We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Albatros Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Margate Sands(Margate)
US$240
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HillBillion Estate(Shelly Beach)
US$126
US$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oribi Gorge Hotel(Port Shepstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
178
22
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
22
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homewhale watchingpool tablewonderful hospitalityaccommodating hostsbedroom balconyperfect hostsmake you feel at homemaking surebraai areasea viewfilter coffeerose petalslittle thingsbeyond comparewarm breakfastfantastic weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The very first thing people consider when looking for accommodation is the location of the site in which they wanna stay at. Upon entering the premises, they wanna be welcomed by open and loving hands of the hosts so that they not only feel at home but BE AT HOME!

The Albatros Guesthouse combines both features, it's location along the coast enables clear view of the ocean when standing on the Balcony. The hosts, Andre and Bessie Pienaar with their warm and loving hearts make you fall in love with the environment as they take you through their luxurios suites.

From the bottom of my heart, I truly loved your space and I really wish you continued success and to see your business booming with wonderful guests from all walks of life. Your space is truly of hotel standard and I don't have no doubt in my mind that you shall continue reaping the rewards of your hospitality.

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Odzwa,

We want for thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for us. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time with us and to feel 'BE AT HOME" as you mentioned in your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our warm hospitality and that we could live up to your expectations. I read an article today "A house is built with walls and beams, a home is built with love and dreams."
We look forward to welcome you back in your "Second home".

Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a wonderful weekend away, got a five star room, treated by the most friendly hosts to the most delicious breakfast, and relaxed like a king. It is close to all amenities, whilst being just the right distance from the sea. We'll be back whenever our batteries need a recharge!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor - absolutely spectacular!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Good morning Jan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Albatros Guest House. We as owners are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us for the second time and could relax like a king. We read the review with interest as it was truly refreshing and gave recommendations to add value to the next guest who use Tripadvisor as an indication what to expect. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Andre, Bessie and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fabulous place to stay with stunning views and great, friendly service!
Very convenient as it is situated close to Margate town and main beach.
In the June/July sardine season it's great to have breakfast on the front veranda while watching whales pass by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Teniche B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Teniche ,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us a few times before and have another booking coming up soon. We are glad that you always have a fantastic time with us.
We do look forward to welcoming you back and would like to share the great news of an an addition to the family with you.
Wishing you a safe flight and travel.
Andre , Bessie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The best hospitality ever, me and my fiancé had a wonderful stay. Very soon me and my friends will be returning on a couples retreat experience. The rooms exceptional, food marvellous our host a great individual, truly a homely experience. As for the view, spectacular....thank you.

Room Tip: Number nine
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Njabulo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Njabulo,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are pleased that we could live up to your expectation. The Albatros Guest House "STAFF" do their best to create a "home away from home environment for our GUESTS. We are also glad that you enjoyed the spectacular view from your balcony, room and during our important time of the day with our guests - breakfast time. We look forward to welcoming you back and suggest that you book our Executive room, with all glass in the front to give you even a better view of the ocean. Friendly greetings. Owners and Staff - The Albatros Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Albatros Guest House was just what I needed for the weekend... Beautiful, serene, comfortable, with friendly and efficient service. The 180 degree sea view was spectacular. Breakfasts were prepared with attention to detail. The close proximity to Margate's social chill spots was super convenient. I'm already anticipating my next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear M,
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and escape from your busy routine. We are delighted to have another booking for you coming up soon, and looking forward to meet the rest of your family.
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews