We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, amazing animals, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zululand Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for game viewing. We loved the property and seeing antelopes and zebra even on our drive from the main gate to the lodge. Our lodge on stilts was clean and comfortable. We loved sitting on our terrace watching the monkeys and antelopes roaming around. The staff were friendly and very helpful and as there were only two couples staying for our first couple of nights we were even provided a dinner under the stars by the pool. We had wonderful game drives in Hluhluwe with Hamilton, who had us up at dawn but showed us more animals that we ever hoped for - including (at a distance) lions and very large numbers of rhino. We were also able to get very close to all sorts of animals - giraffe, zebra, wilderbeest, warthogs, various antelope - in Ubizane game reserve within which the Tree Lodge sits. Zululand Tree Lodge was extremely comfortable, luxurious even, but without being opulent: it never seemed over-the-top given its place in such a natural haven.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

The Ubizane team thanks you for the time you took to write this beautiful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent at Tree Lodge. We are glad to hear you had such a fantastic time in nature and saw so many amazing animals. We are very lucky to be surrounded by the magical wildlife and we always enjoy hearing that our guests had a wonderful time appreciating wildlife like we do. As for the staff, we always try to give our guests a luxurious experience in the bush, while keeping the focus on the nature around us. We hope you will carry Ubizane memories with your forever and hopefully we can spoil you again on your next trip to this part of the world!

Warm Regards,

The Entire Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Zululand Tree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arriving after a specially organised safari at Hluhluwe Game Reserve (which was brilliant!), we got to Zululand Tree Lodge just as it was getting dark. The property is absolutely beautiful, and the accommodation is clean, tastefully furnished and large. The room, set high on stilts, overlooked the forest, where frogs and birds could be heard most of the night. The huge bed, covered with a mosquito net, was very comfortable. Staff had decorated areas of the room, such as the bed, the bathroom basin, etc. with leaves, which added to the "safari" feel of the place. The large porch outside sliding glass doors was nice to sit on and enjoy a cup of coffee. No tv, but who needs a tv at a place like this? Hairdryer can be borrowed from Reception.

Dinner at the restaurant was fabulous, including a new soup - beetroot and orange (really delicious!). The chef was obviously very proud of his menu, and justifiably so. Lovely selection of food, and plenty of it too!

Very friendly staff, including the lovely dog who patrols the camp. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for the beautiful review and the time you took to write such a detailed piece!
We enjoy hearing back from the guests to ensure our services are adequate and to see what is most important to each guest. We want our guests to have a comfortable stay while experiencing Africa at its finest. We are lucky to have so many bird species living in the Fever Trees and the frogs are starting to crawl out now that we have a dam in front of the restaurant. We are glad our guests enjoy the natural sounds of the night at our Reserve as much as we do!

We enjoyed having you at our lodge and we hope to meet you again soon on your next trip to Africa! Keep in touch with us on our social sites! We would love to keep hearing from you!

Warmest Regards,
Ettione Ferreira
Social Media Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this lodge for two nights, sleeping The first at Safari lodge and the second at Tree lodge, as they are in the same property. Safari lodge is very nice with comfortable rooms, well decorated and very clean, but Tree lodge is really fabulous!!! With bungalow rooms situated under the trees and a romantic atmosphere!!! Staff very friendly, good quality and wide variety food. The rangers are well prepared, nice and friendly, special thanks to Hamilton!!! Game drives in Ubizane were very nice with good views although there was not a wide variety of animals neither the big five, but they take you also to the nearby Hluhluwe reserve which is few km away. We have beautiful memories, higy reccomended!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iCharlie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review!
We appreciate the kind words and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guests with the opportunity to make amazing memories in the heart of the African bush and we are so glad to hear that you have beautiful memories to associate with Ubizane! Thank you so much for your recommendation! We hope to see you again soon in the Zululand area on your next trip to Africa!

Looking forward to meeting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a fabulous 4-day stay in ZTL during Christmas (which we fortunately didn't notice at all!) 2012. Close to the wildpark, great food, wifi and the best service (thanks staff!) one could wish. Especially Tracey who looked so well after us; from our first steps into the lodge to the farewell. The room was 'bush-basic' but will all facilities you need. Everything was there. The lounge area was the spot where to share each sunset the adventures of the day.

I can truely recommend this place and certainly they'll see me back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikvanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Social Media Administrator at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review & your recommendation!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we made it special! We aim to exceed expectations and let guests feel like they’re in the lap of luxury while having an African experience.


We are all looking forward to your return!

Regards,
The Ubizane Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Last time we stayed at the Safari Lodge & this time we decided to stay at the Tree Lodge - we arrived in time to take over our delightful rooms with a beautiful balcony overlooking the Fever Trees which line the small river - the shower room is also spacious & in keeping with style of the room - we took a 2 hour tour of Ubizane with Hamilton our guide & we were very lucky to see the young rhino within a few minutes of starting out - we also saw giraffes, nyala & wildebeest - afternoon tea on our return was delicious & a rest was followed by an excellent dinner - next morning after an excellent night's sleep we were at Hluhluwe as the park opened at 0600 - the day was quite cool & windy & we saw a good variety of wildlife although this time unfortunately for our UK visitors no elephant or lions - however this gives them the perfect reason for a return visit in the not too distant future! Hamilton is an excellent guide with vast knowledge & a great sense of humour - we returned in time for an awesome breakfast - like all the meals a great mixture of choices from local to more European style dishes - that was our short stay - once again thanks to all the staff for giving us such a fantastic stay - we will be back in January!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

The entire Ubizane Wildlife Reserve team would like to Thank your for you beautiful review, and more importantly for your visit to Zululand Tree Lodge!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We are all looking forward to your return visit in January 2013!

Regards,
The Ubizane Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My experience in the the tree lodges at Ubizane was first rate. Service was absolutely impeccable, we got an upgrade on arrival. The grounds are very well kept and peaceful and the rooms are large and comfortable (especially the wonderful bathrooms), incredible views through the trees. The restaurant is top-notch. Its such a great place to relax and get away from it all, and the staff deserve a huge compliment for contributing to that feeling.
If I should mention one bad thing; the pool could be larger but

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Zululand Tree Lodge.

With regards to the pool, if you had asked one of our many helpful staff members they would of directed you to Zululand Safari Lodge, which has a huge pool and is a mere 500 M walk from Zululand Tree Lodge.

Hopefully you will get to enjoy the enormous swimming pool on your next visit to Ubizane!

Kindest Regards,
The Ubizane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

First of all thank you to the staff, and i mean the real staff at Ubizane example Yolandi the housekeeping manager, Casper the ranger, Elizabeth the receptionist, Tanja for making this horrible experience woth while.
The General managers don't seem to care about their staff, its easy to through orders and not help. I have not seen the general managers once since i have been there, they don't know their guest and i think they don't care!!!
This place has so much potential and the rooms were so beautifuly prepared thanks to Yolandi and her girls, but i saw how she was running and i still saw her working that night, she looked very tired but still she had a smile on her face and sorted my aircon with no problem.....As the general manager just wanted to explain that the aircon does not blow that cold i had Yolandi there sorting this out and within seconds the aircon was blowing as it should be.
Our game drive was so exciting, Casper made us laugh and we forgot about all the stress we had in the city, i really reccommend him to anybody who wants to have a experience. Thanks Casper!!
I will only return to Ubizane if this staff members are there, they made my stay wonderful, and i don't think it is good for a general manager to scream and shout at her staff members in front of other staff or guest walking past.

Room Tip: Safari Lodge is very nice, Yolandi showed me a room (Family room) very spacious. Stayed in tree lodg...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubizane W, Manager at Zululand Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Ubizane wildlife Reserve, incorporating Zululand Safari Lodge and Zululand Tree Lodge has been bought by a single entity and is under new management. Since this change of ownership, Ubizane Wildlife Reserve as well as both Zululand Tree Lodge and Zululand Safari Lodge have under gone extensive changes.

Heat pumps have been installed at 12 of these units. All these units are fitted with air-conditioners, brand new beds, linen and toweling, as well as smaller trimmings. They have brand new cherry wood cupboards fitted, with marble top counters, bar fridges and huge glass sliding doors that open out to your own private viewing deck.

Pathways leading to Tree Lodge rooms that were cracked and broken have been redone. As well as clearing the riverbed in front of Tree Lodge rooms, to afford a better view/vista from our Tree Lodge private viewing deck.

We encourage everyone, weather new, or returning guests to come past and see Ubizane’s transformation for them. Our friendly staff is always willing to assist in any way they can, in order to make every guest’s stay enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
7.2 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0.3 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Hluhluwe
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zululand Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zululand Tree Lodge

Address: Box 116 | Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £91 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zululand Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the cool, whispering tranquility of a fever tree forest, the TreeLodge is a truly special retreat where you will be accommodated in luxurious stilted chalets. Enjoy the quiet lounge, observation deck and a sunny pool area where you might be visited by a family of warthog, a shy Red Duiker or a pair of Purple-crested Loeries. Accommodation at Zululand Tree Lodge consists of thatched chalets raised above the floor on stilts, set in the cool tranquility of a fever tree forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Zululand Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zululand Tree Hotel Hluhluwe
Zululand Tree Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing