We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total rest & relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Ranked #3 of 24 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Total rest & relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had the most amazing holiday at the Beachcomber B&B. The view was magnificent & the accommodation was good value for money. The staff were most helpful & friendly. The owners were hospitable & always were willing to give us information for our needs. We were out of the hustle bustle & enjoyed the total relaxation of the pool & quiet beach- which was close by. We recommend this B&B & hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mel_kur18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you Mel and Sharon for your great review - most appreciated.
We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Sharon TJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    39
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
58
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had a wonderful stay in this bnb. Warm welcome from the owner and the staff. Also the activities were well explained to me. I would recommend it to other people and I will come back to stay if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vusumuzi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you taking time to write a review on Beachcomber Bay and thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return
Regards
Sharon TJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

A small guesthouse with a family atmosphere. Nice and clean, personal rooms. Wonderful view from the garden. Very good breakfeast and good service from the personnel. Friendly and nice owners. We will come back!


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Carina
So nice to read your review - thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your stay with us and trust you had a great time in Hluhluwe and a good journey home.
We look forward to your return to Beachcomber Bay in the future
Kind Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This beautiful place is where any couple can relax and enjoy the seabreeze, the sound of the breaking waves and enjoy the hilltop view over the ocean. Receive excellent hospitality. Worth every cent spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Devin
So please you enjoyed your stay and returned home relaxed. Thank you for your super review - most appreciate your taking the time to submit.
we look forward to your return
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our fist visit to margate for myself, my husband and our 2 kids. The ocean view from beachcomber bay left the kids amazed after our holiday. The view from our room was also great. Our stay was amazing will definatly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue-ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were welcomed by a friendly lady who showed us to our room and gave us information about the location we can go and have fun to. our morning meals was served by ladies full of smile and life. the room was cleaned everyday and we never missed any items, the place is save and relaxing. I enjoyed the pool the most situated in front of my room, we could walk to the beach. Beachcomber bay is the place to be I will surely visit them again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mpho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have stayed at Beachcomber Bay on a number of occasions, and will keep returning. We will also recommend the place to other friends and family. It is wonderful, comfortable accomodation where you are made to feel at home, and treated like "family". Staff are friendly and helpful.
Sharon and Trevor are welcoming and go out of their way to welcome us back each and every time. They are also very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas/suburbs so are able to recommend things to do, places to visit, restaurants to eat at, etc. which is very useful and helpful for new visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hi Judy and Les
It was great to have you back at Beachcomber Bay, we enjoyed your stay and our chats. Thank you for the review, we look forward to your return
Regards
Sharon and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
6.5 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
16.7 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#1 of 24 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Property: Beachcomber Bay
Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing