We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place”
Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It takes a while to get there (dirt road, but very doable with a normal car), but it's worth it! The staff welcomed us and immediately showed us around and offered something to drink. We had our own tent and could camp in their beautiful garden with trees and lovely horses roaming around. There are no ablutions for the campsite, but we could use the bathroom of one of the rooms, which was perfect for us. You can book dinner there (with vegetarian option) but there is also a nice self-catering kitchen with a fridge and a microwave and everything. We visited the Emdoneni Cat Rehabilitation Center and the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Park. We also enjoyed the Zulu dance performed by the staff one evening. And special thanx because we could watch the important Croatia-Belgium football match in the bar (and luckily Belgium won and is going to Brazil! :-))

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cuypema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Wildebees Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Quaint lodge in the bush. Value for money for the low budget traveller. We got an upgrade to lager rooms because the lodge was fairly empty. Both the dinner and breakfast was reasonably good. The signs to find the lodge was very poor and difficult to find because of it's off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this lodge because the photos showed the character of the place and the price was affordable.Upon check in we were greeted by a very friendly staff as well as the owners of the lodge and taken to our room. We booked in the family cottage and on entry found a beautiful arrangement of flowers on the bed spelling out "enjoy your stay" . It was such a nice touch we loved it.
They soon prepared dinner for us and served up on the patio with a fire in the pit and candle light. Because it was the off season we were the only ones there and had our own private dinner under the stars. The food was amazing and the service just as good. Before heading off to our cottage we were told there was a Leopard seen on the night camera on the property and not to do any night or early morning bush walks, how exciting!
After a good nights rest my husband was in the bathroom shaving and looked out the window to find himself eye to eye with a Nyla buck looking through the window. We all rushed to see it and had another nice visit from the monkeys playing with their babies. We went for a nice morning bush walk then headed for breakfast. I cannot say I left feeling hungry.
We loved our stay, it is not a flash hotel but rather a true African feel with lovely staff always there to help.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We weren't quite sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and helpful. "Nelson" the resident cat made us feel at home! Accommodation is rather rustic but very clean and comfortable. Sitting around the fire in the Boma while waiting for dinner to be served was quite special. Breakfasts and dinners were tasty and of very good quality. The Zulu dancing show organised by the staff members the night before we left was memorable and was a lovely way of ending our stay in Zululand.
Apart from evening bush walks with a local guide, no other excursions are offered on Wildebees Ecolodge's premises. However, their staff members gladly assist guests in making bookings on excursions which are on offer in and around Hluhluwe, Mkuze and St Lucia/Cape Vidal. Definitely worth a visit. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful place, tropical garden with scattered simple huts, a bar/restaurant and little pool. We had the family house, lovely prepared with flowers all over. Tours offered are expensive compared to the place itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirkjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This turned out to be an excellent base for touring the area around Hluhluwe. The chalets are very comfortable and management makes efforts with small touches (eg flowers on the beds) to raise the standard beyond what might be expected in this price range. The young staff team was excellent – welcoming, efficient and helpful. Although we made good use of the self-catering facilities, we did try the restaurant. Dinner was beautifully set out with a fire nearby to keep us warm on a cool night. The food was okay, nothing more. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozEcoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent place, very friendly staff, we had a great stay! Highly recommended! We rented a car at the airport of Durban. It was a 3 hour drive. The Hluhluwe safaripark was a great experience. Also other parks were nearby and very nice to visit, e.g. a boat tour in st Lucia.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
5.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
4.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
7.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 32 in Hluhluwe
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Forest Lodge
Sand Forest Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Address: False Bay Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £40 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebees Ecolodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing