We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Malala Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This Country Lodge in KwaZulu Natal,South Africa is a small family run business that gives a superb level of service. My partner and I stayed in one of the thatched chalets recently. They are very clean, functional and give the true feel of staying in an indigenous dwelling. The food is home cooked and, although not haute cuisine, is extremely good with ample portions whilst the Breakfast is truly exceptional. The owners are always willing to help with any reasonable request to make your stay as perfect as possible. (including supplying car polish to rub out scratches on our hire car).It is situated perfectly for visits to Hluhluwe/Umfolosi Game Reserves and the St. Lucia Wetlands. I have stayed at the Lodge on two occassions 5 years apart. It was as though time stood still, very little had changed with Peter, Jane and Paul Harvey still serving up a superb, warm, homely destination which I cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob828600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

This was our introduction to the African bush it was great. Walking in their reserve with Zebra and Wildebeest was wonderful and surrounded by thousands of butterflies you never see in Europe. Our hosts Jane and Paul were very friendly and served well cooked and presented, homely meals. Pete took us on a late afternoon game drive in the Hluhluwe- Umfolozi reserve, his knowledge made this a memorable trip, saw three of the big 5 . He also ran the bar where we discused our days adventures. The lodges were comfortable and well equiped although my wife would have liked a larger mirror in the bathroom. Walking back to our lodge after dinner was magical with the sounds of the night and the sky so black you could see thousands of stars. Don't expect luxury but it is excellent value, we would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValDenYateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

had the 2 night special offer deal wish we had made it longer, great hosts, great food , nice little bar , no rip-offs here, food in dinning room excellent, will come back again soon thanx BIG ALAN AND OLLIE OLDHAM UK

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alancampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Malaha Lodge and the Harvey Family could not have been more attentive. Pete who is an excellent wildlife guide altered his personal arrangements in order to take us on a guided tour of the game reserve on the day we prefered. His knowledge of the Reserve is excellent and he was an insightful and patient guide.

Jane his wife is a fantastic cook, and it was a pleasant change, in a 3 week holiday, to experience home cooking each morning and night, as opposed to 'eating out restaurant' food all the time.

Paul, the son, handled all of the administration by email between England and Africa extremely efficiently. I had confidence in making this booking from overseas.

There are quite a few animals live on this game lodge which wander past your bungalow door but not in any threatening way. I think we found a quiet, peaceful haven near to Hluhluwe which was excellent value for money .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very friendly - we were greeted on arrival by the owner.
The food was home cooked by the owner and very tasty and served in
the cosiest of dining rooms. The owners were very interesting to talk to about
the wildlife in the area. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolzzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Lovely place , wonderful hostess, cook and guide. Personal service at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

this is one of those hidden spots of South-Africa : the lodge is situated in a large property . The cottages are comfortable and clean ,separated from each other in a "maintained bush".
The hosts Jane, Pete & Paul were discreetly attentive: they give you many information, arrange a gamedrive in the park or a boat trip on St.lucia lake, or you can just chat with them about world politics or football...
They serve fine homecooking (with lots of vegetables; a nice change from all the braai we had in S.A.)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosLeuven_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
1.5 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
6.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
5.8 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
0.7 mi away
Emdoneni Lodge
Emdoneni Lodge
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
275 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malala Lodge

Address: Bushlands Road, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malala is a bush lodge on a 140 hectare (340 acre) private nature reserve, accommodating a maximum of only 18 guests, thereby ensuring a tranquil African bush atmosphere and experience. Our lodge is located in the Hluhluwe area, in the centre of the Elephant Coast in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. We are ideally positioned between the world-renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve, Sodwana Bay and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. Malala has been owned and managed by the Harvey family since 2001 and we, together with an enthusiastic team of staff, are always on hand to provide the personal attention one would associate with a small intimate lodge. Our property has a variety of vegetation types, including lowland forest, woodland, grasslands and wetlands. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll through these diverse habitats on well-maintained and marked walking trails. You may come across some of our game, which includes Zebra, Blue Wildebeest, Impala, Nyala, Reedbuck and Red and Grey Duiker. In addition, Malala Lodge is at the centre of the birding hotspot of KwaZulu-Natal with over 500 species of bird having been recorded in the Elephant Coast area. The Malala Lodge birdlist currently has over 270 recorded species. The main thatched lodge is centrally positioned within the camp and overlooks indigenous forest. Here guests can enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy bush pub or take a dip in the palm-fringed swimming pool. Meals are available, by prior arrangement, in the lodge dining room: - Dinner is a home-styled three-course set menu with cheese and biscuits and tea/coffee; and - Breakfast is a full English breakfast including cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and tea/coffee. Adjoining the dining room is a small reading lounge where a variety of magazines and books are available for your interest. Malala Lodge can accommodate guests on a self-catering basis or, if you would prefer, indulge yourself in genuine home-cooked meals in the attractive thatched dining room. Our accommodation, which nestles within the forest fringe, comprises: - Four private, thatched, open plan chalets all with en-suite shower facilities. The chalets are 1-bedroom units which can accommodate 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child. All the chalets come with fully equipped kitchenettes, ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. - A semi-detached chalet equipped with en-suite shower facilities, separate lounge, kitchenette and ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. The chalet accommodates two adults sharing. - Two family cottages each comprising two bedrooms (en-suite), lounge and kitchenette and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. These units accommodate family groups of up to 4. - A family cottage comprising two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and kitchen and equipped with ceiling fans and braai/barbeque facilities. This large unit accommodates a family group of up to 5. All of the accommodation units are supplied with tea/coffee facilities and all linen and towels are provided. We provide game drives, by prior arrangement, in our open game-viewing vehicle into the world renowned Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, providing guests with a superb opportunity of viewing a multitude of mammals, birds, reptiles and plants. Other activities include: - Self-drive day trips to the parks and beaches of St. Lucia, Sodwana Bay and Cape Vidal for boat cruises, kayaking, snorkelling, diving and whale watching. - Walking and horse trails through nearby parks and reserves. - Cultural Zulu Village tours - gain firsthand knowledge of traditional Zulu culture and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malala Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing