We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, amazing place, great staff, good food !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have stayed 1 night in this lodge. The view on the estuary is amazing. Decoration and atmosphere of the place is wild and relaxing, even with a 3-y old child running all around !

The family chalet is just perfect.

The service is up to an excellent standard. Dinner was very nice as well.

A great stay !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aude_quentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Hluhluwe River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable 2-night stay at the River Lodge, and would have loved to stay longer. The amenities and accommodation are all excellent, and very well-designed to fit in with the woodland setting. It feels quite remote and isolated, but it's actually within reach of many places of interest. From the lodge veranda there's a lovely view of False Bay.

Owner Gavin and manager Thami were friendly and helpful, and service generally was first class. The quality of the meals was superb, with imaginative options including some ethnic dishes.

For our game drive a ranger picked us up at the lodge to drive in the viewing vehicle to the Hluhluwe iMfolozi Park, which was a 40-minute face-battering ordeal in those exposed, elevated seats. Big mistake! (I think the lodge now suggests you drive in your own car to meet a ranger at the park entrance, which would be much better.) In the game park itself the wildlife seemed rather sparse, but this might have been because of the cool, damp weather on the day.

Following our disappointing game drive experience, on the second day we decided to take a self-guided cycle ride from the lodge to the nearby False Bay Park.This was a delightful experience - the lovely surroundings, the wildlife, the solitude and the cycle ride itself.

We would highly recommended the River Lodge as a base for visiting this part of Kwazulu-Natal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've just returned from a three day stay at this beautiful lodge with my husband and parents-in-law - all four of us enjoyed every second of our stay. The lodge feels luxurious without being at all over the top. The service impeccable but without being at all obtrusive - every day our bed was made and every evening out amenities replenished and mosquito net put down, but we never saw once saw the staff (elves) doing it. My husband and I decided to opt for one of the honeymoon suites which has a bath tub in the room which opens out onto a private decked area - almost like bathing outside but felt 100% private aside for the company of the occasional monkey, squirrel, bird or gheko. Only downside to this room is no view - something the in-laws enjoyed from their standard room (which was also lovely, but was two beds pushed together rather than a double).

Gavin, Analize and Thami were all wonderful, attentive, knowledgable hosts who made us feel extremely welcome. We would have been happy to stay on longer. With the all inclusive option, you get a game drive included in the price, which is provided by a partner company - our guide was Carl who, again, was a great and extremely knowledgable host.

The food was delicious, prepared by a local chef who was apparently taught how to cook by lodge owner Gavin. We are a mixed group of vegetarians, pescatarians and meat eaters, but they made an effort to make all dishes equally delicious for all of us. We even got given a lovely packed lunch when we decided to go on a last minute mid-day game drive.

On top of all this, gorgeous pet dogs at the lodge, and when the dogs arent around, you can expect an evening visit from a stunning genet cat that lives in the roof of the lodge.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Burch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We (four adults, two twelve-year olds and a very energetic three year old) spent two marvelous days here and none of us could fault the accommodation, the location and the sheer enthusiasm and friendliness of all the staff .The 'lodges' are done up to an excellent standard, each opening up onto a beautiful timber veranda area. Monkeys visit regularly and a species of small buck roam about completely unperturbed. The food was excellent - great variety. We had three fussy children and it was no bother to the staff to cater for them. All the staff gave 110% to us and particularly the children - nothing seem to much for them, and there were times when the three year old was a challenged! They even delayed dinner for us one night and organised a babysitter so that we could all sit down and enjoy our meal in comfort.
We enjoyed two safari's here and our tracker was so helpful, friendly and relaxed. I suppose he had seen enough wild animals that our three year old didn't faze him at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neenak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

WOW!!! You can never be sure what to expect the first time you go anywhere, and this lodge more then met our expectaions. The rooms are individual cabins that look out into the forest, where in the early morning and evenings you are almost certain to see some antelope species and the infamous vervette monkeys, not to worry though, this band was fairly well behaved. The game drives from the lodge to Imfolozi/Hluhluwe park took around 25 mins and the times in the park were great. They also have Mtn bikes and a boat to take you out on the river, and hopefully in the future the lake itself. The pool is in good condition and a nice place to relax by. Meals prepared by the staff were excellent and if you're lucky you might get a friendly visit by the resident Genet at supper. Many thanks to Gavin and Tummy (beats me if this is spelt right) and the rest, as the staff here is what made this even more memorable. We will def be back some day...Gavin don't worry I haven't forgot the hat, and I sent you a book I hope you'll enjoy.
Mike and Karen

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikee855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the Planters' Bush Camp with my family, including two young children. Unfortunately I did not feel that the website description accurately described the accommodation. The website says that "this accommodation offers three bedrooms each with two single beds and and en suite shower". However it fails to mention that the bedrooms are in two separate buildings, and all three have separate outside entrances with no internal passages connecting the rooms. This made it very difficult with young children, as they were frightened not to be sleeping cose to their parents. In the end, we put one adult in each room with one of the children, which means that we all had to go to bed at the children's bed-time. Had we known that this was the sleeping arrangement, we would have booked elsewhere. I should mention, however, that this would suit three couples wanting to stay together but maintain their own privacy. It just should be more accurately described on the website.

The other annoyance was that there are no anti-mosquito provisions at all - no gauze on the windows, and no mosquito nets. The camp is in a forest near a river and therefore there are planty of mosquitoes around. When we arrived the windows had been left open and I spent at least half an hour killing mosquitoes in the bedrooms. I counted over 20 in my room alone! Despite sleeping with copious quantities of mosquito repellant, we all had many mosquito bites the next morning, which is not cool in an area that has some malaria risk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewR645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This place is fantastic. The service, the quality and authenticity are unique. Prices are reasonable for what you get. Gavin and tummie are very nice people and dedicated. Would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanneke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
8.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
4.4 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
23.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mkuze
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hluhluwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hluhluwe River Lodge

Address: D540-Hluhluwe (District Road 540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £149 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hluhluwe River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hluhluwe River Lodge is an intimate forest lodge situated far from the hustle and bustle, offering a tranquil environment and relaxed atmosphere. The lodge is ideal for self drive visitors looking for a fully catered restaurant facility and spacious living area. The main lodge has a lounge, expansive terrace and Wifi facilities. Ideal for a family getaway or a couples retreat, our attention to detail and personal touch will make your stay memorable. Upon request, we offer guided walks into False Bay Park which includes forest and lake shore experiences where the focus is on the little details and magic of our greatest asset, the Sand Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hluhluwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hluhluwe River Hotel Hluhluwe
Hluhluwe River Lodge South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing