We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Albatros Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ingwe Manor(Margate)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Margate Sands(Margate)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Margate Hotel(Margate)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HillBillion Estate(Shelly Beach)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
St Michaels Sands Hotel(St. Michael's on Sea)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oribi Gorge Hotel(Port Shepstone)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
178
22
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
22
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homewhale watchingpool tablewonderful hospitalityaccommodating hostsbedroom balconyperfect hostsmake you feel at homemaking surebraai areasea viewfilter coffeerose petalslittle thingsbeyond comparewarm breakfastfantastic weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for five days and found we had made the right choice.
The room no 4 had an excellent view and sound of the ocean. The accommodation is so comfortable and top class. The staff are friendly and service is very good. What we liked was the security system as being two woman away from home, it made us feel safe. Our hosts Bessie and Andre are warm and accommodating people who welcomed us and made us feel at home.
Gail and Elmarie

Room Tip: We had a peep while house cleaning were cleaning and all the rooms faced the sea, also each room was done out in such a way if u had to choose u wouldn't know which one to choose. They all beautifull. We had room 4 and loved it. We will be back!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

On 21-23 October 2011, my boyfriend and i visited the Hibiscus Coast and we stayed at The Albatros Guest House - i didnt want to leave that place.
Bessie and Andre were absolutely welcoming and filled with so much warmth, love and care.

It was our anniversary weekend and they made it real special for us. From the elegant, upmarket and fresh Honeymoon Suite to setting up a romantic relaxing evening for us at the Jacuzzi (with candle lights, champagne, strawberries and cream) - it was a anniversary evening to remember and cherish forever.

The view of the ocean from the suite is breath taking, not to mention the cool and fresh breeze , Awesome. The breakfast is really Egg-cellent, it's not only well presented but its Divine and Filling, did i mention Divine?

Our stay at The Albatros was MAGICAL! Honestly i cant find the write word to describe it. My boyfriend said "It's not Hundreds, It's Thousands".

Thank you, thank you, thank you SO much Bessie, Andre and Staff for such wonderful and magical hospitality.

Regards,
Zola & Linda

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nokuzola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone seeking time out from their busy lifestyles. it is an amazing guesthouse and the hospitality was excellent. facilities and privacy were outstandingingly good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arushka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently had a long stay (14 days) at the Albatros Guest House.

The breakfast was really great and the owners went out of their way to keep it interesting for us (This included fresh pancakes on some mornings!)

Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean and we even managed to see a few dolphins and some whale activity from the balcony.

Overall we had a very relaxing stay and managed to catch up on some much needed rest.

My thanks to the owners, Andre and Bessie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveholiday187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April and couldn't have found a more welcoming bed and breakfast. It was a pleasure to meet Andre and Bessie who was very friendly. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was ample choice. Our room in the house was spacious with a balcony overlooking the ocean.

We were free to come and go as we pleased and we felt that Andre and Bessie would (and did) always go the extra mile to provide anything that was required. An excellent location to rest and recharge, we would not hesitate to return or to recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews