We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay very much!”
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had a great time at Malala Lodge!

The lodge is run by Pete, Jane and Paul Harvey in a nice and quiet area nearby the Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game reserve (the park that saved the White Rhinoceros from extinction).

It is a 25 min drive from the lodge to the reserve. Be prepared to see impala, zebra, gekko's and vervet monkeys on your porch and then you're not even in the park!

I'm usually not fond of dinners included in the stay, but the dinners prepared by Jane and Paul were very good. I really enjoyed the food there accompanied by a great bottle of wine. Just as nice as eating at my mum's and my mum is an excellent cook. True!

The game drive with Pete was great, we think that Pete should be the next narrator of BBC Life, seriously. If you're interested in wildlife: just ask Pete on the drive. He's a walking wiki- and encyclopedia. I also enjoyed the afternoon drinks very much, sitting at the bar with the other guests and either Pete or Paul. Talking about all sorts of subjects (not only wildlife).

The family is very friendly and hospitable and we really appreciated the British humor and "correct" way of making guests have a perfect stay at the lodge.

Friends of ours are visiting SA in June and we have strongly advised them to stay a couple of days at Malala! We ourselves would definitely go there again!

Dennis & Jenny, March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisvanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

It was our second trip to South Africa and we more or less by accident came across Malala Lodge. We stayed 4 nights and - as we arrived on New Years Day - booked dinner for the first day. It was a marvelous experience and we instantly decided to have dinner at the lodge every night. We enjoyed the lodges hidden away from other guests and the well furnished, clean and accurately serviced rooms. We accepted the offer to have a game drive in Hluhluwe reserve with Pete and it was an amazing experience. Pete seems to know everything about every animal and above all surprised us with a picnic at a scenic location above the Hluhluwe river. We very much liked the heartily atmosphere and our conversations with Jane which made us feel like part of the family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent really wonderful time at Malala Lodge enjoying relaxing and friendly atmosphere, great homemade meals and great location for safari's trip - we enjoyed the most trip with Pete to Umfolozi. We recommend staying in Malala Lodge and we hope to come back someday to meet again Jane, Pete and Paul.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlawekKPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Loved the stay. Lodges are situated in the forest, hidden away from other guests. Rooms were clean, well furnished and serviced daily. We went for the self-catering option and all basic utensils were provided ,including a big fridge. Lodge is ideally situated for day visits to all the major attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked the three night safari special at Malala Lodge based on the recommendations on TripAdvisor and were more than satisfied. The lodge is a little gem in a bush setting, everything is very well taken care for and lovingly decorated. The food is home cooked and excellent - especially for vegetarians, who will love the many varieties of vegetables that are served. Well done!The gamedrive was wonderful with a nice surprise en route, and Pauls advice and help with further travel plans was truly outstanding. We absolutely recommend staying at Malala Lodge and will definetly be back ourselves!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I was our first trip to South Africa. Arriving from Durban, we stayed three nights at Malala lodge. We have really appreciated the safari trip with Pete to the Umfolozi Park where we saw our first male elefant and lots of other game. Besides the wonderful food, we appreciated the personal contacts with Jane.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Pete, Jane and Paul were wonderful hosts, making us feel like part of the family. The food was outstanding, the chalets comfortable and the whole experience wonderful. I would definitely recommend Malala Lodge to local and overseas visitors, the 3 night safari special is truly special!!! Although it rained most of the time, we visited the nearby Cheetah Rehab Centre, went for a barge ride on the St. Lucia Wetlands, and had an exciting game drive with Pete through a torrential thunderstorm during which we spotted 37 rhinos! And to top it all, a leopard not even 20 meters in front of us in the middle of the road! Nothing could ever beat that... A memorable stay for my elderly parents before they emigrate back to Germany!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
6.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
19.5 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 33 in Hluhluwe
161 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience. Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge. Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker. In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species. The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool. Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room: - Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and - Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee. Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest. Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room. Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises: - Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. - A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing. - Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4. - A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5. All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided. We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants. Other activities include: - Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching. - Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves. - Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malala Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing