We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel-cum-Sports Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margate Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margate Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Margate
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel-cum-Sports Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

On a long stretch of South Africa's South Coast with few B&Bs and fewer hotels, this hotel is very good with the amenities a road warrior wants. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, though only ocean side rooms will guarantee a quiet night! The main restaurant serves a plentiful breakfast, ocean views included. The franchise Keg and Galleon restaurant - doubling as a boisterous sports bar - has a very good menu with comparable service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd S, Public Relations Manager at Margate Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2015
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

They botched my reservation but managed to redeem it after some time. The rooms are a bit old and smelly, aircon did not work, bathroom very old. I was fortunate to get one of the few rooms with a sea view. Is marketed as a 3 star hotel but definitely needs to do more to warrant that grading. Reception helpful but not very friendly. The restaurant has a good view and the outside deck is a nice touch.The breakfast was above average.

Room Tip: Try and take a deluxe room with a view, its worth the extra amount you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Staff very pleasant. Bed and linen very comfortable.Breakfast nice except plates not warmed up making breakfast cold as soon as you dished up. Other than the bed, the rest of the room and furniture looked well worn and in need of a coat of paint. Bathroom had mould in the grout under the soap dish. A lot of local people ( govt officials?) we're staying in the hotel. They leave their doors open with TV's blaring, talking loudly in the passage. Altogether not my most pleasant experience. If I have a choice I will not stay there again

Room Tip: A good room would be one in another hitel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanHappyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey north wales
Level Contributor
220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here a couple of times, the rooms are seriously in need of updating. The breakfast was really good and plentiful, but this wasnt a cheap hotel either. all in all a pleasureable experience but def not worth the money.

Room Tip: all pretty much of a muchness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anglesey_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd S, Public Relations Manager at Margate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2015
Hi there. Thank you for your honest feedback. I am happy to report that since 2012 a lot has changed. We do hope that you will stay with us again. Regards, The Margate Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This place has friendly staff, but the rooms are so outdated with old T.V.s & old looking furniture, the bed was big & comfy though. It was very hot & humid on our stay but we had to leave the old air con off as it was too noisy to sleep with it on. The bathroom was not nice at all, something from the 70's even & not very clean, cracked tiles, very old bathtub & shower & it was not cheap. Corridors have obviously recently been re-carpeted & look fine but the rooms need major attention. Breakfast was awful, buffet style & greasy. They even had tinned fruit, blimey, you can buy fresh fruit at nearly every set of lights on the N2, what are they thinking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd S, Public Relations Manager at Margate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2015
Hi. Thank you for your honest feedback. I am happy to report that since 2012 things have changed quite a lot at our hotel. I do hope that you will stay with us again. Regards, The Margate Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margate hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.0 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#3 of 24 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desroches Hotel
Desroches Hotel
#2 of 14 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margate Hotel

Property: Margate Hotel
Address: 3139 Marine Drive, Margate 4275, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:3 star — Margate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margate Hotel is a 3-star hotel ideally situated near the heart of the popular holiday destination, Margate. The Hotel is in close proximity to one of Kwazulu Natal's South Coast Blue flag beaches. Within close walking distance to the Margate shopping area, restaurants and entertainment. The Hotel offers spacious guest areas including a lush pool area for guest to relax and unwind. The Hotel boast a prestigious, well appointed state of the art, 250 seat conference venue with 5 breakaway rooms catering for your every conference requirement. The Hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned en-suite accommodation including larger family rooms. To further add to your comfort the Margate Hotel has a generator system to ensure an un-interupted conference or business meeting or over night stay. Free, secure on-site parking is available. Connect with us and share your photos at from Margate Hotel and tag #MagateHotel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing