We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”
Review of Sand Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Offering different kind of accomodation, campsite, wood hut on the campsite and also very comfortable selfcatering units.
Very well situated, very calm and secure.
An excellent place we can recommend.
Great hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transafrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Sand Forest Lodge to do a mountain bike race in July
It was perfect for our group as they offer varied types of accommodation which suited everyone.
It is well situated near False Bay Park and not far from Hluhluwe village and Hluhluwe game reserve, so it would also make a convenient place to explore the area.
We enjoyed the quiet and scenic grounds with the named trees, wildlife and birds.
There is a lovely walking path through the sand forest which is a “must do”.
Godfrey & Cary Lang are friendly and helpful hosts – thank you we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent a couple of days in very comfortable accommodation. It was really serene and tranquil...nothing like sitting on your porch watching the wildlife grazing nearby. A real "time to breathe" place. Great hospitality....highly recommend it !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We travel each year to the Kruger Park via Swaziland and need to break the trip home to Westville. We heard about Sand Forest Lodge through a friend, stayed there once and enjoyed it so much went back each time! Cary and Godfrey warmly welcomed us and we soon felt like part of the family. Accommodation was most comfortable and we wanted for nothing! A walk through the Sand Forest was worthwhile. The chalets look onto open space where a few wildebeest and buck roam. A birdlovers paradise too! A weekend wasn't long enough!! Unfortunately we weren't able to stay at Sand Forest Lodge this year (2013)

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have a wonderful view of the open spaces beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cold2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Godfrey & Cary Lang really do have a piece of heaven here! They also go out of their way to accommodate their guests and ensure an enjoyable stay!

Sand Forest Lodge is situated on a nature reserve on the edge of an ancient sand forest and lies to the west of False Bay Park - part of the Greater St Lucia Wetlands Park - a world heritage site!

Birds and buck roam freely inbetween the cottages. A 45 minute stroll through the lodge's own little forest of trees, just provides the fresh air one needs to rejuvenate one's body and soul!

We went on a hike through False Bay Park, firstly along the lake and then into the forest! Ultimate bliss!

The Lodge is just 10 minutes from the village of Hluhluwe and 20 minutes from the Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve.

The region has a vast diversity of natural and cultural resources that are all within easy access of the Lodge. The great variety of trees (over a hundred species...) and the great variety of birds must indeed be the highlight of any nature lover's stay!

The cottages are very clean and well-equipped for self-catering. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our typical South African braai out in the open, with beautiful sunsets, nature, birds, buck and even a blue wildebeest within close range! The camp fire till late into the night with only nature as our company, was total bliss! Sunrise with coffee on the 'stoep' was also a winner! We'll definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: We loved Falcon! Such a lovely 'stoep' and very comfortable and spacious cottage! Good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nature is all around at Sand Forest Lodge. We needed a stopover between Mkhuze and St Lucia and Hluhluwe seemed just right. Better still Sand Forest Lodge nestles in its own spacious estate very close to False Bay Park. We had only booked a night but would have been happy to spend the week there. The gardens are beautiful with many interesting (labelled) trees dotted around the parkland and clearly much enjoyed by the wildlife as by us, the visitors. 'Falcon Cottage' was charming with its intriguing furniture, pictures and artefacts. The comfort of the bed, the cooking facilities and the outlook from the patio were all that we could hope for. But just a short drive from the security gate, we could easily reach False Bay Park to enjoy the extensive walks, a safe place to be on foot without the restrictions of many other parks and game reserves

Room Tip: a lovely outlook from Falcon and probably all the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Sand Forest Lodge in Hluhluwe. Our cottage was comfortable and clean and fully equipped for a self-catering stay. We had a nice outdoor seating area with braai. The furniture of the cottage was a bit old-fashioned, but cosy. The owners of the lodge were very friendly and had some great stories to tell about the wildlife. Sand Forest Lodge is surrounded by a big plot that accommodates some wildebeests, some boks and lots of nice birds. We had quite a fright one night, when a wildebeest came for a visit very close to our porch!
It is quite a trip to the gate of the national park and takes about 10 minutes into town and a further 20 minutes to the gate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
4.7 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
3.9 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#6 of 34 in Hluhluwe
168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#21 of 34 in Hluhluwe
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 34 in Hluhluwe
74 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
Bushbaby Lodge & Camping
#15 of 34 in Hluhluwe
68 reviews
7.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 95, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £44 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Forest Lodge is situated on a nature reserve on the edge of an ancient sand forest and lays 1.5Km west of False Bay Park - part of the greater St Lucia Wetlands Park. The Lodge is a 20 minutes from the Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve. Sand Forest Lodge is an ideal base in close proximity to many local attractions including St Lucia, Kosi Bay and Sodwana Bay. Chalets are fully equipped and serviced daily; all you need to bring is your food, drinks, drinking water, and toiletries. We have mosquito nets, overhead fans and air-conditioning. The swimming pool is closed. We have 2 rustic, wooden bungalows that have double beds, overhead fans, mosquito nets, mini kitchens, private deck and barbeque facility. The bungalows DO NOT have air-con or en-suite shower/toilet facilities and share ablutions with the campsite. There are 4 camp/caravan sites situated on the edge of the forest, each have electrical points and private barbeques. Ablutions are shared with the bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sand Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Forest Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing