We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Out of Africa"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zululand Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for a week-end and thoroughly enjoyed it. The tree houses are quaint and quite large for a couple, so comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Dinner was a buffet - the food was beautifully presented and very tasty. There are no predators in the reserve so the animals are relaxed and tame, and come right up to the main area and close to the tree house accomodation (monkeys, deer and warthog...) We did a late afternoon game drive, saw lots of animals and witnessed a spectacular African sunset!

Room Tip: the further your tree house is from reception and the dining area the more private you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to see you back in the not so distant future!

Kindest Regards,
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

The rooms were terrific. The beds O SO comfortable and the meals excellent. The staff could not do enough for us and really went the extra mile. Well done !!

Room Tip: For families of more than 2 I would suggest the Safari Lodge instead.. as we were just husband and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Actually a quite nice place to stay...but not for the price! We booked our room 6 months in advance and afterwards i realized why they charged my credit in total in advance... we asked for one of the recently renovated treelodges and as we were nearly the only guests (the first night 2 of 24 lodges were booked...) we might also got one, but it didn't look renovated (for example the shower base was broken and fixed with some kind of industrial glue- it was groce!). The first night the dinner was not appropriate for the prize, all of the drinks, even still water, were charged seperately ( we were quite surprised when they handed us over a receipt for the drinks we had on the afternoon game drive through the private game reserve- which we assumed are included as the game drive was expensive and nobody told us in advance that the drink are to pay...).

Another annoying thing was, that the minibar in the lodge was empty so we had to go the long way to the bar to get some drinks which we loved to enjoy on the (nice) terrace.

The staff was quite nice but because the place was absolutely empty they seemed a little bit unmotivated. It's quite a shame because the place is really beautiful and with a little more effort they could really make something out of it. But for now it was just overpriced, absolutely not worth the money (we are able to compare, we stayed at least at 10 different guesthouses during our trip)

Our advise to people coming to SA for safaris- go to the camps (like Hilltop Camps) in Hluhluwe ! They might not be that luxurious but at least you know what you get and you are in the middle of a great game reserve!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derossi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Having kept it quiet from my soon to be fiancee about the real reason for the trip to South Africa, I was looking for something special from our stay! I couldnt have dreamed about anything more and it will stay with us forever!!
From the first night where we had a private safari on the ridge with white wine and snacks watching the sun go down to the actual proposal night where the crew took us on another private safari, it was magical. The staff knew all that was going to happen and played along with subtle hints to me and ignorance to my partner! They organised a really private location with natural fire, champagne just in time for the sunset. Everyone was great. In other areas, the food was brilliant, the accomodation excellent and a location we would definitely visit again.
We read a review before we left australia to visit and were worried but after visiting I can honestly say theyve turned trhe place around and its fabulous!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I attended the wedding of friends which was being hosted at the Ubizane Game Reserve.

Booking from overseas took some back and forth as I was unable to transfer my deposit immediately due to issues with the branch code and my bank's interpretation of it - the booking staff were pleasant and accommodating but couldn't help me with my queries and just kept giving me the identical info which was a bit frustrating... I was also able with the help of the bride to book into the Tree lodge rather than the safari lodge which the staff felt would be more suitable for us (they felt the safari lodge was better for a family with a 3 year old).

However once arrived, all was very pleasant and easy. I assume based on some of the other reviews here that we must have stayed in a renovated unit, it had a lovely comfortable four poster bed with draped mosquito net, stylish furniture, reasonable amenities etc. and a stunning view of the forest. It was early winter when we were there and we didn't need the aircon, it was dry, quiet, cool & relaxing. The buffet meals were very good and once again the views and location of the dining area were outstanding. I wish we had time for a dip in the pool.

Despite staff worries about the suitability of the tree lodge for a 3 year old we were fine in the tree lodge, it was not difficult to help/carry our little girl up & down and we even could carry up/down the pram when she was asleep in it. She slept with us so we didn't need another bed. She also loved the room and the view (complete with owl which often swooped out from under the eaves when we entered the room!). We also had access to a babysitter during the wedding ceremony and I would recommend Thembi, she was a lovely lady who made friends with and took very good care of our daughter.

Speaking of wildlife we also strolled past nyala so close we almost touch them just a metre or two off the path. The only animals a bit too close for comfort were the monkeys which were determined to steal the snacks left out at the bar but that was about the worst of it!.

All in all I would call it a proper south african experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marabsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

On 22 May 2010 we held our wedding at Ubizane reserve (Zululand Tree Lodge and Safari Lodge ) and it was the most exquisite, magical, unforgettable venue ever. our 50 friends and family travelled to and stayed at Zululand Tree Lodge and Safari Lodge on Ubizane Reserve, and each and every one of them found it to be the most remarkable wedding they had ever been to, as well as one of the most wonderful places they had ever stayed.

After the extensive renovations to Tree Lodge and Safari Lodge the accomodation is beautiful, with Tree Lodge providing a mystical feel with rooms set on stilts amongst the fever trees, and Safari with that luxury-in-the-wild feeling with outside showers, bright airy rooms set in stunning grasslands. The pool/bar areas are gorgeous, and the antelope running around are so cool.

The fabulous staff at Tree Lodge worked like trojans to help us pull our wedding plans together and succeeded in more than making our dreams come true. We had a ceremony in the wild, on a gorgeous deck surrounded by natural bush, with all our guests around us. We even saw rhino and other amazing animals on the way to the wedding!

Our evening reception was pure magic: set out in the bush, in a fever-tree forest on the reserve, with nothing but grass beneath our feet and the moon shining down through the shimmering lit-up branches of the fever trees overhead as we danced the night away in our magical forest setting.

They even use this venue for bush dinners for their lodge guests when the weather presents itself!

The food was stunning; real bush fare of ostrich carpaccio, potjikos and babotie with divine deserts to follow. Our evening was lit only by candle light, lanterns anda ragin bonfire, creating an atmosphere unsurpassed by anything we have ever experienced.

We spent the whole weekend there and were taken care so brilliantly! it was just heaven lazing about the pool at the bar, sipping G&Ts with our friends in the sun, watching the resident antelope walk through the camp. We were taken on a game drive around the reserve, and stopped for sunset champagne in the most spectacular setting. Our dinner the following night was just as spectacular, in the open-air boma at Tree Lodge.

The buffet breakfasts are EXCELLENT, and just what we needed to kick start our days!

Being a small reserve and lodge it achieves such an amazingly personal feel with detailed attention and friendliness where everyone actually gets to know you and really goes out of their way to make your stay amazing.

All in all we spent 3 unforgettable nights at Tree Lodge and cant wait to go back. They have created such an amazing place, with an incredibly beautiful energy, in a wonderful setting, with the most fabulous staff, all going out of their way to make your stay a truly spectacular one.

WELL DONE and THANK YOU GUYS for making our wedding something so special!

keep it up, you have worked hard and created a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WozJuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Myself and my boyfriend decided on a quite weekend away from the city rush. We found this little piece of paradise right under our nose. From the new airport in Durban it took us just over 2 hours to get here. From the friendly receptionist with a welcome drink to the comfort of the room and the excellent game viewing. Our weekend turned out to be the most wonderful one we ever had.

For the Ubizane team nothing is an effort. We came to relax and this is exactly what we got. Glass of wine by the pool , the amazing cream of tomato soup , the late night chats on the lounge or by the fire place, the animal bed time story and nougat biscuit before we go to bed and even the handshake of the general manager - all contributed to a weekend to remember.

We definitely recommend this amazing lodge. Thank you Ubizane and see you soon!!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Ubizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
7.2 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0.3 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Hluhluwe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zululand Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zululand Tree Lodge

Address: Box 116 | Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £132 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zululand Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cool, whispering tranquility of a fever tree forest, the TreeLodge is a truly special retreat where you will be accommodated in luxurious stilted chalets. Enjoy the quiet lounge, observation deck and a sunny pool area where you might be visited by a family of warthog, a shy Red Duiker or a pair of Purple-crested Loeries. Accommodation at Zululand Tree Lodge consists of thatched chalets raised above the floor on stilts, set in the cool tranquility of a fever tree forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Zululand Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zululand Tree Hotel Hluhluwe
Zululand Tree Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing