We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Days in Game Park & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falaza Game Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Basle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 Days in Game Park & Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we were living in a Tent. Location/Tent was very comfortable and clean. Service was nearly perfect. There should be more change in Dinner Menues, but the quality is very good. People there are very friendly, Ranger is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    84
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
123
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great time sleeping in fancy tents. The food was good and the facilities clean. No complaints at all.

Friendly staff like SK. We did however put a special request in to have our eggs fried in butter rather than oil. The eggs came fried in oil, when we sent them back they looked like they had been fried a second time in butter? Game at the Falaza game reserve was scarce at this time, only impala and giraffe. Liam was a great guide and made the trip interesting by sharing many stories!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this one by friends and since we wanted to see animals, we booked two days there. There's no denying that the premises are well looked after and certainly impressive looking if a little bare with a tiny pool (though we did not try it, the spa is supposedly well worth a visit). After all, one is there for the animals and many of them come real close to the lodge and we saw a number of antelopes, warthogs and even buffaloes only a few hundred yards away. Some come even closer sadly, and inside the tent. That particular one, no 11, saw us battling with a scorpion in the shower and a rather big spider on that same day. A closer inspection revealed a gap between the layers (we are talking tented accommodation here) where anything could crawl in... We were then offered to move to tent 2, which was perfectly safe, if a little less charming. Nods to a bygone era abound everywhere, with furniture to boot. The staff is lovely and the ranger who accompanied us to the game park did a fantastic job. Altogether a pleasant experience that we would recommend again...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a great place to go on honeymoon!
We felt like we were in another world!
The restuarant and spa treatments were fantastic.
The luxury tents are really beautiful, very unique!
Everything about our expreience was great!
LOVED the Rhino's :)

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrilee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We travelled to Falaza with our 10 year old daughter. We heartily recommend it. The daily game drives were done by a very skilled and committed naturalist (one of the best we had on our entire trip to Africa), the resort staff were exceptional, and the food was lovely. The tented cabins were very luxurious with the outside shower and tub option along with the inside shower. Beds were very comfy, and we had lots of space even with the twin bed they added for our daughter. If you don't want the huge park resort gig, this is a lovely alternative. Would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed a game drive and a boat cruise. No rhinos, but I was thrilled to spot a crocodile before Richard, our excellent guide! He saw the next one, and a lot more wildlife besides. His knowledge of the bird life was amazing, and as the route to the lake passes through the reserve we had a bonus game drive to the one we did with Gavin. Not a huge variety of animals; we were glad to have driven the whole length of Hluhluwe -Imfolozi Park the day before. The tents are fine, the outside bath and shower (there is an inside shower as well) was most unusual. Meals very good and served in a friendly, easy manner. We felt the place was ticking over - no evidence of senior, managerial staff showing their faces, which we have encountered everywhere else from the Protea President in Cape Town to Granny Mouse's Country House (Balgowan, Natal.) Also, we hoped to meet more monkeys!

Room Tip: Long walk to higher numbered rooms; rather an adventure finding your way, although paths lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

They have given their rhinos away so it was disappointing and we did our activities in Hluhluwe instead. The food was very good and our luxury tent was fun. It was cold at night so we asked for a heater which worked very well. We were very pleased with our stay there for 2 nights. a lot of vervet monkeys visited the balcony of our granddaughters tent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
8.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
6.2 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
22.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falaza Game Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falaza Game Park & Spa

Property: Falaza Game Park & Spa
Address: Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Falaza Game Park & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falaza is a luxury tented safari lodge, located 3 hours north of Durban and neighboring the St Lucia Wetlands World Heritage Site and the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve. Falaza is set on an 800 hectare game reserve comprising primordial sand forests. Safaris can be undertaken on foot or game viewing vehicle, or by boat on the Mzinene River. Game drives can also be arranged into the nearby Big Five Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Falaza Game Park & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falaza Game Park Hotel Hluhluwe
Falaza Game Park And Spa
Falaza Game Park & Spa Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing