We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The entrance to the game lodge is in the middle of nowhere.
And you do have to travel a long long long long long sandy road with potholes to get there (so familycar will be dirty when rain has been fallen). But when you arrive, there is a warm welcome with a nice free drink.
Staff is nice and very helpfull.
Place is nice surrounded with woods and a swimmingpool.
At night little animals can be feeded.
Dinner: good
Breakfast: good
Room: good
Bathroom: small and on wood so it moves :) but okay.
No W-lan
But free parking under a carport.
Endconclusion: yes because it's a romantic place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank question_marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is a game lodge where the animals roam around under the raised walkways. It is relatively small, and the atmosphere is friendly and intimate. Zebra passed beside my lodge early morning. The lodges are well spaced out and comfortable, but don't expect five star luxury. This is not what it's about. I greatly enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed: September 2010
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Comprises of a series of lodges, most of which are away from the main buildings, so a walk was usually involved to get to the bar or restaurant although those far away were provided with a Jeep and driver.
The rooms are very nicely decorated in a style to suit the area and everything worked. We had two single beds which were very comfortable.
A torch is required, and a good sense of humour, as you may be walking around in semi darkness.
We had Tuna parcels with salad for starters then a choice of Roast Pork, Chicken Curry and Rice and Venison. That was delicious. Venison in South Africa is any game meat and as it has very little fat is great for you .We had a selection of desserts including Pineapple Surprise and Cake with Custard. You won’t go hungry there.
We bought two 500ml bottles of water for 12 Rand each. They don't take cash so you charge to your room and pay as you check out.
For breakfast we had fruit followed by bacon and scrambled eggs. The coffee wasn't very good.
Our second dinner there was Vegetable Soup, Minced Antelope Curry with Raisins and Sponge Pudding with Custard. There was a lot more to choose from but I can’t remember what it all was. Suffice to say the food was a of a high quality and lots of it.
South Africa seems to be famous for being a meat eating nation and that is certainly reflected in the amount of meat you are given at each meal. The same can be said of fish.
In the grounds there are Zebra, Ostrich, Giraffe roaming free. I saw a family of Banded Mongoose outside our lodge in the morning and on the morning we left there was an Ostrich grazing outside our door. It was magical.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Bushlands Game Lodge is located close to Hluhluwe NP, which is a great place to explore and watch SA's wildlife.
Rooms were ok, we had nice bungalows, not a lot of luxury, but clean and in the middle of beautiful nature. On the ground of the lodge there is various wildlife that comes close to the rooms/bungalows which is a very nice experience.

Service was mixed; front desk was not overly motivated and friendly, whereas staff in the restaurants and the rangers located in the lodge were very open and friendly.

We stayed 2 nights. The first day a bus group stayed in the lodge which made the restaurant a very noisy place. A buffet was offered which was real bad; had the dryest peace of meat and the rawest beans I ever got offered. Tried to find better stuff at the buffet, but without a lot of success.
The 2nd night the bus was gone and as there were very few guests we got a three course dinner which was acceptable, but not real tasty.

All in all a nice location, but bad food after a long day spoils the overall experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed in the lodges seperate from the main campus. The disadvantage was we had to be transported to and fro the main lodge. The upside of that was that the giraffes and zebras etc. came right up to the lodges at night. Food was very good, accomodation was excellent, staff were superb.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkRobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights with my partner. My partner booked this location as a suprise during our stay in South Africa. I was so excited on arrival until i opened the bathroom door.

We stayed in lodge number 1. Great location right beside the dining room. However, the bathroom is in serious need of refurbishment. I contacted the manager after we left via e-mail and she also agreed with us that the bathroom facitiles in the cabins need a make-over. I couldn't believe that the manager agreed with me but still charged us approx. 100 euro per night.

The shower was full of grout and we had to use flip flops when showering. The linyl on the floor was curling up and the ground was damp. Totally unacceptable for the proce we paid.

The staff in the restaurant and bar were very nice as was the food- however the managers dog would be running through the restaurant when you were eating your dinner. Although i don't mind dogs i believe this is not the 'norm' in a restaurant situation.

Unless bathroom facilities were improved i would never recommend this game lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrelandLaura_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This game lodge is included on the Kuoni 'Best of Africa' Tour and what a gem. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere at the end of a three kilometre track. To describe is as quirky would be to underestimate its charm. All the rooms take the form of wooden cabins accessed via a boardwalk. In fact all of the public areas are accessed via a maze of boardwalks. Monkeys flit around in the trees. There is a game viewing platform with comfortable chairs and sofas. There is even a bar service there but we had to go to the bar to order in the first place as the telephone link with the bar was missing!!

Our bedroom was secluded, delightful and very comfortable; the en suite shower room not quite so good. It needed updating.

The dining room was attractive with a buffet area and seating both inside and out. The bar was nearby with a boma (firepit) with plenty of seating around it. We sat there for pre-dinner drinks and post dinner coffee. The atmosphere was wonderfully romantic.

The food at dinner and breakfast was buffet style. The food was good but not particularly imaginative but as our purpose for staying there was to see the game and not for a gastronomic experience we did not mind. Anyway the attention from the staff more than made up for unimaginative cooking!! One thing we found odd was having to order our wine before we knew what was on the menu. It is also worth bearing in mind that the wine is served by the bottle or glass - a glass being 340ml!! The after dinner entertainment took the form of a group of bushbabies who came down every evening for a plate of chopped apple.

As I said, the purpose of our stay was to see game and we were driven to Uhluhlwe-iMfolozi by coach. It is a half hour trip. Wow! What a morning. Apart from seeing four of the 'Big Five' we were privileged to see a pack of 10 wild dogs. These are an endangered species and we followed them for 30 minutes while they hunted. It was obvious that they had already made a kill because some of the dogs had blood on their fur and around their chops. We were also lucky enough to see a rhino and her baby - in fact we saw seven rhinos close up. The enthusiasm of our driver, Liz, was infectious as she was just as excited about seeing the wild dogs as the rest of us. Her camera was clicking away as well. Due to a very early start (5.30am) we had a breakfast stop at the rest camp. The game park catering staff put on a good spread the cost of which was included in the game drive.

We also went to Lake St Lucia from Bushlands, about an hours drive away. Again, the lake provided us with another 'WOW'. There were hippos by the hundred basking in the water in the sunshine as well as crocodiles, sea eagles and many other birds and wild life. We thought we had seen it all - until we got back to Bushlands! The hotel has its own small game reserve and guests are free to walk in it. We did and experienced one of the high spots or our holiday. Not only did we see impala and zebra but we also got close to a group of giraffe - one huge, enormous male and his five consorts. It was scary and awe inspiring at the same time.

As you can see from the above we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bushlands Lodge. One other thing though - we did not fancy using the swimming pool as the monkeys seemed to enjoy this facility!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.4 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
19 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 33 in Hluhluwe
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge

Address: Lot H99, Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushlands Game Hotel Hluhluwe
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing