We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run game reserve”
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Thanks so much to Peter, Jane and Paul for making our stay a wonderful one. We were there for 3 nights at the start of our first ever trip to Kwazulu Natal. On arrival we were welcomed by Jane who showed us to our cosy lodge with it's own BBQ tucked away in the bush.
We unpacked then went for a trek through the reserve. How exciting to almost immediately see the zebras, impala and nyala. After our walk we had a quick dip and relaxed around the pretty swimming pool before meeting the other guests in the bar for pre-dinner drinks.
Dinner was lovely home cooking and made all the more enjoyable by Jane and Paul coming out for a chat as we were eating, both of whom are so knowledgeable on the wildlife of the area.
The following morning my husband went for a jog and once again came across all the animals and even saw the cheetahs on the next door reserve.
We had pre-booked a game drive to the Hluhluwe reserve with Peter for the afternoon so we drove and met him at the entrance with the other guests from the lodge. What a brilliant afternoon; Peter could answer any question we posed and he was superb at spotting interesting things for us to see.
We arrived back at our lodge in the dark to be greeted by the zebras and to find that Paul had left a sack of charcoal, firelighters and matches on our doorstep as we had told him we were barbecuing that evening. Self catering is a good option if you don't want to eat in the restaurant all the time; breakfast on your own terrace, listening to birds and animals is wonderful.
Next day we chose to drive ourselves through the Imfolozi reserve nearby and as we had planned to spend the whole day there we once again had a meal in the restaurant. Our exciting sighting of the endangered wild dogs was topped off by another lovely meal and a great end to our 3 day stay.
Malala was all we had wished for and more. Thanks again.

Room Tip: All lodges are private and enclosed in the bush
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraysDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Malala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

Thanks to Peter, Jane and Paul, the wonderful hosts of the lodge. Excellent home cooked meals served. Paul has extensive knowlegde on the game drives. The lodge's are very neat & comfortable. Malala Lodge is defintely a place to stay over for a safari visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

In August 2012 we stayed on the lodge for four days. It was one of the highlights of our trip through Afrika. On the property you can walk arround and when you are lucky spot zebra,s and wildebeesten. At six o'clock in the afternoon we enjoyed, sitting at the bar, a nice glass of wine. Steve our host is telling all kinds of stories. Paul and Jane are preparing a very tastefull diner. They succeed to create an athmosfere were it is easy to meet the other guests. Everybody who likes a quiet stay in a beautifull environment will find it at the Malala Lodge.

Klaas and Vera Nauta from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Malala is a gem and would recommend it without hesitation. Jane, Peter and Paul our wonderful hosts and our simply delightful to be around. Meals are simple but it is obvious that great care is taken in its preparation. Make sure that you take a safari drive with Peter . His experience, knowledge and wit will keep you entertained thoughout the drive. My wife and I and another couple stayed there for three nights and we left feeling extremely sad . It was like saying good bye to family. Malala is excellent value and I can't think of going anywhere else in Imfoluzi. Thank you Peter, Paul and of course Jane. Ray

Room Tip: All lodges appear to be equally good in terms of location and size. Rooms are large and nicely deco...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reali_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had storms take out the electric and the water tower collapsed, but despite all of these challenges we were served with lovely home cooking and a friendly efficient family service. This was our first visit to Natal and loved it. The lodge is conveniently located to the road network to reach the game reserves and coast, has a lovely pool and quiet grounds. I would recommend the lodge with confidence that you would receive the same warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a short 2 night stay at Malala which I found on the internet by chance. A really lovely reserve with plenty to do (or not) and very close to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi where you can do your own game viewing or take the opportunity and go for a drive with Pete who is a wealth of information. The varied meals prepared by Jane and Paul were unhurried and absolutely delicious and portions more than adequate. Our only regret is that our stay was so short, but we will be back. I would not hesitate to recommend Malala as, it is value for money even for SA residents. Keep up the good work and thank you again for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanFul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Last year a friend and I went to Malala (found on the internet) and I so thoroughly enjoyed it I knew that I would go back. Almost a year later I was fortunate enough to be able to go back and took another friend and my 14 year old granddaughter, who is very much an animal lover. Well, I was not disappointed about anything - it was great to see Paul, Jane & Pete again, and to be remembered. The 2 or 3 night DBB specials are a really good deal and a great talking point about my stay each time was the fabulous food - superb home cooked fare! The reserve is so lovely and peaceful and there are many places to walk, see some game, or just generally relax. Another highlight is the game drive in Hluhulwe, made all the more interesting due to Pete's incredible knowledge about everything! My granddaughter has fallen in love with the place - says it is awesome and can't wait to go back again. I hope that I will be able to take her again. I tell everybody about Malala and several friends have said it sounds so good that they would like to visit one day. It is like home away from home, with all the peace, tranquility, and excitement of the bush. Do yourself a favour - go for a visit; you will not be sorry. As the teenager would say, you will have an awesome time!
Isabel

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
1.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
6.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
5.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
5.8 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#3 of 32 in Hluhluwe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience.
Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park.
Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge.
Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker.
In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species.
The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool.
Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room:
- Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and
- Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee.
Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest.
Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room.
Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises:
- Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities.
- A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing.
- Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4.
- A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5.
All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided.
We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants.
Other activities include:
- Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching.
- Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves.
- Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle.
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malala Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing