We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night at Malala Lodge”
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Jane and Paul very much. They are excellent houstes and served very good food. The small private game reserve is in good shape and close enough to the Hluhluwe National Park. The game drive with Pete was very intersting and he knew the places where the animals hide. Thanks a lot for this wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Jane and Paul were welcoming and very attentive. Overall, we were very well looked after. Food was of a very high quality and plentiful. Lovely private reserve to explore and plenty of sightings of monkeys, kudu, nyala and Steven the wildebeast.
Pete was inspirational, so knowledgeable when he took us on our first game drive. The 3 day stay was very good value when you include the game drive and river trip.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Harveys - would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, quality lodge to stay at with excellent service.

Room Tip: The cottages are comfortable if basic and rustic. Well equiped if you want to do a bit of self cater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Yet another fabulous few days at Malala, with my family. This was my 4th stay there (and 3rd review) and my daughter and son-in-law's 1st stay and they said they can see why I love the place so much. It was my granddaughter's 2nd visit and has fast become one of her favourite places to be. It is a lovely reserve to be able to walk about in and see how many of their animals one can see on each walk. The family atmosphere and wonderful homely meals are a treat and Pete, Jane & Paul each play an important part in making one feel welcome and loved.The game drive in Hluhluwe Park with Pete is not to be missed; each time you learn something new. If you are in that part of the country, please do not miss the pleasure of staying at Malala. Isabel, Durban.

Room Tip: There are chalets of differing sizes to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I recently made use of the 3-night special offered by the Harvey family at their Malala Lodge near Hluhluwe, Kwazulu-Natal. The offer include a 3-hour game drive, hosted by co-owner and dad ('007') Pete through the Hluhluwe Park and a boat trip through the St Lucia estuary. We could have walked through their game reserve, with numerous animals and birds, but didn't. (Undoubtedly our loss!) But we certainly made use of their hospitality, with son Paul looking after our drinks in their rustic bar, and mom Jane providing us with excellent meals. Certainly a pleasant stay. And now they offer my family and friends a 10% discount as well. You'll will not be sorry if you include Mapala Lodge in your itinerary! Cor and Tina Beek - Pretoria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My first ever trip to a game reserve and I was really happy to have picked Malala. It felt like our hosts really cared, and my french visitor and I were treated like royalty. Great home cooked meals and warm friendly hosts with awesome scenery and a stones throw away from all the major attrations in the area.

An excellent game drive with Pete - we saw 48+ elephants within the first 2 minutes of our drive!!! his knowledge is amazing and his sense of humor really great for 3 hours in a car with the same poeple!!!

Great stuff!!! *****

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. PS there are no bath tubs available :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex_1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a family-owned and run lodge and is convenient to many attractions. We loved the food, the strolls on the grounds, drinks with Pete in the bar and the very special ambience. This is private comfort with every amenity one needs in modest cottages. I can't say enough about the game drive with Pete. He is incredibly knowledgeable, energetic, and the drive was the most successful of our 74 day African trip! Unfortunately for my waistline, I looked forward to every meal and enjoyed Jane and Paul's offerings immensely. The best though, was the interaction with the family. We left having made good friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband I spent 3 wonderful nights at Malala Lodge and were looked after superbly by Jane Paul and Peter. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent Jane's cooking was second to none.

We would highly recommend this lodge we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libby a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
1.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
6.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
5.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0.7 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
275 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience. Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge. Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker. In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species. The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool. Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room: - Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and - Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee. Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest. Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room. Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises: - Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. - A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing. - Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4. - A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5. All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided. We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants. Other activities include: - Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching. - Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves. - Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malala Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing