We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOK NO FURTHER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Albatros Guest House
Ranked #7 of 25 Margate B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FURTHER!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for five days and found we had made the right choice.
The room no 4 had an excellent view and sound of the ocean. The accommodation is so comfortable and top class. The staff are friendly and service is very good. What we liked was the security system as being two woman away from home, it made us feel safe. Our hosts Bessie and Andre are warm and accommodating people who welcomed us and made us feel at home.
Gail and Elmarie

Room Tip: We had a peep while house cleaning were cleaning and all the rooms faced the sea, also each room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
105
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

On 21-23 October 2011, my boyfriend and i visited the Hibiscus Coast and we stayed at The Albatros Guest House - i didnt want to leave that place.
Bessie and Andre were absolutely welcoming and filled with so much warmth, love and care.

It was our anniversary weekend and they made it real special for us. From the elegant, upmarket and fresh Honeymoon Suite to setting up a romantic relaxing evening for us at the Jacuzzi (with candle lights, champagne, strawberries and cream) - it was a anniversary evening to remember and cherish forever.

The view of the ocean from the suite is breath taking, not to mention the cool and fresh breeze , Awesome. The breakfast is really Egg-cellent, it's not only well presented but its Divine and Filling, did i mention Divine?

Our stay at The Albatros was MAGICAL! Honestly i cant find the write word to describe it. My boyfriend said "It's not Hundreds, It's Thousands".

Thank you, thank you, thank you SO much Bessie, Andre and Staff for such wonderful and magical hospitality.

Regards,
Zola & Linda

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokuzola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone seeking time out from their busy lifestyles. it is an amazing guesthouse and the hospitality was excellent. facilities and privacy were outstandingingly good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arushka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently had a long stay (14 days) at the Albatros Guest House.

The breakfast was really great and the owners went out of their way to keep it interesting for us (This included fresh pancakes on some mornings!)

Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean and we even managed to see a few dolphins and some whale activity from the balcony.

Overall we had a very relaxing stay and managed to catch up on some much needed rest.

My thanks to the owners, Andre and Bessie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholiday187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April and couldn't have found a more welcoming bed and breakfast. It was a pleasure to meet Andre and Bessie who was very friendly. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was ample choice. Our room in the house was spacious with a balcony overlooking the ocean.

We were free to come and go as we pleased and we felt that Andre and Bessie would (and did) always go the extra mile to provide anything that was required. An excellent location to rest and recharge, we would not hesitate to return or to recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The experience was amazing. Andre and Bessie were absolutely wondeful and made us feel like we were part of their family. I loved spending my time there and will definitely be heading back for more of Bessie's wonderful breakfasts!!

Room Tip: Room number 5 is comfortable and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirenNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Thank you to owners Andre and Bessie

All the rooms have a spectacular view and exactly what we wanted for a relaxing break. The owners and staff were welcoming, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, with a stunning coastal view. The breakfasts had everything that you could possibly want, and the honesty bar was a nice touch.

The town and main beach is a nice stroll down the road with loads of shops and restaurants.

We had a wonder full time at The Albatros and would definitely be back again next year.

E&J

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_J_UK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
6.7 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 5 in Ramsgate
76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#4 of 8 in Shelly Beach
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albatros Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albatros Guest House

Property: The Albatros Guest House
Address: 20 Homestead Road, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albatros Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sunny South Coast of KwaZulu Natal, Margate is one of the prime holiday destinations in South Africa. The Albatros Guest House & Golf Tours. Situated within walking distance of the beach & bustling village, while at the same time in the middle of the notorious 'Golf Coast'. From the pool deck or your own private balcony, you have an expansive 180° sea view, where you can relax and watch whales & dolphins which abound during the natural phenomenon of the annual sardine run, 'the greatest shoal on earth'. Each of our luxury air-conditioned rooms has a full en-suite or private bathroom (shower & bath), TV, tea & coffee, and balcony with sea view. Breakfast is enjoyed on the deck in the mornings - a great way to start the day. Children over 12 years are welcome. Other facilities include a sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, bar, pool table and undercover braai (barbecue) area. If lazing around the pool is not for you, there is plenty to keep you busy during your stay with us. Sandy beaches stretch for miles along the coast of the warm Indian ocean, which offers a variety of activities including safe, protected swimming, surfing, or scuba diving with the sharks at Protea Banks and Aliwal Shoal. Whale & dolphin watching boat trips, angling and deep sea fishing trips are also very popular. For the avid golfer, the area boasts 6 of South Africa's top 100 golf courses according to the Complete Golfer Rankings, which are guaranteed to test your skills & astound you with their scenery.For the nature lover or adrenalin junkie, extreme adventures at the spectacular white river rafting - in season. There are a host of restaurants & pubs, where you can enjoy a quick bite to eat or a leisurely evening meal. A visit to a crocodile farm, a flip in a microlite, gambling at the Wild Coast Casino, arts & crafts, horse riding we have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Albatros Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing