We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet”
Review of Wildebees Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildebees Ecolodge
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages. The cottage is nice and clean. Surrounded by trees and all kind of plants it give you the idea of living in the jungle. Good restaurantfood and breakfast. There is a small swimmingpool and a bar. Nice tracks to walk on the property. Owners and staff very friendly and helpfull. They can arrange all kinds of gamedrives for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ascha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Tucked away in the bush, it is a really lovely setting. Conveniently close to other places of interest and en route to game reserves. The staff were warm and friendly, the food was great, all in all it was good value for money. We will be back.




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived to a wonderful fireside meal and were treated like Kings. The setting, under the canopy of the sand forest, is wonderful and everyone is so very out of the way friendly and welcoming. The rooms beautiful and a self catering kitchen is available and spotless. In the morning I ran along the nature trails and then cooled down by the pool before traveling the short distance to False Bay KZN park for lunch. Forget St. Lucia or the more expensive bush lodges nearby this place beats them all.
Bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobSpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for your compliments. It does us good to hear your had a great experience with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you!
Martijn Verbeek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Loved staying here, the hosts are absolutely fabulous, making you feel at home, the food is to die for and the atmosphere is unbeatable. The cottages are spacious, comfortable and homely, I recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Dawn,

Our gratitude for your compliments. Please do not hesitate to visit us again should you stay in the beautiful Hluhluwe area. We appreciate your comments, I have forwarded your compliments to the staff that were on duty the day you stayed with us.

Thank you again!
Warm regards,
Martijn Verbeek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

cabins are cleaned well and staff are friendly to help you , even will cook for u :), cabins are kept neat every day , except there a few bugs that do get in however doom coil solves that problem. pool was clean , maybe just add a more entertainment for guess would be added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Lavin,

First of all thank you again for visiting us. I believe you had a great time with your friends. It is our job to make your stay as comfortable as possible, It's good to hear that we succeeded in giving you the experience we would like to give our customers.

We hope to meet you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Martijn Verbeek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

No warm welcome.
Concrete bed and furniture! Roof leaks on the bed. No possibility to change. Poorly decorated lodge. Frogs in the room. And lots of them outside.
Shower not clean. Got sick after breakfast.
Service without a smile.




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Bart,

Firstly my sincere apologies, I can assure you that this is not the standard we like to offer. Unfortunately we have not been made aware you have experienced the mentioned issues during your stay, we therefore were unable to solve the problems you experienced. Only the leaking roof was reported to our reception staff the moment you checked out.

Due to the extreme rainfall just before and during your stay the roof was damaged, hence the leak. It has been fixed the next day when we were informed about the leaking roof.

We are situated in the African Bush, this can sometimes results in frogs ending up in a room. Although we take measures to prevent this we can not guarantee that it will happen again.

The service you experienced is unacceptable, I can assure you that it is just as unacceptable to me as it is to you. I have taken measures and spoke to all involved.

I do appreciate your comments, it gives me the opportunity to prevent most of the problems experienced in the future and to offer our customers a good service whilst staying a value for money accommodation provider.


Best regards,
Martijn Verbeek
Managing Director
Wildebees ecolodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Please don´t miss the night dinner and ask for the beef. The best in the world.

Clean rooms and friendly staff, hot water, drinking water available in the room and a nice bar with cold beer and wine (small nice luxuries given the location).

35min drive to the park entrance. Staff at the hotel can arrange tours with game rangers starting at another nearby hotel.

Beware of night and early morning close encounters with animals :)

Do not book St. Lucia´s croc and hippo cruises here. You will find them much cheaper directly in St. Lucia town.

All in all an OK place to stay when visiting the absolutely marvelous Hluhluwe Park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank entroscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
4.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
5.9 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 32 in Hluhluwe
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
7.8 mi away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 mi away
Sand Forest Lodge
Sand Forest Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebees Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Property: Wildebees Ecolodge
Address: False Bay Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebees Ecolodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing