We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Little Piece of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bushwillow Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bushwillow Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Scottburgh, South Africa
1 review
“Little Piece of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

What a Beautiful place to spend a Romantic Getaway> We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary here and could not have chosen a better place to be. Jabu and Victoria spoilt us with world class breakfasts and dinners, arrival drinks, cheese and wine platter at the hide ... ( psssst that is a MUST!!!) tea, coffee and excellent service. The most relaxing setting with various antelope strolling by, giraffe nyala, duiker, warthog etc right outside our window. a most welcoming splash pool in the heat of the day. The Beautiful rooms with ' glass walls' allows for viewing pleasure while relaxing on the bed, glass of wine in hand.
The Peace and tranquillity that Bushwillow offers is perfect for the ideal getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazydaizy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear John & Lynette, So glad you had a memorable wedding anniversary! And happy to hear you enjoyed your private cheese & wine picnic at the hide :-). Sorry I did not meet you during your stay, but it seems that Julian, Jabu and Victoria looked after you well. I was battling the Winter weather in UK with my poorly Father. Hope to see you next time - 30th anniversary?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    42
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
178
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Bushwillow is a peaceful home from home kind of place, it has all the requirements of a well appointed bush retreat and we thoroughly enjoyed just sitting outside on a lovely deck listening to all the birds and insects. Animals roam accross the lawn in the early mornings and at sunset and one can just lay in bed and survey the bush at 180 degrees. Bushwillow is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Terri & family, We're pleased to hear you enjoyed a lazy Christmas at Bushwillow Lodge. You seemed to enjoy the lodge so much, that you had no real need to go out and do battle with the Christmas madness! I hope your batteries are well restored, and thanks for being perfect Christmas guests! Come again - we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at Bushwillow in mid September 2012 and spent a fantastic 4 days at the Lodge. Liz, Julian and Jabu made us feel very welcome and Jabu’s excellent home prepared breakfasts and dinners kept us well-fuelled to enjoy everything the local area has to offer. The peaceful tranquillity of the reserve was perfect for enjoying the daily warthog, giraffe or deer visits (they grazed close to our rooms regularly!) and there was excellent further viewing of zebra, deer and guinea fowl to be had on the well-marked guided walks on the Kuleni Reserve.

Liz suggested and arranged local outings for us, including a visit to Hluhlue Game Park – it was handy to be able to use local contacts.

We were very well looked after and enjoyed our stay in such excellent surroundings - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
I think this review must be from Chris Castles and family? ... I remember the photo that you have posted. Ah, thanks for the review, and thanks for pointing out that there is lots of game to be seen at Bushwillow Lodge. Giraffe through the bedrooms windows! We had some guests comment that we don't make it clear enough that we are in a game park. Your picture contribution is great, and helps make it clearer that we have game on our doorstep. Wishing you well for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Roughing it in excellence! We arrived at Bushwillow and were welcomed by Jabu who gave us a refreshing drink and helped us get our luggage to our beautiful room with wrap around glass so you can see every aspect of the view. This was our 2nd trip here and this time we took along our children ages 2 and 4. They had a wonderful time and lodge accommodated us all nicely. The meals were divine every night and the breakfasts were quite a spread.
Thanks everyone at Bushwillow.
The Penningtons

Room Tip: All are wonderful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanaflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi Shana and family, It was a pleasure to have you visit again together with your lovely 2 children. The blistering hot days were hopefully kept cooler with frequent dips in the pool? Hope to see you again for your 3rd visit sometime! Donovan & Siobhan say thanks for your kind gesture of a bottle of bubbly for their honeymoon! Wishing you well for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bushwillow Lodge for 3 nights in December 2012, and enjoyed it very much. The accommodation and food were excellent, and the location first class. Liz & Julian were very helpful in arranging activities, and we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Hi Andrew & Carol, Wow! Thanks for writing a review. You promised to write a review, but we didn't expect it to be on Christmas Day! That's dedication for you! It was great having you stay, and it was appreciated that you enjoyed the bird life that Bushwillow, and the area in general has to offer. Hope you got the picture we sent of you on the Hluhluwe River boat trip? The river is really full, butterflies are everywhere and we are looking forward to 2013. Warm wishes, and have a great year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. This place was amazing - so relaxing and quiet - the breakfasts and dinners were 5* - we were so well looked after and yet had the whole place to ourselves - it was a privallage to stay here and we'll definitely be back on our next travels to SA.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Dear Richard & Margaret, I had to rack my brains a little to remember one year ago when you came to Bushwillow for your honeymoon! THANKS for writing a review after such a long time - I imagine you were thinking about 'what you were doing this time last year'? Congratulations on your first anniversary, and we look forward to having you back again one day. Jabu and Victoria are still stars and say 'hi'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

A most wonderful 4 days. Main lodge and accommodation is in 1st class condition,clean and stylish with a kitchen equipped well enough for a chefs contest (the plunge-pool is a winner in the hot Natal summer). Julian & Liz run a great establishment and all facilities make it the perfect place for families(2) and more romantic getaways. The assistants, Jabu & Vicky, are super friendly and efficient and operate like ghosts - you don't know they are there until they enquire to see if you need any assistance. Bushwillow is ideally situated midway between Sodwana and St Lucia with the Hluhluwe park close by, making for great bush & surf alternatives for the Kids. Unfortunately 4 days wasn't sufficient to also visit the False Bay area - will be back for that. One incident however: being stared at by a giraffe whilst in the bath - poor giraffe, hope it recovers......

Highly reccommended!

Francien, James & 2 happy kids from Pretoria, RSA

Room Tip: All rooms are equally superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancienG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Hi Francien, James & family - thank you for the kind comments. Yes, a pity you missed False Bay Park, but it seems you had an action packed visit - False Bay lake is now FULL after the Spring rains and looks just amazing! Good excuse to come back again. The giraffe seem to have survived, so no worries there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
11.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
9.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
20.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#9 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwillow Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwillow Collection

Property: Bushwillow Collection
Address: PO Box 693 | Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Bushwillow Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushwillow Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Quirky or Cosy! Choose between self-catering, dinner bed & breakfast or all inclusive packages. Bushwillow Collection offers 3 totally different accommodation style options to suit your mood and we strive to provide a very personalised service, and we pride ourselves on this. Stay at our LODGE with warm wooden floors, reed ceilings and muted colours for a feeling of serenity and oneness with nature, together with good, honest home cooking. Meet fellow travellers at the central lodge area with pool deck and share adventures. Choose one of our BOUTIQUE self-catering chalets with private pool and quirky design and let the bright and cheerful colour schemes lift your spirit whilst still allowing nature to bring balance. Ask nicely, and we can bring you breakfast... or try an evening meal at our lodge one evening, subject to availability. Retreat to our self-catering COTTAGE with thatched roof set under tall and rare Lebombo Wattles for a cosy and relaxing escape. Relax in the spa bath on the outside deck and listen to the sounds of the African night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bushwillow Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwillow Collection Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing