We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exploring the Elephant Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hluhluwe River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exploring the Elephant Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Hluhluwe River lodge bordering on the False Bay park and the Hluhluwe river, is perfectly situated to allow exploration of the surrounding area although once settled in to one of the lodges hidden away in the bush this is a difficult place to leave. The restuarant and bar, situated at the central lodge with its wide farmhouse style verandas surrounding a boma where guests relax around the fire, serves an exceptionally high quality menu of traditional South Africa foods and game meats. Gavin, Bridget and the staff are the perfect hosts with their warm hospitality. The lodge has to be on the top of any list and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Friendly host and staff, excellent food, and very knowledgeable game ranger. Hike throught the local dune forest is a must do, and the cycle trip down to False Bay offers excellent views.
Bird life around the estate is plentiful - and nagapies at night, right next to our chalet!

Room Tip: .Chalets under the trees give a good close up viewing of vervet monkeys during the day and nagapies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaMbonambi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Occasionally you encounter places and people which leave you with a feeling of affection and content.
I had the priviledge to experience just that at Hluhluwe River Lodge.

A group of friends who all share the passion for BMW GS motorbikes gathered at Hluhluwe River Lodge for a few days to explore the beauty of northern Zululand.

Our hosts, Gavin and Bridget, and their staff, made us feel at home immediately with warm hospitality. The accommodation is impeccable and of the highest standard.

A special mention must go to the chefs and kitchen staff, who received a spontaneous standing ovation from our group of men. The food was on par and, dare I say, even better than some of the finest restaurants we've been to. Its definately not hotel food!! Very delicately and tastefully prepared and always with a personal touch. Welldone!!!!

Another aspect worth mentioning is the beauty of the surrounding area. Situated on the banks of Lake St Lucia and surrounded by dense vegetation, makes it a birders paradise.

We all agreed that we need no begging to go back and enjoy the hospitality of Gavin and Bridget again.

The memories of our stay are not memories of a lodge but rather memories of a family.

Will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachrys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have had the privilege of spending a lot of time at Hluhluwe River Lodge. I have travelled all over the globe and the accomodations, service and location of this lodge is world class. The views from the main lodge are exquisite, the bar well stocked and to top it off an amazing staff who serve up beautiful food! There are so many activities to choose from, my favourite being the guided safari. We've seen the Big 5 and some of the most beautiful birds in the world. Hluhluwe River Lodge is a true treat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

From the moment you enter the gates unspoilt Africa hits you from all sides. This place has the perfect blend of raw natural beauty and luxury living. On arrival we were greeted warmly by local staff and shown to our rooms, wooden cabins raised above the ground and spaced out far enough to feel like you're in the middle of the wild African bush but close enough to know you're not. Sitting around an outdoor fire sipping on a beer and watching the sun set over the vast plains that stretch over to the st Lucia wetlands is an awesome and humbling experience. The food is amazing and conversation with the owners and guides a real treat. Their knowledge about the local flora and fauna, and the history and culture is inspiring. We relaxed, we ate and drank, we walked, we mountain biked and we did the game drive in an open top converted land rover, and it was awesome. We left, wishing we could have spent more time there, and promised ourselves we'd be back. That's always a good sign.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My family and I have stayed at Hluhluwe River Lodge on several occasions over the years. If you want a place to relax and get away from it all, this is the place to be. Being a mountainbiker, I have really enjoyed exploring the area which has some awesome bushveld rides. One of my favourites is from the lodge, through the sand forest with its unique fauna and flora, and then along the banks of Lake St Lucia. My wife and I enjoy the game reserve and trips into nearby Hluhluwe are a pleasure.
Gavin is the perfect host and entertainer of note. A roaring fire, superb cuisine and a cold beer on the deck overlooking the Hluhluwe River flood plain and Lake St Lucia is difficult to beat at the end of an active day. Everything aside, what sets this lodge apart many others is the personal nature of the attention guests receive - all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. It's well worth a visit! (and try their speciality "Rum and Toads")

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

A real treat for me is to be able to walk / trail run unspoilt indigenous forest unguided! Time is yours and no-one elses. The forests are alive with birds (and some serious specials at that!), red duiker seem common yet secretive and the world just slows down. The views of the St. Lucia flood plains from the comfortable lodge lounge are spectacular. Meals are a treat. Hluhluwe River Lodge is ideal for a weekend escape or a spot to launch an exploration of Zululand Game Reserves. Will certainly be back - and with the family next time - great for kid's!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre duT d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
3.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
4.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#4 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
21.3 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
20.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe River Lodge

Property: Hluhluwe River Lodge
Address: D540-Hluhluwe (District Road 540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hluhluwe River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hluhluwe River Lodge is an intimate forest lodge situated far from the hustle and bustle, offering a tranquil environment and relaxed atmosphere. The lodge is ideal for self drive visitors looking for a fully catered restaurant facility and spacious living area. The main lodge has a lounge, expansive terrace and Wifi facilities. Ideal for a family getaway or a couples retreat, our attention to detail and personal touch will make your stay memorable. Upon request, we offer guided walks into False Bay Park which includes forest and lake shore experiences where the focus is on the little details and magic of our greatest asset, the Sand Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hluhluwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe River Hotel Hluhluwe
Hluhluwe River Lodge South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing