We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Imvubu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imvubu Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerensee
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good value for money, but a bit on the old side - good to stay for business, but not really for holiday - venue's bar has fantastic views, but chalet not - service and safety is good and over all a nice experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of lake
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DALEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Imvubu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lodge requires upgrade. We stayed in the deluxe cabin which is spacious but the kitchen is very dark. The lounge only have 1 cane couch and a single bed in the lounge - really. Furnishings are very old fashion and out dated. In the basement of the cabin is used to store hotel stock so in the mornings they come to fetch detergents and it's disturbing.

Staff are friendly and come to clean early. The path to the beach does have those tyers and it's a scary walk down we appreciate the private beach. The area is awesome lots of greenery. Each cabin is tucked into the greenery looks like tree houses.

Apart from the deco experience was good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Dian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We had quite a chilled and relaxing time at this lodge. However, they seemed to be slightly understaffed especially at the bar. And during festive season. Also breakfast was not free as stated on the website, and there was no wifi.

Though the beach and the view are incredible! Its a cool getaway spot!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nuks555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This lodge has just been taken over by the Three Cities group of hotels. Although we stayed over one night only, it is a stay we will remember. The log cabins are situated in a 'jungle' and birds give you your wake up call in the morning. The beach is just a few steps away and from the look out points you can see the huge ships entering the harbour. Oh and you can also see the bow of a sunken ship above the water! The restaurant is situated by a pool with a crocodile in it. The breakfast could have been better though, but the service was friendly.

Room Tip: Room 6 is closest to the restaurant. Although it is not a luxury suite, it is quiet and stands all b...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The location is close to the sea, so a walk down some steps (did not like the rubber wheels at the bottom though) you reach the beach. The location is very lush and green, and the chalet was well appointed with all the facilities. TV could have been a bit bigger, as the day we were there it was raining so not much to do. Restaurant was comfortable and the staff welcoming, as well as the sundowner bar. Will be returning. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good day

There is no option for complaints on this page so I am using this form to raise a complaint. I recently stayed at the Imvubu lodge in Richardsbay. Being part of the Protea group of hotels I expected something exceptional (as per the website pics). Imagine my surprise to find a poorly run facility, with small dingy accommodation and incredibly poor customer service. I called in advance to query if there was a hair dryer in every room. When we got there, the hair dryer was broken and the bathroom light did not work. No one even bothered to fix the bathroom light – we had to use our cellphones for light. Someone did come when we were leaving to fix the hair dryer but we were in no mood to entertain this.

I am disgusted by my stay here. IS this a Protea standard – you should be ashamed to lend you name to Imvubu!

Room Tip: There is no tip - choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This property is a series of cabin style accomodations; some have two guest suites, and others just one. The setting is jungle-by-the-sea and we absolutely loved it. The manager and some staff were there to greet the tour bus we were on, with gift trinkets attached to our room keys, and a cocktail in the lobby.

The cabins have kitchenettes and sitting area, separate from the bedroom and bath. In the morning we awaken by thriving wildlife, including monkeys that were as interested in us as we were in them. You can walk down a staircase to the beach that is secured by a locked gate, for the security of the guests. It is indeed a lovely beach, with rough surf and cliffs.

We were quite happy with the dinner and breakfast we were served buffet style. When you travel with a tour group, often times this is your only option for meals, yet the Lodge provided an abundance of fresh offerings.

High rise hotels and room service and spas are nice sometimes, but getting back to nature is amazing as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlifelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerensee
0.1 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richards Bay
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imvubu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imvubu Lodge

Address: 2 Hibberd Drive, Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Imvubu Lodge)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay > Meerensee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerensee
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imvubu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imvubu Lodge is Your Place in Nature. Imvubu Lodge is conveniently situated with Private Access to a golden beach of the Indian Ocean. While nesting within lush indigenous surroundings, filled with an abundance of birdlife, this location offers the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of the world, while being only mere minutes away from the Richards Bay Airport and the growing hub of Richards Bay. With a variety of unique luxury, stand alone, fully serviced chalets, GUESTS of Imvubu Lodge have the advantage of being able to select either a Self Catering option or enjoy the luxury of being catered for at the onsite 'In the Reeds' restaurant. Offering an exceptional standard of cuisine that is sure to satisfy any taste bud, enjoy the picturesque view of our resident Fish Eagle taking fish out of Lake Menywa. Enjoy the magnificent 'Sun Downer Deck' offering pub like meals, with a 180 degree sea view, or just relax and have an ice cold beverage from the 'Sun Downer Bar', while the rest of the world rushes by. Imvubu Lodge offers world class, state of the art business and conferencing facilities ensuring that the business man is able to get the work done even while relaxing in these natural surroundings. In addition to all of this, we offer 24 Hour security, parking at your private chalets, friendly and efficient staff to assist with any of your queries; Imvubu Lodge welcomes all GUESTS be it for Business of Pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Imvubu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Imvubu Richards Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing