We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical Trip”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Our room displayed the charm you hope for on a game reserve. I had great experiences with all staff members I encountered. With so much to see and so little time, we were only there 4 nights, I was only able to do one spa service. I had my eyebrows waxed by a lovely lady from Libya. Beautiful woman with an even more beautiful soul - she gave me one more great memory to come home with. Our guide was Chris and we could not have been more satisfied. He was extremely knowledgeable, humorous, and easy to look at! The sunrises and sunsets were magical. Sunrises I enjoyed poolside with coffee and sunsets we watched with a bottle of house wine (loved the leopard leap merlot-shiraz blend) on balcony of restaurant. Restaurant staff was always helpful and friendly. Terrific Zulu show at dinner one night. The only negative thing I can come up is I am not a big fan of any food I had in S.Africa. That said the food at the lodge was some of the best on our entire trip. The BBQ or what they called Braai night was the best. Every guest we meant was American. I don't know if that is the case usually or just turned out that way. We did a lot of sightseeing in the area. St. Lucia for hippos (a definite must- the cutest little town with great vibes) After a sightseeing trip on the river we went to the beach. More hippos & lots of monkeys. Ate at the Anglers Club- sit out back and enjoy the view with your food. Everyone there was a local so we got some great history of the area. Making Zulu Nyala our base camp was an excellent decision. Would love to go again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the 40's and liked that location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovtotravel334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    202
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
113
293
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Want to see a lot of African animals? Want to stay in a beyond beautiful setting with first class food and service? Get yourselves to Zulu Nyala Game Lodge and settle in to pure comfort, great food and wonderful people!

My granddaughter and I stayed here for a week and were treated like royalty. With morning and afternoon game drives in open air but covered for sun protection vehicles that get you up close and personal with cheetah, rhino, elephant, kudu, impala, wart hogs, hippo, Cape buffalo and Nyala antelope. In fact, although surrounded by fence to protect you from the bigger beasties, the warthog and Nyala would feed right in front of our room. Plus we had the entertainment of blue tailed skink and other lizards taking care of business along the paths to our abode.

The grounds, including a swimming pool, is kept in pristine condition and is worthy of many a photo of strange and beautiful plants. There is even wi-fi for those of you wishing to keep in touch or brag to your neighbors what a glorious time you are having! Come casual and leave with more photos than you can possibly use! My rating for this Eden? Out of 10, I would give it a 20!

You will love the staff. All wear smiles as their usual feature and they speak English. Hopefully you will catch the Zulu dances and songs that we enjoyed one night at dinner! Fascinating! I cannot say enough about these wonderful friendly people!

And, P.S. the guides on your game drives are exceedingly knowledgable and keep you entertained while driving you safely through the herds of wildlife. For a really remarkable guide, ask for Chris, especially if you like to look at the birds, too.

What did my nineteen year old granddaughter think of it? She had the time of her life and wants to go back! Must have impressed her as she wasn't playing video games on her laptop during our entire time there and, there isn't any TV in the rooms. And, I am SOOO going back again!

Room Tip: Although there is a game lodge a little further away, all game drives are on Zulu Nyala land so stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brabbie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zirconia, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got this trip through a charity auction with another couple that we knew. In the end, our group was five couples strong - all friends from across the U.S. We arrived at the Game Lodge after two nights at the Country Manor in Johannesburg. Our room was spacious and always immaculately cleaned. We were assigned to Bernie as our guide, and quite frankly, we attribute most of our love of this trip to Bernie - and the fact that we were actually lucky enough that the safari vehicles held 10 people-so our group could always stay together. We all not only saw the animals in their natural environment - the cheetah in the tree on the fist day-incredible! and the 3 day old giraffe and his (her?) mom - but Bernie taught us about their behaviors, why they did what they did, and how they lived their daily lives. We looked so forward to our morning and afternoon drives with Bernie just so we could spend time with her and learn. Thank you, Bernie for that - we are all so fortunate to have spent time with you! And thanks for being part of our group - we hope you had 1/2 as much fun with us that we had with you!
We took some side trips - you don't need all 5 days at Zulu Nyala - all of our day trips were great - from a river cruise in St. Lucia to the elephant and cheeta experiences - and the Hluhluwe Game Reserve - all must do's. Bernie accompanied us to the elephant and cheeta experiences as well as she was our guide when we went to the Hluhluwe Game Reserve - which was great and we feel enhanced our experiences.
Breakfast was always good, but lunch and dinner were just ok. I think they are working on the food quality... One thing is for sure though - you will never starve. We always found the staff warm and accommodating.
The property is beautiful and just being immersed constantly that close to nature was a real treat - my husband and I could not have been more pleased with the time spent at Zulu Nyala. For us, this was truly a trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: We were in room 41 - in a stretch of rooms close to the main building - there were nicer rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillk5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Beautiful area and gorgeous views but there are far too many cons.
Con 1: teach your staff to be friendly and how to smile. We do not feel welcome here.
Con 2: water should be brought when promised at 7-9 am. We shouldn't have ask 3 times for it.
Con 3: poor communication of information - we have to ask for everything, where are the towels for the pool, what are breakfast, lunch and dinner times, when will water be available, is fresh coffee available before safari and if so, when?
Con 4: instant coffee in the room. It is terrible. Suggest you invest in real coffee makers,with fresh coffee especially with most early morning departures for safari occurring before breakfast.
Con 5: the food is very, very average. Served buffet style and consequently not well maintained.
Con 6: linen cleanliness. They may be laundered but the bedspread and towels have stains on them. Really?
They may be more as the jury is still out on the guide. We hope he will be a lot more informative as the trip continues on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodstock645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I still can't believe that we were really there. Staying at the Game Lodge was a fantastic experience. Our Ranger, James, was topnotch. It was apparent that he loves the animals and finds as much excitement as we did when spotting them throughout the reserve. His knowledge of the wildlife and vegatation was excellent, as well as his English. The side trips we took to Tembe Elephant Park and Hluhluwe-Imfolozi rounded out the experience to the fullest. The view from the pool & dining room were breathtaking and our room was lovely.
Food was very good, but not exciting. I believe the housekeeping and wait staff need solid training in customer service. They don't seem to understand that their jobs depend on superior service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Game Lodge 5/1 - 5/6. What an experience! The staff was super friendly, our driver Dumi was fantastic and found us all the animals that we could have hoped to have seen! HE MADE OUR TRIP! Our room faced the pool which was what we had requested basis on other TripAdvisor reviews. The room was not spectacular but it was nice. We did have some concerns with our housekeeping and changing the linens and towels. We brought that to the attention of the staff and it was corrected right away. There were some issues with mosquitoes but that is to be expected if you are traveling to Africa. Other than that, the entire experience was beyond what we had expected. The food was excellent. It was buttet style and there was always a nice selection. The grounds were nicely maintained. It was fun to see animals (nyala, monkeys, warthogs, etc) coming and going on the grounds of the hotel. It made the experience really fun. We would absolutely stay here again in the future! If you are planing a visit request Dumi as your guide! I am sure that all of the guides are great but if you can pick one, the is your guy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Absolutely tip top location with stunning views over surrounding countryside. Hotel staff helpful and flexible. Enormous room where one could see nyala, warthogs and other benign wild life roaming freely.
Game drives first class and the rangers informative and helpful especially Jeanine.
Buffet style meals were plentiful and varied and of good quality.
I would definitely repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a pool side room. Take one with uninterrupted views over the expansive country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_staddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
9.1 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
8.1 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
15.9 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Mkuze
362 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 31 in Hluhluwe
304 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Hluhluwe
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Game Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Address: Msinene Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An entrancing experience in a unique wilderness area. Zulu Nyala Private Game Reserve provides a unique bush experience in the heart of one of South Africa’s most diverse conservation regions. Nestled between the wilderness reserves of Mkuze, Hluhluwe and St Lucia, this lush stretch of paradise is home to a wide variety of game, from the majestic elephant to rhino, buffalo, hippo, giraffe, the shy and beautiful Nyala buck that is endemic to the region and the secretive leopard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Game Hotel Hluhluwe
Zulu Nyala Game Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing