We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I know”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zululand Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I know”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My experience in the the tree lodges at Ubizane was first rate. Service was absolutely impeccable, we got an upgrade on arrival. The grounds are very well kept and peaceful and the rooms are large and comfortable (especially the wonderful bathrooms), incredible views through the trees. The restaurant is top-notch. Its such a great place to relax and get away from it all, and the staff deserve a huge compliment for contributing to that feeling.
If I should mention one bad thing; the pool could be larger but

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Zululand Tree Lodge.

With regards to the pool, if you had asked one of our many helpful staff members they would of directed you to Zululand Safari Lodge, which has a huge pool and is a mere 500 M walk from Zululand Tree Lodge.

Hopefully you will get to enjoy the enormous swimming pool on your next visit to Ubizane!

Kindest Regards,
The Ubizane Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    46
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
65
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

First of all thank you to the staff, and i mean the real staff at Ubizane example Yolandi the housekeeping manager, Casper the ranger, Elizabeth the receptionist, Tanja for making this horrible experience woth while.
The General managers don't seem to care about their staff, its easy to through orders and not help. I have not seen the general managers once since i have been there, they don't know their guest and i think they don't care!!!
This place has so much potential and the rooms were so beautifuly prepared thanks to Yolandi and her girls, but i saw how she was running and i still saw her working that night, she looked very tired but still she had a smile on her face and sorted my aircon with no problem.....As the general manager just wanted to explain that the aircon does not blow that cold i had Yolandi there sorting this out and within seconds the aircon was blowing as it should be.
Our game drive was so exciting, Casper made us laugh and we forgot about all the stress we had in the city, i really reccommend him to anybody who wants to have a experience. Thanks Casper!!
I will only return to Ubizane if this staff members are there, they made my stay wonderful, and i don't think it is good for a general manager to scream and shout at her staff members in front of other staff or guest walking past.

Room Tip: Safari Lodge is very nice, Yolandi showed me a room (Family room) very spacious. Stayed in tree lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Ubizane wildlife Reserve, incorporating Zululand Safari Lodge and Zululand Tree Lodge has been bought by a single entity and is under new management. Since this change of ownership, Ubizane Wildlife Reserve as well as both Zululand Tree Lodge and Zululand Safari Lodge have under gone extensive changes.

Heat pumps have been installed at 12 of these units. All these units are fitted with air-conditioners, brand new beds, linen and toweling, as well as smaller trimmings. They have brand new cherry wood cupboards fitted, with marble top counters, bar fridges and huge glass sliding doors that open out to your own private viewing deck.

Pathways leading to Tree Lodge rooms that were cracked and broken have been redone. As well as clearing the riverbed in front of Tree Lodge rooms, to afford a better view/vista from our Tree Lodge private viewing deck.

We encourage everyone, weather new, or returning guests to come past and see Ubizane’s transformation for them. Our friendly staff is always willing to assist in any way they can, in order to make every guest’s stay enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for a week-end and thoroughly enjoyed it. The tree houses are quaint and quite large for a couple, so comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Dinner was a buffet - the food was beautifully presented and very tasty. There are no predators in the reserve so the animals are relaxed and tame, and come right up to the main area and close to the tree house accomodation (monkeys, deer and warthog...) We did a late afternoon game drive, saw lots of animals and witnessed a spectacular African sunset!

Room Tip: the further your tree house is from reception and the dining area the more private you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to see you back in the not so distant future!

Kindest Regards,
The Ubizane Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The rooms were terrific. The beds O SO comfortable and the meals excellent. The staff could not do enough for us and really went the extra mile. Well done !!

Room Tip: For families of more than 2 I would suggest the Safari Lodge instead.. as we were just husband and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perchtoldsdorf, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Actually a quite nice place to stay...but not for the price! We booked our room 6 months in advance and afterwards i realized why they charged my credit in total in advance... we asked for one of the recently renovated treelodges and as we were nearly the only guests (the first night 2 of 24 lodges were booked...) we might also got one, but it didn't look renovated (for example the shower base was broken and fixed with some kind of industrial glue- it was groce!). The first night the dinner was not appropriate for the prize, all of the drinks, even still water, were charged seperately ( we were quite surprised when they handed us over a receipt for the drinks we had on the afternoon game drive through the private game reserve- which we assumed are included as the game drive was expensive and nobody told us in advance that the drink are to pay...).

Another annoying thing was, that the minibar in the lodge was empty so we had to go the long way to the bar to get some drinks which we loved to enjoy on the (nice) terrace.

The staff was quite nice but because the place was absolutely empty they seemed a little bit unmotivated. It's quite a shame because the place is really beautiful and with a little more effort they could really make something out of it. But for now it was just overpriced, absolutely not worth the money (we are able to compare, we stayed at least at 10 different guesthouses during our trip)

Our advise to people coming to SA for safaris- go to the camps (like Hilltop Camps) in Hluhluwe ! They might not be that luxurious but at least you know what you get and you are in the middle of a great game reserve!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derossi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Having kept it quiet from my soon to be fiancee about the real reason for the trip to South Africa, I was looking for something special from our stay! I couldnt have dreamed about anything more and it will stay with us forever!!
From the first night where we had a private safari on the ridge with white wine and snacks watching the sun go down to the actual proposal night where the crew took us on another private safari, it was magical. The staff knew all that was going to happen and played along with subtle hints to me and ignorance to my partner! They organised a really private location with natural fire, champagne just in time for the sunset. Everyone was great. In other areas, the food was brilliant, the accomodation excellent and a location we would definitely visit again.
We read a review before we left australia to visit and were worried but after visiting I can honestly say theyve turned trhe place around and its fabulous!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I attended the wedding of friends which was being hosted at the Ubizane Game Reserve.

Booking from overseas took some back and forth as I was unable to transfer my deposit immediately due to issues with the branch code and my bank's interpretation of it - the booking staff were pleasant and accommodating but couldn't help me with my queries and just kept giving me the identical info which was a bit frustrating... I was also able with the help of the bride to book into the Tree lodge rather than the safari lodge which the staff felt would be more suitable for us (they felt the safari lodge was better for a family with a 3 year old).

However once arrived, all was very pleasant and easy. I assume based on some of the other reviews here that we must have stayed in a renovated unit, it had a lovely comfortable four poster bed with draped mosquito net, stylish furniture, reasonable amenities etc. and a stunning view of the forest. It was early winter when we were there and we didn't need the aircon, it was dry, quiet, cool & relaxing. The buffet meals were very good and once again the views and location of the dining area were outstanding. I wish we had time for a dip in the pool.

Despite staff worries about the suitability of the tree lodge for a 3 year old we were fine in the tree lodge, it was not difficult to help/carry our little girl up & down and we even could carry up/down the pram when she was asleep in it. She slept with us so we didn't need another bed. She also loved the room and the view (complete with owl which often swooped out from under the eaves when we entered the room!). We also had access to a babysitter during the wedding ceremony and I would recommend Thembi, she was a lovely lady who made friends with and took very good care of our daughter.

Speaking of wildlife we also strolled past nyala so close we almost touch them just a metre or two off the path. The only animals a bit too close for comfort were the monkeys which were determined to steal the snacks left out at the bar but that was about the worst of it!.

All in all I would call it a proper south african experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marabsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zululand Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zululand Tree Lodge

Property: Zululand Tree Lodge
Address: Box 116 | Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zululand Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cool, whispering tranquility of a fever tree forest, the TreeLodge is a truly special retreat where you will be accommodated in luxurious stilted chalets. Enjoy the quiet lounge, observation deck and a sunny pool area where you might be visited by a family of warthog, a shy Red Duiker or a pair of Purple-crested Loeries. Accommodation at Zululand Tree Lodge consists of thatched chalets raised above the floor on stilts, set in the cool tranquility of a fever tree forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zululand Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zululand Tree Hotel Hluhluwe
Zululand Tree Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing