We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, wonderful guest house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Albatros Guest House
Ranked #7 of 25 Margate B&B and Inns
Franklin, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful, wonderful guest house!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Albatros a few weeks ago while we were traveling through South Africa. I can not say enough about our time there! Bessie and Andre greeted us at the front door and made us feel welcome and at home from the very beginning. Bessie even noticed how sunburned we had gotten the day before and quickly brought us some medicine to help! Our room was clean and beautifully decorated with a balcony looking over the water. They serve a wonderful South African breakfast which is covered by the cost of the room- the best mushrooms and scrambled eggs I've ever had! We went on a fishing trip during our stay and Bessie helped us cook all of the fish that night when we got back. We got to share a meal with them and they let us use their kitchen! Andre and Bessie were perfectly accomodating, available on a moments notice if we had questions, they knew about the area, places to go and what to do. Everything about our stay was PERFECT!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
107
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Me and my wife and friends of ours stayed at the Albatros on our recent holiday in Margate. We stayed two days and had a lovely, totally relaxing time. Andre and Bessie we Soooo accommadating!!! We went out deep sea fishing and caught a bunch of yellowfin tuna and they let us clean, cook and have sushi in the guest house. Bessie even got in on some of the cooking action with an incredibly delicious spicy tuna dish inside, while Andre and I maned the Albatros grill on the patio. Breakfast was awesome, too. 100% great place to Stay. The Lovely Couple running the place really make's it:)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My friend and I decided to spoil our husbands for the weekend away, we searched Google and found this great looking Guest House. Flying them down from Johannesburg to King Shaka Airport... On arrival we were greeted by two very friendly people. They quickly showed us our rooms and helped us around. We instantly felt at home and welcome. After freshening up, lunch was served and we spent the whole evening at the pool side having a Long Island Ice Tea.

Four days flew by in a flash with all the amazing things to do in and around Margate.

Andre & Bessie we will definitely see you again soon and we'll recommend this guest house to anyone who wants a great weekend away.

PS: Thank you, the Food was Amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriettePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for five days and found we had made the right choice.
The room no 4 had an excellent view and sound of the ocean. The accommodation is so comfortable and top class. The staff are friendly and service is very good. What we liked was the security system as being two woman away from home, it made us feel safe. Our hosts Bessie and Andre are warm and accommodating people who welcomed us and made us feel at home.
Gail and Elmarie

Room Tip: We had a peep while house cleaning were cleaning and all the rooms faced the sea, also each room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

On 21-23 October 2011, my boyfriend and i visited the Hibiscus Coast and we stayed at The Albatros Guest House - i didnt want to leave that place.
Bessie and Andre were absolutely welcoming and filled with so much warmth, love and care.

It was our anniversary weekend and they made it real special for us. From the elegant, upmarket and fresh Honeymoon Suite to setting up a romantic relaxing evening for us at the Jacuzzi (with candle lights, champagne, strawberries and cream) - it was a anniversary evening to remember and cherish forever.

The view of the ocean from the suite is breath taking, not to mention the cool and fresh breeze , Awesome. The breakfast is really Egg-cellent, it's not only well presented but its Divine and Filling, did i mention Divine?

Our stay at The Albatros was MAGICAL! Honestly i cant find the write word to describe it. My boyfriend said "It's not Hundreds, It's Thousands".

Thank you, thank you, thank you SO much Bessie, Andre and Staff for such wonderful and magical hospitality.

Regards,
Zola & Linda

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokuzola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone seeking time out from their busy lifestyles. it is an amazing guesthouse and the hospitality was excellent. facilities and privacy were outstandingingly good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arushka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We recently had a long stay (14 days) at the Albatros Guest House.

The breakfast was really great and the owners went out of their way to keep it interesting for us (This included fresh pancakes on some mornings!)

Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean and we even managed to see a few dolphins and some whale activity from the balcony.

Overall we had a very relaxing stay and managed to catch up on some much needed rest.

My thanks to the owners, Andre and Bessie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholiday187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
6.7 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 5 in Ramsgate
76 reviews
5.6 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#11 of 12 in Southbroom
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albatros Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albatros Guest House

Property: The Albatros Guest House
Address: 20 Homestead Road, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albatros Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sunny South Coast of KwaZulu Natal, Margate is one of the prime holiday destinations in South Africa. The Albatros Guest House & Golf Tours. Situated within walking distance of the beach & bustling village, while at the same time in the middle of the notorious 'Golf Coast'. From the pool deck or your own private balcony, you have an expansive 180° sea view, where you can relax and watch whales & dolphins which abound during the natural phenomenon of the annual sardine run, 'the greatest shoal on earth'. Each of our luxury air-conditioned rooms has a full en-suite or private bathroom (shower & bath), TV, tea & coffee, and balcony with sea view. Breakfast is enjoyed on the deck in the mornings - a great way to start the day. Children over 12 years are welcome. Other facilities include a sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, bar, pool table and undercover braai (barbecue) area. If lazing around the pool is not for you, there is plenty to keep you busy during your stay with us. Sandy beaches stretch for miles along the coast of the warm Indian ocean, which offers a variety of activities including safe, protected swimming, surfing, or scuba diving with the sharks at Protea Banks and Aliwal Shoal. Whale & dolphin watching boat trips, angling and deep sea fishing trips are also very popular. For the avid golfer, the area boasts 6 of South Africa's top 100 golf courses according to the Complete Golfer Rankings, which are guaranteed to test your skills & astound you with their scenery.For the nature lover or adrenalin junkie, extreme adventures at the spectacular white river rafting - in season. There are a host of restaurants & pubs, where you can enjoy a quick bite to eat or a leisurely evening meal. A visit to a crocodile farm, a flip in a microlite, gambling at the Wild Coast Casino, arts & crafts, horse riding we have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Albatros Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing