We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay was wonderful. We stayed in tent 22 & I would highly recommend it. Our rangers William & Chris were so informative. Staff was great & helpful. Food was great. Once you experience, you will return....we will

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumma4106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    153
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
178
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommend Philamon who was our guide thru the trip. We also recommend adding on the Pinda drive as well ...truly amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for 12 days at Zulu Nyala Safari Lodge in the luxury tents and had the best time ever. The tents were awesome with an array of animals right at our doorstep to view at will. The staff was so accomidating making sure all our needs were met and exceeded all of our expectations. Manny was our guide and did an fantastic job of making each drive a true adventure. We saw so many animals upclose and personal and learnt so much about South Africa and the bush. If you are interested in going to South Africa and experiencing all the wonders of the bush and also have excellent accomidations, food and servcie then Zulu Nyala should be on your list. Zulu Nyala also is located in a great place to visit many other sights in the area. For more info. feel free to contact me. WE LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS LOVELY PLACE!

Room Tip: We were able to stay at the manor or the hotel area and choose to stay for our entire 12 days in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WisconsinTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I am trying to be fair here think my stay was above average but I wouldn't go as far as to say Very Good. The place is very nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful, I just got the sense that things needed a little more TLC. Our room whilst clean was very dated and in need of some minor repairs. The lighting to my bedside lamp was dodgy so I had to repair it myself so I knew was safe to use. The TV reception was very bad and was therefore just a waste of time. Some rooms had fridges but ours didn't which was a little annoying. We were only there 3 days but the evening meal was repeated by the 3rd night. However on the up side the actual game drives were brilliant and our Ranger 'Peace' was a real star and tried very hard to make our trips exciting and one day nearly covered the entire park just to find the illusive Elephant.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting all the amenities including a fridge because they are available. Just beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneandonlySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nothing but kudos for this outstanding safari vacation. The people were the friendlyist we've ever encountered, the ambiance was perfect, food good and plentiful, and the game drives all I could have wished for. While I was there I suffered a small injury requiring stitches in my foot, but the staff went out of their way to make sure this impacted my experience as little as possible, and to ensure I had a wonderful vacation. Many thanks to Robert and his excellent team.

Room Tip: My tip? Go for the tents. The zebras come right up and nibble on your bushes. You can see nyala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Zulu Nyala was everything we had hoped it would be and more. We were there in early February. We saw many animals, cheetah, elephant, hippos, rhinos, impala, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, monkeys, nyala, warthogs, crocodile, eagles, vultures, and many beautiful birds, bugs, and chameleons. This particular private reserve is 5,000 acres and so it it too small for lion - there are plenty of options though to see lion including the adjacent 60,000 Phinda game reserve. One bonus of going in early February is that they weren't very busy - many of our outings were private with our ranger going at our pace. Our ranger Rohan was fantastic. My wife and I truly believe that we had such an amazing experience because of his knowledge of the bush - he knew where the cheetah would be hanging out or where the elephants would be. Another bonus of early February is that all of the animals had just had babies. We saw mini-me's of all of the animals described above. The cheetah had 4 cubs, we saw baby rhino and baby hippos. The zebra and giraffe had babies - it was amazing. I know that this is not the busy time of year to go but we would highly recommend this time of year because seeing the animals with their new born offspring was very special. We are from the Boston, MA USA area and we did not think the weather was too hot. It was generally around 27c - 32c with the nights becoming quite comfortable. In fact, since the game runs are early am or late afternoon the temperatures were always a bit cooler than at the hottest point of the day. We had no rain at all.

The accommodations were very very good. We ended up staying at the Heritage Hotel section in the tent for all 6 nights. As others have said here, animals are right outside your doorstep and we rather liked this. The rooms were very comfortable and clean - bathrooms were very nice. Even though they call these tents, they are actually concrete structured buildings with tarp roofs and screen/mesh windows (no glass). Another reason for staying in the tents is that the game lodge is about 20 minutes away by car through the reserve and up unpaved hilly roads. Lots of rental cars make this trip all the time so it can be done, I just though you should know about this. One other thing, mosquitos weren't bad at all. We did apply some bug spray and had some wipes with us just in case - they just weren't an issue for us.

The food and service was wonderful. Again, because of when we were there many of our meals were prepared just for the two of us. For these meals we would be given a couple of food choices however they told us they would prepare whatever we wanted if those two options weren't acceptable. The staff at Zulu Nyala never made us feel like we were inconveniencing them as the only two guests. There were other people there on a couple of days and a couple of tour groups that passed through for dinners - on these nights buffet food would be put out which is more typical of what Zulu Nyala does. The food was always terrific and always local. We enjoyed this about South Africa - all of the food is locally grown. The fish is locally caught, we had lots of pineapple which you see growing across the land here, and other meats and vegetables are prepared locally. I ate a ton of food on this trip yet was able to maintain my weight! You will love the food at Zulu Nyala. The Manager Robert loves his job and this shows through his generous spirit and his hospitality.

We did a few daily excursions. Zulu Nyala can coordinate these for you and offer these as an added cost. Most all of these trips can be done for considerably less money on your own if you rent a car. We rented a car at Richard's Bay airport and drove to Zulu Nyala. We visited St. Lucia on two days (about an hour away), on the first we went to a beach there and went into the Indian Ocean for the first time - this water was very warm compared to the Atlantic Ocean that we later experienced in Cape Town. On our second trip to St. Lucia we did a boat tour at the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. We saw 100's of hippos along both sides of the estuary, again with their babies. We also saw eagles and crocodiles and many other birds in this area. This park is on the UNESCO world heritage list because of the diversity of ecosystems contained in one area. I wish we had more time to explore this area - you shouldn't miss it.

Much closer (about 20 - 30 minutes) to Zulu Nyala is the Emdomeni Lodge Animal Care and Rehab Centre. This is there "the cat project" is and where you are very likely to pet a cheetah (yes you read that right). The visit starts at 4:30 because that is the feeding time for the animals. We saw caracal, serval, cheetah, and african wild cat during our unforgettable visit.

Our last daily excursion was the Hluhluwe Park which was about a 40 minute drive from ZN. You basically drive your car through the park at your own pace. This park is stunning, especially if you drive all the way up to the hilltop camp for lunch and breathtaking views. Hluhluwe has the big five and so this is another option for lions (we didn't see them here).

We are already talking about going back to Zulu Nyala. The warmth of the staff and the knowledge of the rangers is so good that we just know that we will have an equally great time. This is one of the best vacations we have ever had.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent T5 and loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank DavidJack02474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a great time at Zulu Nyala. We also won the trip in a charity auction, and used it to celebrate our 20 wedding anniversary. We arrived just before the New Year and spent two nights at the Heritage Lodge Tented Camp which is not on the Reserve, but is about 15 mintes away. Tents are a great experience, We had Zebra greet us at our front door in the morning.

When we moved to the Game Lodge we had a poolside room that was great! The view is remarkable. We planned our trip on our own and had our own car for our use. Need to get used to driving on the Left, but I did not find it difficult. We did three trips while we were there, visiting the Cheetah Rehabilitation Center, the Elephant Experience and went to Hluhluwe/Umfolzi National Park, all three trips are worth the experience.

Our Safari rides were great including a trip to watch the sunset one night on the reserve. Staff is there to help and is very knowledgeable. We truly enjoyed our stay. We saw lots of animals, if you are looking for elephants, they only have three females. We added two nights at Tembe Elephant Park as part of our trip after Zulu Nyala and got to see plenty of them there.

I highly reccomend this trip, we had a great time and could not believe how quickly two weeks went by.

Room Tip: Try and get a room by the pool. Room #9 - #11 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lucymik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
5.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
205.4 mi away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#93 of 171 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing