We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Bushbaby Lodge & Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Camping at Bushbaby Lodge & Camping”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We camped one night at the Bushbaby Lodge & Camping.It cost 100 Rand per person per night to camp. The campsites came with electricity, there was a pool and the lodge offered wifi for a charge. The bushbaby feeding is at 7:00pm, that was the highlight of our stay! There is a watering hole near the camp and it is lit up at night. We were lucky enough to see some Wildebeest. Our only complaint was that there were loads of mosquitos at night, otherwise we had a great stay.

The staff were very friendly and wonderful, the toilets were very clean and the kitchen area was great! I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for somewhere to camp!

Room Tip: Camp away from the watering hole to try and avoid the mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a great romantic retreat, the walks around camp are lovely, sighting impala, nyala, zebra, wildebeest, zebra & duiker & the bushbabies are just too cute. Bring your own banana & they're all yours! Ablutions are clean, with double ply loo roll(!) I think due to theft, cutlery is scarce, so bring your own knives forks, spoons- liquid & towels etc. Thandi & Pym are super friendly & very helpful in all enquiries. There isn't a restaurant, but the staff will rustle up food for you if you give them enough notice. We wanted to use the lodge as a base to explore Mkhuze game reserve, but the road there was so terrible we only attempted it once. Thandi says work is due to start on the two roads that take you there soon. Fingers crossed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderfully restful lodge for several nights and didn't want to leave. Pim and Thandie the owners turned out to be hands on at keeping their guests comfortable and happy. The evenings were fun as we chatted and drank wine in the dining area. The self-catering areas were good. The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were very large and well-appointed. The large pool was the cleanest we had during our three month trip throughout South Africa. Super friendly place that attracted super friendly people.
We definitely recommend this great place

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It is rare to find such a lovely place at an affordable price. We stayed for 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer. The chalets are clean and the beds are good. Bushbaby feeding in the evening is a highlight.

Room Tip: rooms with ablutions and TV's are overlooking a waterhole in an adjacent gamepark, the rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sangoma02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Lovely venue for camping 20 minutes from the Hluhluwe Game Reserve's Memorial Gate, since the reserve itself does not offer camping at all.
Good, clean communal ablutions and kitchen at Bushbaby Lodge.
They have an upstairs bar for pre-dinner drinks and a view of the bushbaby feeding station. We opted to eat dinner at the Lodge instead of catering for ourselves and were bowled over with the incredibly excellently priced 3 course meal served us!
Camping can be accommodated at the front of the lodge or around the back. The front section appears to be great for families as all the facilities are close by. We chose the back which has a view of the water hole and we could sit with sun downers and watch the zebra, impala and nyala come down to drink.
The game is quite used to people and our noises and while we braaied at night, nylala were an arm's length away, bushbabies cuddling and chirping in the tree alongside and the red duiker were gloriously in and about the tents!
Not to mention the bushbaby interaction in the evenings - lovely to see and feed such lovely nocturnal creatures!

Room Tip: Chalets with a view of the waterhole are the best! Camping around the back has more casual game in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Conveniently close to Hluhluwe Game Reserve.Clean accommodation,may choose from chalet with kitchen or chalet with very nice communal kitchen.Value for money. Camping also available.Highlight - feeding of bushbabies in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya082_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Cant agree more with the other reviewers. Great place for stop off. Everything clean, well maintained, and well thought out. Hosts friendly and helpful-such a contrast to some of the surly receptions we got elsewhere.After 2 weeks camping elsewhere, we spoilt ourselves for our last night and took a lodge and ordered food, which was good, if a little basic. Would definitely choose this as a stop-over for the gamepark

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
2.2 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
7.1 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
8.1 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#17 of 32 in Hluhluwe
160 reviews
19.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbaby Lodge & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbaby Lodge & Camping

Property: Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
Address: D49 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & campsites in a lush garden of indigenous treesBushbaby Lodge is the perfect break-away in the heart of Elephant Coast. In a picturesque tropical garden under the shade of enormous indigenous trees with South African hospitality at its best. Treat yourself to traditional home cooking, or make use of the equipped communal kitchen and cater for yourself. Enjoy leisurely walks while viewing the rich bird live and game of the area. We are only 20 minutes away from the Hluhluwe/Umfolozi Game Reserve and various exciting activities can be organized in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bushbaby Lodge & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing