We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay!!”
Review of Beachcomber Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Ranked #2 of 25 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were very pleased with our stay - the staff are very friendly and helpful. The owner, Sharon, very pleasant and always willing to help. We will definitely visit again. The guesthouse is situated near all the tourist attractions.



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the great review. Looking forward to your return
Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

no air con in the room made the stay extremely hot and uncomfortable. sleeping with the curtains and the sliding open will not give couples any privacy as anyone can walk past at any time. also TV remotes were not working so stuck on one channel. this should have been checked before I checked in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robin382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Robin
Thank you for your comments and input
So sorry you found the February heat wave unbearable and what a pity you did not mention air conditioning when you booked, at that stage we had an air-conditioned room available.
With regards to the TV being stuck, very sorry but this can happen anytime, it is a DSTV issue and needs a simple reboot to rectify.
Keep well
Regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. My other half is very tall and so on arrival we got a complementary upgrade to a superb room with an ocean view and ... a great BIG bed. One of the best nights in SA with waves bashing below lullying us to sleep. The nearby beach (accessed through the bottom of the garden) was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pvanbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words, I hope the rest of your honeymoon was great.
regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had the most amazing holiday at the Beachcomber B&B. The view was magnificent & the accommodation was good value for money. The staff were most helpful & friendly. The owners were hospitable & always were willing to give us information for our needs. We were out of the hustle bustle & enjoyed the total relaxation of the pool & quiet beach- which was close by. We recommend this B&B & hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mel_kur18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you Mel and Sharon for your great review - most appreciated.
We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had a wonderful stay in this bnb. Warm welcome from the owner and the staff. Also the activities were well explained to me. I would recommend it to other people and I will come back to stay if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vusumuzi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you taking time to write a review on Beachcomber Bay and thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return
Regards
Sharon TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A small guesthouse with a family atmosphere. Nice and clean, personal rooms. Wonderful view from the garden. Very good breakfeast and good service from the personnel. Friendly and nice owners. We will come back!


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Carina
So nice to read your review - thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your stay with us and trust you had a great time in Hluhluwe and a good journey home.
We look forward to your return to Beachcomber Bay in the future
Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This beautiful place is where any couple can relax and enjoy the seabreeze, the sound of the breaking waves and enjoy the hilltop view over the ocean. Receive excellent hospitality. Worth every cent spent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Devin
So please you enjoyed your stay and returned home relaxed. Thank you for your super review - most appreciate your taking the time to submit.
we look forward to your return
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
7.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#3 of 25 in Margate
56 reviews
12.1 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 6 in Ramsgate
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing