We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bushwillow Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Well situated in Kuleni Game Park. A tranquil park and the lodge was as quiet and relaxed. Small scale lodge and with great hospitality and where the guests are really guests. Dinner was very nice and well prepared. Staff was very friendly and service oriented. Rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. Victoria and Jabu do their utmost to make the guests feel comfortable.
Stepping out of our room onto a well marked trail we embarked on an early morning walk, where we immediately stumbled on a group of giraffes.
Time for relaxation.
We will certainly try to return! Keep this standard please!
Dominic, Karin , Hans, Freek Terberg, July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana, Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dominic & Karin
It was nice to meet you and your family! It was so much fun to be your hostess. You have a beautiful family! I’m glad we met your standards and that you were happy! The Giraffes are very special to see on foot! I hope you enjoyed Emdoneni and the rest of your trip and that Hans and Freek got back safely. I remember you said your other son is coming to visit in October so we hope to see you back. We have to go for a pineapple tour! Keep well, Regards Jana Beets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have just recently returned and still in relaxed mode from the gorgeous Bushwillow Lodge. From the moment we arrived you could tell this was a special place and we were never dissapointed the entire time. The highlight is the delicious homecooked meals prepared daily by Jabu and Victoria. Waking up to an unspoilt view of the bush and being welcomed by a family of giraffe right outside our room was just amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaStonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana, Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Linda & Rodger, It was so nice having you two at the lodge with us, it is such a pleasure to work in this environment and see that other people share a passion for nature. I hope Rodger enjoyed his birthday and that we will see you two back soon! From sunny Hluhluwe, Jana Beets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Bushwillow was undoubtedly the highlight of a great KZN trip. We knew the moment we walked in that this place was a gem, and promptly cancelled our next day's plans to fully appreciate this magical destination. What a place to unwind, whether taking a stroll through the forest, lazing on the deck, watching the wildlife or enjoying the books/CDs provided. We missed the giraffes but found some enchanting glow-worms to make up for it, and stunning birds, plus our little warthog family each morning. Thank you to Victoria and Jabu for looking after us so well, already planning our next trip there, back to a real treasure in the KZN bush.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Andrew, Lorraine & family... well, we did not see much of you since you stayed on a self-catering basis, and we tend to leave self-catering guest to their own devices, unless help is required in arranging activities. So pleased you enjoyed just staying around the lodge and savouring all that it has to offer. Bushwillow Lodge really is a great place for families wanting a place all to themselves. Greetings to Cape Town, and hope to see you or your Capetonian friends some time in the future. Regards, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was one of the best stay i have had in a long time. Rooms were lovely, food was out of this world Jabu spoilt us with her fantastic display of food. We were fortunate to have the Giraffe come by our room early in the morning it was fantastic. Peaceful very relaxing just what we wanted. Will definately go back again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana, Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Raymond and Loise, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary at Bushwillow Lodge; best place to get spoiled by Jabu and Victoria! The Giraffe are beautiful, glad you got to see them. We most definitely hope that you will return soon. Thanks for the lovely review. Hope all is well in Durban, Regards Jana Beets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a relaxing stay at Bushwillow. The lodge is luxurious and comfortable.The birding really is excellent and we saw a number of new birds. Loved the squirrels and listening to the bush babies cry in the evening. We had some lovely walks and enjoyed the curious giraffe and the troop of cute banded mongooses that crossed our path. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Tambotie room is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thebushbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana, Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Sooooo glad that you had a good time and had the chance to relax and enjoy nature at its best!! Pietermaritzburg is not far so we hope that we see you back for another visit. It makes me so happy to hear that guest don’t want to leave! Good luck with everything forward. Best wishes, Jana Beets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

What a piece of heaven. It was like being in the bush with all the little luxuries. From the moment of arrival you new you were going to be made to feel special when you were greeted with a welcoming drink at the entrance. The care and attention to all the little things was amazing and made you feel like you were the most valued guest. There was not one thing that I could find fault with. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but even then by the time we left it felt like it had been longer. The accommodation was immaculate and the breakfast was exceptional. The only problem you had was trying to identify what animal was running across the deck at night ( An awesome feeling of being part of the nature). On our arrival on the way to the lodge we had to stop for the giraffe to move out the road. Closer than was got to them in the reserve. On the morning of our departure we were greeted by one of the establishments team to ask how our stay was and if they could help with planning any of our activities, this type of personal touch can make a huge difference to your stay in a strange area. All in all I would highly recommend you stay at bushwillow lodge. You know the stay was memorable when you just don’t want to leave. I have every intention of making this establishment one that I will return to on a regular basis and definitely for a lot longer period.
A great thank you for a wonderful stay to the whole team.
Cheryl and Liz Smith
18 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Cheryl & Liz - Wow, thank you for such a glowing report! I am sorry I did not meet you, but happy that you met Jana (our recently employed guest host) and that you were pleased with her attention. Yes, it will be lovely to have you back some other time, and hopefully you will be able to spend longer in the park with all that it has to offer, and I will meet you next time! The sun still shines in Hluhluwe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We just came home from a 5 day stay at Bushwillow lodge and what a great stay it was! The dinners was really good, service great and the atmosphere excellent! It's a great place to kick back and relax, read and go on walks and look for wild life. The family of warthogs living under the main house deck was really cute and the animals grazing in front of the house really adds to the 'in the bush' experience. We both feel that once you're there you realize that there's more to Bushwillow lodge than meets the eye therefore it was worth every cent! Thanks Liz, Julian, Jabu and Victoria.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hi Lelanie & Kobus, Soooo glad you had chance to relax, what with such busy lives you have as doctors and info tech specialists. It is super when guests come with no expectations and are happy to just kick back and relax at the lodge and not necessarily feel that they have to be out sightseeing every day. Oh, and thanks helping out one of our guests - it's not always we can have a "Dr on Call" like that! Much appreciated. Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
9.5 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
136 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mkuze
380 reviews
14.5 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwillow Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwillow Collection

Address: PO Box 693 | Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Bushwillow Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £96 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushwillow Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Quirky or Cosy! Choose between self-catering, dinner bed & breakfast or all inclusive packages. Bushwillow Collection offers 3 totally different accommodation style options to suit your mood and we strive to provide a very personalised service, and we pride ourselves on this. Stay at our LODGE with warm wooden floors, reed ceilings and muted colours for a feeling of serenity and oneness with nature, together with good, honest home cooking. Meet fellow travellers at the central lodge area with pool deck and share adventures. Choose one of our BOUTIQUE self-catering chalets with private pool and quirky design and let the bright and cheerful colour schemes lift your spirit whilst still allowing nature to bring balance. Ask nicely, and we can bring you breakfast... or try an evening meal at our lodge one evening, subject to availability. Retreat to our self-catering COTTAGE with thatched roof set under tall and rare Lebombo Wattles for a cosy and relaxing escape. Relax in the spa bath on the outside deck and listen to the sounds of the African night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Bushwillow Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwillow Collection Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing