We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bushwillow Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at Bushwillow Lodge. The excellent level of service, food and hospitality provided by the staff (Jana, Victoria and Jabu) is a match for any establishment I have stayed over a number of years of travelling throughout South Africa. The setting of the lodge is ideal for those seeking complete tranquillity immersed in and surrounded by nature. Ideally located for both exploring the coastal region and nearby Hluhluwe Game Reserve. A memorable place to stay and one which I shall be revisiting when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Andrew and Amber, How nice to hear from you again! Thanks for the lovely review. It was such a pleasure hosting you two and amazing to see that Amber was so interested in Nature. I hope the information on crocodiles helped and that she learned something. Please find your way back to Bushwillow and bring the rest of the family with. See you soon, Regards, Jana Beets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    43
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
192
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Bushwillow for four nights and enjoyed every minute. Set in a private game reserve Bushwillow is a absolute must if you want good accommodation, food and hospitality. The meals are first class and the staff, Jana, Jabu, Victoria and Nothile cater for your every need with nothing being a problem, so we give a special thanks to them. We enjoyed a bird walk with Jana who is very knowledgeable and she will also advise you on things to do in the area. We enjoyed the walking trails on the property which are very well sign posted and great for observing the wildlife. We will certainly be returning to Bushwillow. Thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosthom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Chris and Rosey, Thanks for the lovely review! It’s good to hear from you again. I hope the rest of your trip around KZN was great and that you enjoyed it? Good luck with everything we spoke about. We at Bushwillow will be holding thumbs and wish to have you back soon. Thanks for the compliment, nature is definitely my passion and I enjoy sharing it with other people, and thanks for being such lovely guests! Regards, Jana Beets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool,
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Bushwillow with their "choose what suits package". Liz was very helpful in tailoring the holiday to our wishes. We found the bird walk with Jana very enjoyable. She shared her knowledge of the local flora and fauna and could identify birds by their calls so we knew what we were looking for.
We stayed at Bushwillow 3 years ago and found the high standards are maintained and the food is as delicious as ever. The quality of service and attention to detail make this a truly memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both lodges and they are equally luxurious and well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Jen and Vic, It was lovely to have you back at Bushwillow, although I wasn’t working at Bushwillow at that time. It was a pleasure seeing Liz, Jabu and Victoria recognise you. I was so excited to hear you are keen birders and enjoyed my walk with you too. I hope that in the future you will find your way back to us again, as we still have a lot of birding to do!! You will have to come for longer. (Ps.The Pels fish owl is back in the fig forest so that’s our next walk) Good luck with everything. Regards, Jana Beets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only spent 2 nights and 3 days at Bushwillow Lodge, but what a wonderful time we had. The setting is fantastic. Waking up in the morning to see Nyala wandering around outside the lodge and spotting warthogs and red duiker from the breakfast table was a wonderful experience. The service is first class and we were made to feel very special by Jabu, Victoria and Jana. They all go out of their way to accommodate requests and to make your stay at Bushwillow a truely memorable occasion.

The setting is really amazing. One really feel right amongst it all in the wild. There are many little walking paths you could do to spot game. It was also very easy to arrange a game drive through the lodge and they really made our day very special.

I can't recommend Bushwillow Lodge highly enough. It is ideally situated for a vast number of activities and we will most certainly be darkening their doorstep again in future.

Cyril and Michelle

Room Tip: We stayed at Tambotie. There is one other lodge that has 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cyril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Cyril and Michelle, Thanks so much for the lovely review. I am so happy that Michelle got to see Lions and have the photos to prove it; what a nice sighting it was. After all that’s what she came to see. We are looking forward to see you back at Bushwillow to spoil you once again.
It was a pleasure meeting you both. Best wishes, Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great experience to see the wild right in your own backyard. It was so exhilarating to be in close proximity to giraffes, warthogs, nyalas etc. We were also spoiled by the kindness of staff. Lodge manager Jana briefed us daily and recommended wonderful day excursions for us. Victoria prepared hearty breakfast and dinner for us. We had a fantastic time at Bushwillow Lodge and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hi Anna & family, Thanks for the review and sending the photos to us. Our 1,000 group of guests! I see you put the photo of the breeding herd Elephants on? What a great experience you had! I’m glad you enjoyed the stay at Bushwillow. We hope to see you back to hear what the rest of your trip was like; you still had a great journey ahead. I’m glad my recommendations helped. We wish you and your family all the best. Best wishes, Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Illovo, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Bushwillow was just perfect for our family get away.The lodge was spotless and every fine detail has been thought through to make the experince first class. The staff very polite and helpful. There was space for the boys to run around, no dangerous game to worry about. Had a lovely walk around the reserve and got very close to sleeping giraffe and other game. Well done Liz & Julian on a great place. Only one complaint, we couldnt stay long enough......ha ha.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have a great view of the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliKarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Owner at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you Ali and family for your review. Bushwillow is a great place for a self-catering family getaway. So, happy you enjoyed it despite the windy weather! And thank you for inviting us over to share your excellent braai and hear your many stories. Warm wishes, Liz & Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

had a lovely 2 day stay in bushwillow great welcome fantastic food and the lodges are just super in a great location.we als got some great advice from jana about area and trips would definitely use again,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionarobinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushwillow_Lodge, Jana_Guest Hostess at Bushwillow Collection, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Fiona and family, I am so glad my advise was helpful! It's always nice to have a birthday girl staying with us so we can make the day extra special for you. We enjoy spoiling our guests.I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. One day when you return to Bushwillow I would love to hear what you thought of Cape Vidal? I hope the trip back to South Africa was what you expected and that Peter and the kids enjoyed it. Keep well. Regards, Jana Beets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
9.5 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
11.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mkuze
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
20.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwillow Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwillow Collection

Property: Bushwillow Collection
Address: PO Box 693 | Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa (Formerly Bushwillow Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushwillow Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Quirky or Cosy! Choose between self-catering, dinner bed & breakfast or all inclusive packages. Bushwillow Collection offers 3 totally different accommodation style options to suit your mood and we strive to provide a very personalised service, and we pride ourselves on this. Stay at our LODGE with warm wooden floors, reed ceilings and muted colours for a feeling of serenity and oneness with nature, together with good, honest home cooking. Meet fellow travellers at the central lodge area with pool deck and share adventures. Choose one of our BOUTIQUE self-catering chalets with private pool and quirky design and let the bright and cheerful colour schemes lift your spirit whilst still allowing nature to bring balance. Ask nicely, and we can bring you breakfast... or try an evening meal at our lodge one evening, subject to availability. Retreat to our self-catering COTTAGE with thatched roof set under tall and rare Lebombo Wattles for a cosy and relaxing escape. Relax in the spa bath on the outside deck and listen to the sounds of the African night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bushwillow Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwillow Collection Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing