We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Sand forest Lodge for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. It is a nice place and very relaxing and quiet which was perfect. I think a bit more attention to detail could be given to small things, correct number of cutlery, correct spelling on notices etc. The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed it a few times - it was nice and quite so had it all to ourselves. The whole lodge is in a beautiful location but could do with a bit of general TLC.
A great base/location for a base for exploring the surrounding parks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leza O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and nice. The mattresses were very comfortable. Worth mentioning since there is nothing worse than a uncomfortable mattress.
If you are a dog lover this place is for you. My kids had a ball of a time with the 3 very friendly and playful dogs on the property.
We were very happy with our stay.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fanus & Jacquel... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is my third camping visit to Sand Forest Lodge. I really enjoy the base, which I use to explore False Bay Park, especially when the Park is busy. The camp and facilities are immaculate. Godfrey and Carey are good hosts and deserve the support of repeat visitors. The short walk through their sand forest patch offers a tranquil evening walk before the bush babies take over.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kzntrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great to be met by Cary and Godfrey who are always friendly - not only met by them but also the dogs
Wonderful to relax in the tranquil surroundings after a day rushing around on the road to see clients



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Kingfisher chalet was comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed for our one night stay. The rooms were spacious and just a really nice place to unwind. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We enjoyed the shady environment as we are birders. The kitchen, unfortunately, was poorly equipped and the utensils not very clean. A casserole (for cooked meat) and glass/pyrex bowls (for salads) would be an asset. The wooden bowls look and feel grubby. We had a lovely bed with nice clean bedding. The air conditioner is an outdated joke.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hennie & Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Having visited SFL every year since 2005, last year was as good as ever. The lodge is an ideal base being in close proximity to all the other places to visit in the area, ie. the reserves, False Bay 5 and Sodwana is an hours drive. The lodge itself is a wonderful place with excellent birding available together with scenic walks and buck roaming freely. If one wants to relax away from the rat race - this is the place to visit. It's clean, well priced and Cary and Godfrey are excellent hosts who have ultimately become good friends. It's also an ideal stopover if you're travelling to the Kruger and ant to break your trip..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
0 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
0 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#7 of 33 in Hluhluwe
164 reviews
0 mi away
Wildebees Ecolodge
Wildebees Ecolodge
#21 of 33 in Hluhluwe
163 reviews
0 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#9 of 33 in Hluhluwe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 95, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Hluhluwe
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Forest Lodge is situated on a nature reserve on the edge of an ancient sand forest and lays 1.5Km west of False Bay Park - part of the greater St Lucia Wetlands Park. The Lodge is a 20 minutes from the Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve. Sand Forest Lodge is an ideal base in close proximity to many local attractions including St Lucia, Kosi Bay and Sodwana Bay. Chalets are fully equipped and serviced daily; all you need to bring is your food, drinks, drinking water, and toiletries. We have mosquito nets, overhead fans and air-conditioning. The swimming pool is closed. We have 2 rustic, wooden bungalows that have double beds, overhead fans, mosquito nets, mini kitchens, private deck and barbeque facility. The bungalows DO NOT have air-con or en-suite shower/toilet facilities and share ablutions with the campsite. There are 4 camp/caravan sites situated on the edge of the forest, each have electrical points and private barbeques. Ablutions are shared with the bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sand Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Forest Lodge Hluhluwe, South Africa - Zululand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing