We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the Game Lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Choose the Game Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

The Zulu Nyala Heritage was a bit of a disappointment for us, as we "won" it at a silent auction, and even though we paid far less than others (everyone we met had bought this trip at a fundraising silent auction), we still feel we overpaid for what our accommodation turned out to be. The best part of every day were the early morning and late afternoon game drives. We would give our guide, James, a perfect 5 star review. He was kind, patient, very knowledgeable, and always made sure we were well taken care of. He worked very hard to make sure we were able to see the animals we wanted to see, including the elusive nocturnal leopard. The Heritage property itself has a lot of deferred maintenance in the lodge rooms. The food is average buffet type food. Most employees were very kind and attentive. If you choose to stay in the tent cabins, as friends of ours did, ask for Tent Cabin #22. It was far and away the nicest, most upscale lodging on the property. Tent cabin #22 is situated at the far end of the property up against the reserve, and had zebras visiting nearby all the time. Please see also our review of the Game Lodge, a far nicer property.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    153
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
178
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

You will truly experience the magic of Africa at Zulu Nyala. They have zebras walking freely! The Zulu dancers and music are mesmerizing. The game drives are incredible and the drivers are very knowledgeable and will make sure you see every animal. There was an 8 foot python on the road and our driver and another driver got out and caught it with their bare hands so we could take pictures with it. The rooms and bathrooms are also very clean.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent the weekend in the Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge Tented camp.
Tents are spacious and clean with large full bathrooms.
The weekend was very windy so the tent noise took some getting used to.
We definitely missed having air conditioning in the tents over a very hot weekend
Food in the restaurant was plentiful with a local flavour – not 5 star but nice.
The reserve did not have a huge range of animals but we did have excellent sightings of Cheetah – a first for us in the wild.
Our guide was fairly knowledgeable and very competent.
The reception staff seemed to be a little untrained and relied on one lady to handle most of the guests.
In general the trip was very good value for money particularly when one considers the extortionate prices charge by adjacent resorts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KZNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Like most we went on this trip from a purchase at an auction. The accommodations were nice and the meals were good but what makes the trip is the game drives. You get fantastic guides who work very hard to make sure you have a wonderful time. James is the best but they were all great. The extra things to do like going to another Reserve Pinda, the Cheetah Rehabilitation, St. Lucia ( horseback riding in a Reserve), and to a village and school were great. I would stay here again and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sllowe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent New Year 2013 (2 nights) at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge. We had booked the "luxury" tents but on arrrival were told we had been allocated rooms. Initially we were disappointed as some other members of our party were already in the tents. We went to look at the rooms and were pleased to discover they were air conditioned where the tents only had a fan. With 32.5 C at 07:30 I am really pleased we had the rooms especially with a baby.

The rooms are very comfortable but I would suggest management check on cleaning and facilities. Our safe did not have a key and instructions were for a digital lock (we needed a key!). Also the hairdrier was not working and if it did the cord could not reach the plug (It was attached to the drawer of the dressing table.) There was a half eaten apple in the drawer as well. I had to request towels and complimentary toiletries and loo paper when we ran out.

The food was very good although the lunch time menu was limited and expensive for what was on offer. I was also disappointed with the fruit selection as this is pineapple/pawpaw/mango/litchie/banana country and these fruits were not on offer and they are cheap enough in the local area.

The grounds are lovely and well kept. The Hertiage Lodge is not in the game reserve. I found all the different pricings for game drives confusing and they were also expensive. We opted to drive through the Hluhluwe Game Reserve but unfortunately with all the rain and heat the animals were not easily spotted. A game drive through Zulu Nyala (which can only be done with their rangers) would have been better as they do controlled burning and so game is more easily visible.

New Years Eve dinner was great but the entertainment was appalling. The DJ hired was useless and apart from arranging some silly games there was no dancing resulting in us going back to our rooms to see the New Year in on our own.

This has the potential to be a very good Lodge - staff are very friendly and helpful (esp Pete from maintenance).

This is a relaxing place to visit. Apart from the swimming pool and the game reserves in the area there is not much else to do.

Room Tip: All room are on ground level. Some rooms have lovely lounge furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our stay at Zulu Nyala included 5 nights at the Game Lodge and one day at the Tents. I wrote a separate review of the drive to Zulu Nyala under a Game lodge and it wont let me add another one.

The rooms at the Game Lodge were fine. The three meals a day were plentiful and when we took a side trip during the day, we got a packed lunch to go.

We went in November and the weather varied from cold/rainy to mild to hot. The mild (sweatshirt/long sleeves) was the best for us. The cold/rainy was really cold during the morning/afternoon drive. You are given a heavy duty rain poncho, but it doesn't do much when you are in an open top jeep. The hot day would have been awesome if it weren't for bugs.

The drives were great and it does depend on your group and your driver. When you check in you are assign a ranger who is with you all week. he's the one to drive you to another attractions and to take you on the game drives in the morning (about 2 hr starting anytime from 6 -8am) and the afternoon (3:30-4pm). It seems groups stay assigned together during the week stay, but we weren't that fortunate. We had three different parties join us during the week.

We saw all the animals at the reserve, but we also paid to go to Phinda for a drive after we heard a group saw the Big Five in one drive. We weren't so lucky. We got closer to the animals at Zulu Nyala, but we did see two Zebra's fighting at the water hole which was pretty cool. It also seems that because Phinda is so much bigger and popular they tend to "squeeze in" ZuluNyala guests in when they have open space.

We switched to the tents for our last night. After we compared to another guests' tents our tent (number 6) was definitely much nicer and bigger than others. It has a sofa and a side table in front of the bed. The weather was great, but we heard it's a sleepless night during a windy weather. The eating area and the food was much nicer and bigger at the Game lodge. It definitely seems the Safari Lodge is oriented for the large groups, and we noticed small parties reserving tables where we never had an issue at the Game lodge.

We rented a car and drove to St.Lucia Estatuary (1.5 hrs), Hluhluwe National Park (30 min) and Cheetah Conservation (15 min).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bmd1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Evening meal was sub standard for R180 pperson. Feels like we being ripped. R800 for 2 adults and 2 kiddies. Come on guys. That's just for one meal. Don't bother, tents nice but sounds like we next to railway siding at night. Zebras nice, what I thought was a dam had building rubble in it. I think these guys are in it for money first, customer last.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew (Customer first) Cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
5.2 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
205.4 mi away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#90 of 171 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing