Room Tip: Upgrade room if you are wanting luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Campbellfam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Zulu Nyala Lodge attracts a lot of Americans who have purchased the safari package through auction. We weren't exactly sure what to expect when we bought this package and I was anticipating a pleasant but not necessarily spectacular setting and accommodation. As it turns out, the lodge, which is in the process of renovations, exceeded our expectations by quite a bit. The Lodge and grounds are lovely and the staff was extremely helpful. In particular, Zonga (whom I believe manages the front desk) was very helpful in getting us an upgrade on our room within the first day of arrival. We took advantage of the 2 included game drives per day and saw many animals on each of our drives. Our game driver (Ronnie) has a wealth of knowledge about the animals and plants, and he entertained us with interesting stories about the behavior of various animals in the game park. The food (surprisingly) was excellent, and aside from the rather silly rule about not bringing your own liquor, in order to ensure the restaurant can sell you liquor, the eating experience was great. Many visitors chose to stay 3 days in the game lodge and 3 days in the tented camp. We, however, found the game lodge perfect for the 6 days we were there. I recommend you drive your own rental car rather than rely on the somewhat expensive side trips offered by the lodge. And if you aren't an early bird, I recommend you rally in the morning for the 6am game drive. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite with two bedrooms and a sitting room with huge bath. It was very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amestey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
8.1 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
6.7 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
9.1 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
467 reviews
9 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
80 reviews
13.1 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Game Lodge

Address: Msinene Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An entrancing experience in a unique wilderness area. Zulu Nyala Private Game Reserve provides a unique bush experience in the heart of one of South Africa’s most diverse conservation regions. Nestled between the wilderness reserves of Mkuze, Hluhluwe and St Lucia, this lush stretch of paradise is home to a wide variety of game, from the majestic elephant to rhino, buffalo, hippo, giraffe, the shy and beautiful Nyala buck that is endemic to the region and the secretive leopard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Game Hotel Hluhluwe
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing