We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nibela Lodge Hluhluwe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nibela Lodge Hluhluwe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just arrived back from a wonderful trip to S Africa - stayed at Nibela Lodge, Hluhluwe for 3 nights - wonderful setting in the Rain Forest, overlooking St Lucia lake - excellent accommodation and food, walkways to Reception and accommodation. Had our washing done for about £4.00 - nothing was too much trouble. Flamingos were stunning. Good walks and Quad Biking. Unfortunately, the road is untarred for about 25 km but we managed with a hired car, not a 4X4.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
39
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mtubatuba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

the staff went our of their way to make this a special evening and specially made a bonfire for the event and this was such an attraction, we will certainly visit again. the units are very well equipped and the showers are huge.

Room Tip: units close the swimming pool, if you have children, so as to keep an eye over them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 460TheBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivry-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Far from the Hluhluwe game reserve, terrible service, disgusting food, everything goes wrong in this place.
The worst is the traditionnal zoulou danse, a place with no motivate people explaining the zoulou culture. touristic but not traditionnal at all.

Only the lodge concept is good with zoulou house accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julien666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

As i said before it was a lovely vist but the fact that there was very loud trains all the way through the night and rat droppingson the wall wasn't a very good!!! but you cant let you put you of it. the fact that when the fuse went the man from the reception ran and fix the light within a second!!!!!!!! overall a beautiful stay!!! i just wish the swimming pool was a little bit heated as when i jumped in ai felt a shiver down my back!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miniwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

A nice place, marked above average for the lovely staff. Stayed here for a couple of days after being unable to get into the nearby Bushlands which is a tourist grade higher than the Dumuazulu 3 stars and more upmarket but we were happy with the accommodation and food (D, B&BB which is all included in the reasonable price.) The rondavels are air conditioned, nicely furnished with comfy beds and they are spotlessly clean, our shower was a bit weak but our friend's was fine. The staff seem a bit naiive and shy but are all delightful. Don't expect a slick operation but what you do get is friendly, rustic and a place to relax. The manager Sam is a top bloke, always there with a smile and a chat and nothing is too much trouble. One receptionist let us down at short notice on booking a game drive in Hluhluwe so he rang around, sorted us a private drive and then drove us five miles or more in his own car to get us there on time. Not being big on corporate places we liked it and Sam will ensure that it gets better as time goes on... Worth a stop if you are going to the attached Zulu Village living museum.

  • Liked — comfy, laid back - time doesnt matter and staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ordinarybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village

Property: Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
Address: Lot H29, Bushlands Rd, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional KwaZulu-Natal hospitality at Gooderson DumaZulu Traditional Zulu Village, South Africa’s biggest cultural village. Watch as locals make spears, shields, baskets and clay pots. Peek into the world of the sangoma and have a one on one reading. Experience the rhythmic drumbeat and dance of Africa. Taste Zulu beer. Watch the throwing of the bones… Situated in the heart of Zululand near Hluhluwe, Gooderson DumaZulu Traditional Zulu Village is as much a living cultural museum as it is a natural and therapeutic outdoors environment for guests to reconnect with nature. Cultural guides give guests a rare insight into local customs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge And Traditional Zulu Village Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing