We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service...what service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keg & Galleon

Keg & Galleon
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Margate
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service...what service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

An absolute gem with regards to view and being in the centre of what is happening around the main beach. The only problem is that the service is poor to non-existing. After 20 minutes of waiting at an outside table, I had to go in and ask if they doe have waiters or if it is a self service establishment. Hard words from the husband to the 'manager', good service for the whole of 5 minutes and....zzzzz forgotten again. I will only go there for the view during Africa Bike Week, not the service and not the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsabeHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Sports Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was visiting my in laws in Feb/Mar this year and coming from Ireland i wanted to see a very important six nations rugby match so having searched various bars in Margate i came across the Keg and Galleon.The first thing i did was to ask the manager if they could show the game and he said no problem 'choose a tv and i'll put it on ', just for the record they have approx 7 tv's ! ( there might have been more?) The waiter was over to me very promptly and i gave an order for some wine and then mused over the bar food menu....they have got such a wide choice , sipping on my wine and waiting for the game to start i was now having difficulty choosing what to eat, i wanted something to nibble on so what to go for??...'surf & turf basket, chicken wings, fishermans basket, nachos, calamari strips, tatoe skins etc etc etc , for the 'hungrier patron' they have a wide variety of burgers, pies, grills, salads , curries, fish & chips and so on...well i eventually chose chicken finger basket and tatoe skins, service was quick and ample portions too, the game started & i was a very happy chappie with my 'belly & palate' satisfied ...we won too which was a bonus...PS we came back a few days later and had main course and again the food was spot on...its not five star dining but what they do ..they do very well....i'll be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great place to hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is definitely a great place to hang out with friends and family. Also Perfect atmosphere for watching sports. Excellent service from the barman (Dan & Handry)! Keep up the good work

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mduduzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, South Africa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very popular with tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

A bit pricey for the locals in Margate but the Keg never lets you down. The atmosphere is good, a good place to watch sport and Dan the barman is superb.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GDTravelsMargateRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the keg and Galleon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

great pub grub in quite a small town, full selection of food, mixed grills, streaks, burgers, chips, be prepared for large portions. Massive tv,s everywhere showing rugby 24/7. Excellent service, reasonable prices

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keg & Galleon also viewed

Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Keg & Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing