We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malala Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
193
50
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
50
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst luciahome cookingbush drivespecial packagegreat hostshis knowledgeboat triphluhluwe game reservethe cottageshluhluwe national parkstayed nightsbreakfast and dinnerafternoon game drivea wonderful stayafrican bushshort driveself catering
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We took our adult daughters and a friend from Johannesburg for a one night stay at Malala, inclusive of a game drive in the Hluhluwe Park with Pete as our guide. The stay at the lodge was excellent again (this being our second visit) with delicious home-cooked food in abundance. Our hosts were perfectly attentive, yet gave our group a feeling of privacy. The rondavels were clean and warm - this being the middle of winter - and well equipped. Our game drive was wonderful and, even tho we did not see any ellies, we saw an abundance of rhino (approx 16) with the hi-lite being a mom and her young calf right next to the road where we sat and watched them for ages. Thanks again to the Harvey family and we hope to see you again soon. Lindy N

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I choose Malala after reading all the positive reviews in this forum & they are true.we choose the safari package which offers a 3 hrs game drive by Pete & a 2 hrs boat cruise on St Lucia.

I had requested veg diet for myself & am really happy that Jane catered to my need for all three days with exclusive veg starters & main course.

Malala is near the Cheetah Rehabilition centre & Duma Zulu Lodge which are also main attraction of Hluhluwe.

they have few zebras,duikers & wildebeast on property & my kids found a baby rock python near the dining hall which made their day.

a lots of birds to the birds could be seen around the family cottage ,the glass panes were so clean that many a birds banged themself on it.

we had a good time & plan to repeat the experience in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pragati9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Jane and Paul very much. They are excellent houstes and served very good food. The small private game reserve is in good shape and close enough to the Hluhluwe National Park. The game drive with Pete was very intersting and he knew the places where the animals hide. Thanks a lot for this wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Jane and Paul were welcoming and very attentive. Overall, we were very well looked after. Food was of a very high quality and plentiful. Lovely private reserve to explore and plenty of sightings of monkeys, kudu, nyala and Steven the wildebeast.
Pete was inspirational, so knowledgeable when he took us on our first game drive. The 3 day stay was very good value when you include the game drive and river trip.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Harveys - would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, quality lodge to stay at with excellent service.

Room Tip: The cottages are comfortable if basic and rustic. Well equiped if you want to do a bit of self catering. We had small monkeys on our roof on our first morning - brilliant!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Yet another fabulous few days at Malala, with my family. This was my 4th stay there (and 3rd review) and my daughter and son-in-law's 1st stay and they said they can see why I love the place so much. It was my granddaughter's 2nd visit and has fast become one of her favourite places to be. It is a lovely reserve to be able to walk about in and see how many of their animals one can see on each walk. The family atmosphere and wonderful homely meals are a treat and Pete, Jane & Paul each play an important part in making one feel welcome and loved.The game drive in Hluhluwe Park with Pete is not to be missed; each time you learn something new. If you are in that part of the country, please do not miss the pleasure of staying at Malala. Isabel, Durban.

Room Tip: There are chalets of differing sizes to choose from.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews