We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing, peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst travelling around South Africa. We had a really amazing time. Rooms lovely, food excellent, location great. Gavin, Tammy and staff went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend. Beautiful views, it was lovely to wake up to Impala grazing in front of our room. False Bay lake worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyAnneDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

A group of friends and I stayed here in July 2012. The views from the lodge itself were wonderful esp that of False Bay. The place was secluded and private enough...you definitely felt like you were in the bush. The rooms were nice...Rustic but clean. The drive to the game park is about 30 mins away. The food was delicious and specially prepared as we asked for vegetarian. Also, the place is not over priced...so good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samm204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view!! The guest rooms could use a little updating. The over all stay was nice and didn't break the bank. Very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed the safari even though it took about 30 min.To get to the park once you leave the lodge. Wish there would of been a way to not have been so crowded in the vehicle so we could have moved around better to view sightings. But like I said the cost didn't break the bank. Staying at a more expensive lodge would be a better idea if you want a closer drive, newer accommodation , and more comfortable ride.
We did have a fun stay with our friends!!!
And saw great sightings of Rhino!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hluhluwe River Lodge was a perfect get away from our manic travel schedule.
Set in the dense woodland, overlooking False Bay, it has everything that a nature lover wants. The Hluhluwe & Imfolozi game reserves are a c20 minute jeep drive away through traditional villages set up in the hillside. If you dont want to do the 4:30/5am wake up call for the drive, nature is literally on the lodge's door step, from Kudu, Impala to monkeys and pretty large spiders, there is so much to see from the log cabins and the balconies that overlook False Bay.
Any questions you may have from the small wild cat that nestles in a nearby roof, to the crazy frogs at night, the team are on standby for all kinds of ridiculous (in my case) questions.
This is a definite, the food is also pretty good, gives some of our professional chefs at home a run for their money.....!!!

Room Tip: They are all pretty good, maybe try and get one closer to the main lodge as we were further away, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Hluhluwe River lodge bordering on the False Bay park and the Hluhluwe river, is perfectly situated to allow exploration of the surrounding area although once settled in to one of the lodges hidden away in the bush this is a difficult place to leave. The restuarant and bar, situated at the central lodge with its wide farmhouse style verandas surrounding a boma where guests relax around the fire, serves an exceptionally high quality menu of traditional South Africa foods and game meats. Gavin, Bridget and the staff are the perfect hosts with their warm hospitality. The lodge has to be on the top of any list and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Friendly host and staff, excellent food, and very knowledgeable game ranger. Hike throught the local dune forest is a must do, and the cycle trip down to False Bay offers excellent views.
Bird life around the estate is plentiful - and nagapies at night, right next to our chalet!

Room Tip: .Chalets under the trees give a good close up viewing of vervet monkeys during the day and nagapies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Occasionally you encounter places and people which leave you with a feeling of affection and content.
I had the priviledge to experience just that at Hluhluwe River Lodge.

A group of friends who all share the passion for BMW GS motorbikes gathered at Hluhluwe River Lodge for a few days to explore the beauty of northern Zululand.

Our hosts, Gavin and Bridget, and their staff, made us feel at home immediately with warm hospitality. The accommodation is impeccable and of the highest standard.

A special mention must go to the chefs and kitchen staff, who received a spontaneous standing ovation from our group of men. The food was on par and, dare I say, even better than some of the finest restaurants we've been to. Its definately not hotel food!! Very delicately and tastefully prepared and always with a personal touch. Welldone!!!!

Another aspect worth mentioning is the beauty of the surrounding area. Situated on the banks of Lake St Lucia and surrounded by dense vegetation, makes it a birders paradise.

We all agreed that we need no begging to go back and enjoy the hospitality of Gavin and Bridget again.

The memories of our stay are not memories of a lodge but rather memories of a family.

Will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachrys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
161 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
80 reviews
6.4 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#4 of 34 in Hluhluwe
284 reviews
7.4 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 34 in Hluhluwe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe River Lodge

Address: D540-Hluhluwe (District Road 540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £171 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hluhluwe River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hluhluwe River Lodge is an intimate forest lodge situated far from the hustle and bustle, offering a tranquil environment and relaxed atmosphere. The lodge is ideal for self drive visitors looking for a fully catered restaurant facility and spacious living area. The main lodge has a lounge, expansive terrace and Wifi facilities. Ideal for a family getaway or a couples retreat, our attention to detail and personal touch will make your stay memorable. Upon request, we offer guided walks into False Bay Park which includes forest and lake shore experiences where the focus is on the little details and magic of our greatest asset, the Sand Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hluhluwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe River Hotel Hluhluwe
Hluhluwe River Lodge South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing