We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
63
67
18
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
67
18
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeself catering kitchenhluhluwe game reservelush vegetationfalse bayfriendly hostsluciaaccommodationafricanaturecottagegeneratordrivebomarangeranimals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

No warm welcome.
Concrete bed and furniture! Roof leaks on the bed. No possibility to change. Poorly decorated lodge. Frogs in the room. And lots of them outside.
Shower not clean. Got sick after breakfast.
Service without a smile.




  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Bart,

Firstly my sincere apologies, I can assure you that this is not the standard we like to offer. Unfortunately we have not been made aware you have experienced the mentioned issues during your stay, we therefore were unable to solve the problems you experienced. Only the leaking roof was reported to our reception staff the moment you checked out.

Due to the extreme rainfall just before and during your stay the roof was damaged, hence the leak. It has been fixed the next day when we were informed about the leaking roof.

We are situated in the African Bush, this can sometimes results in frogs ending up in a room. Although we take measures to prevent this we can not guarantee that it will happen again.

The service you experienced is unacceptable, I can assure you that it is just as unacceptable to me as it is to you. I have taken measures and spoke to all involved.

I do appreciate your comments, it gives me the opportunity to prevent most of the problems experienced in the future and to offer our customers a good service whilst staying a value for money accommodation provider.


Best regards,
Martijn Verbeek
Managing Director
Wildebees ecolodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Please don´t miss the night dinner and ask for the beef. The best in the world.

Clean rooms and friendly staff, hot water, drinking water available in the room and a nice bar with cold beer and wine (small nice luxuries given the location).

35min drive to the park entrance. Staff at the hotel can arrange tours with game rangers starting at another nearby hotel.

Beware of night and early morning close encounters with animals :)

Do not book St. Lucia´s croc and hippo cruises here. You will find them much cheaper directly in St. Lucia town.

All in all an OK place to stay when visiting the absolutely marvelous Hluhluwe Park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entroscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Value for money in the ecolodge. Nice setting in the middle of the bush (a dirt road leading to the lodge), They have a restaurant on side with good food. excellent advicers working at the bar. The lodge is not so close to St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We thought this was budget luxury on a small game farm conveniently located from both St. Lucia and Hluhluwe Reserve. Although service and food were excellent, and the area was kept as clean as possible, it was NOT luxurious. It was not as convenient as we thought: 40 min fast drive to Memorial Gate of Hluhluwe; 70 min to city limits of St. Lucia. There was really nothing for our children to do on site: the pool was so dirty as to be unswimmable on the first day, we were not allowed to go for walks because of a leopard warning, there was no play structure anywhere, and our chalets were facing our neighbours who were not more than 20m away, so any noise our children made was immediately apparent to everyone. It amounted for a stressful stay for us as parents. However, I must highlight that the staff were extremely friendly, the food was great, the accommodations were as clean as nature would allow, and I was impressed by the owner's offer for us to use his private pool when we couldn't use the lodge's pool. We left thinking that the right kind of people with realistic expectations could be very happy there: we just weren't those people and we had expected more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a great stay at Wildebees Ecolodge, the staff was great! And especially the environment at the lodge and the things to do in the area are excellent! Diving, game drive, the beach, shopping mall, zulu croc reptile park, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anouk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews