We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
26
44
17
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
44
17
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviewing deckgame lodgeself catering unitbuffet dinnerthe reservebird lifewater holetwo nightsbuckgiraffesnatureaccommodationafricawaterholebomadrivetrees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Bushlands Game Lodge is located close to Hluhluwe NP, which is a great place to explore and watch SA's wildlife.
Rooms were ok, we had nice bungalows, not a lot of luxury, but clean and in the middle of beautiful nature. On the ground of the lodge there is various wildlife that comes close to the rooms/bungalows which is a very nice experience.

Service was mixed; front desk was not overly motivated and friendly, whereas staff in the restaurants and the rangers located in the lodge were very open and friendly.

We stayed 2 nights. The first day a bus group stayed in the lodge which made the restaurant a very noisy place. A buffet was offered which was real bad; had the dryest peace of meat and the rawest beans I ever got offered. Tried to find better stuff at the buffet, but without a lot of success.
The 2nd night the bus was gone and as there were very few guests we got a three course dinner which was acceptable, but not real tasty.

All in all a nice location, but bad food after a long day spoils the overall experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed in the lodges seperate from the main campus. The disadvantage was we had to be transported to and fro the main lodge. The upside of that was that the giraffes and zebras etc. came right up to the lodges at night. Food was very good, accomodation was excellent, staff were superb.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkRobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights with my partner. My partner booked this location as a suprise during our stay in South Africa. I was so excited on arrival until i opened the bathroom door.

We stayed in lodge number 1. Great location right beside the dining room. However, the bathroom is in serious need of refurbishment. I contacted the manager after we left via e-mail and she also agreed with us that the bathroom facitiles in the cabins need a make-over. I couldn't believe that the manager agreed with me but still charged us approx. 100 euro per night.

The shower was full of grout and we had to use flip flops when showering. The linyl on the floor was curling up and the ground was damp. Totally unacceptable for the proce we paid.

The staff in the restaurant and bar were very nice as was the food- however the managers dog would be running through the restaurant when you were eating your dinner. Although i don't mind dogs i believe this is not the 'norm' in a restaurant situation.

Unless bathroom facilities were improved i would never recommend this game lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrelandLaura_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This game lodge is included on the Kuoni 'Best of Africa' Tour and what a gem. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere at the end of a three kilometre track. To describe is as quirky would be to underestimate its charm. All the rooms take the form of wooden cabins accessed via a boardwalk. In fact all of the public areas are accessed via a maze of boardwalks. Monkeys flit around in the trees. There is a game viewing platform with comfortable chairs and sofas. There is even a bar service there but we had to go to the bar to order in the first place as the telephone link with the bar was missing!!

Our bedroom was secluded, delightful and very comfortable; the en suite shower room not quite so good. It needed updating.

The dining room was attractive with a buffet area and seating both inside and out. The bar was nearby with a boma (firepit) with plenty of seating around it. We sat there for pre-dinner drinks and post dinner coffee. The atmosphere was wonderfully romantic.

The food at dinner and breakfast was buffet style. The food was good but not particularly imaginative but as our purpose for staying there was to see the game and not for a gastronomic experience we did not mind. Anyway the attention from the staff more than made up for unimaginative cooking!! One thing we found odd was having to order our wine before we knew what was on the menu. It is also worth bearing in mind that the wine is served by the bottle or glass - a glass being 340ml!! The after dinner entertainment took the form of a group of bushbabies who came down every evening for a plate of chopped apple.

As I said, the purpose of our stay was to see game and we were driven to Uhluhlwe-iMfolozi by coach. It is a half hour trip. Wow! What a morning. Apart from seeing four of the 'Big Five' we were privileged to see a pack of 10 wild dogs. These are an endangered species and we followed them for 30 minutes while they hunted. It was obvious that they had already made a kill because some of the dogs had blood on their fur and around their chops. We were also lucky enough to see a rhino and her baby - in fact we saw seven rhinos close up. The enthusiasm of our driver, Liz, was infectious as she was just as excited about seeing the wild dogs as the rest of us. Her camera was clicking away as well. Due to a very early start (5.30am) we had a breakfast stop at the rest camp. The game park catering staff put on a good spread the cost of which was included in the game drive.

We also went to Lake St Lucia from Bushlands, about an hours drive away. Again, the lake provided us with another 'WOW'. There were hippos by the hundred basking in the water in the sunshine as well as crocodiles, sea eagles and many other birds and wild life. We thought we had seen it all - until we got back to Bushlands! The hotel has its own small game reserve and guests are free to walk in it. We did and experienced one of the high spots or our holiday. Not only did we see impala and zebra but we also got close to a group of giraffe - one huge, enormous male and his five consorts. It was scary and awe inspiring at the same time.

As you can see from the above we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bushlands Lodge. One other thing though - we did not fancy using the swimming pool as the monkeys seemed to enjoy this facility!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

we spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. it is off the beaten track but this adds to its charm, we had a lovely cabin overlooking the swimming pool. the first night we ate outside with a boma. there were lots of monkeys around. in the evening bushbabies come down to eat near the dining room. the meals were buffet style and were excellent. a lovely place to stay. it really made you feel that you were in africa.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews