We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and service with a smile”
Review of Ghost Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Ghost Mountain Inn during a multi-week package tour, and were immediately impressed with the surroundings and the ambience. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and the resident guide, Jean, was a great source of information on the local area. The food quality was excellent, with only a minor exception in that the supper boxes we were provided for our night game drive were not as well planned as we might have liked, and ended up being very messy to eat. The rooms were large, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with pictures of local Zulu art. Ghost Mountain was ideal for trips to the Zululand Game Park and Hluhluwe game park, both of which offer abundant wildlife and grand scenery and we will be delighted to include GMI in our plans for future trips to KwaZulu Natal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely atmosphere and superb staff Nothing was too much trouble for them Food at breakfast and dinners wonderful Pool area with plenty of loungers and chairs Pleasant walk down to the jetty at the lake If you go up Ghost Mountain on the excursion however hot it seems when you leave take a coat as the temperature can drop by 20 degrees while you are there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fun, upbeat, friendly and impeccable service…this is my favourite country inn in Kwazulu natal totally feel at home when here. Brillinat birding in the garden, even found a Greater Bushbaby, awesome deck stretching out into the river. Thanks Jean and the team.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianBoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks Christian = always great to have you and your guests around. We love your enthusiasm for the small things around us. It makes my day to have guests bounding into my office to tell me about bush baby and special bird sightings. Looking forward to seeing you again. Jean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting with ghost mountain as a backdrop. The accommodation is reasonably satisfactory and clean, probably required some updating. The air con was very noisy in the room. The public areas were very good and the restaurant served a variety of food , buffet style which was lovely, although the service could be slow. The early morning call was interesting as a troop of vervet monkeys thundered across our roof tops and sat looking at us from the patio area outside our room.

Room Tip: If you want the early morning monkey alarm clock pick a room further away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had 3 nights here as part of a tour. The rooms were fine, and the public rooms and grounds very attractive. Canoes are available for use on the nearby lake. We enjoyed a dramatic display of Zulu dancing from a group of extremely energetic dancers. The food was OK, but after 2 days we were tired of the buffet, and the staff seemed unwilling to make the a la carte menu available. Of our 2 game drives the part on the lake was a bit disappointing as the guide was not very informative, and any commentary he made was not relayed to the upper deck. The drive through the Zulu tribal land however was fascinating.
Overall it is a lovely place to find in a pretty remote location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed in Ghost Mountain for one night just because there were no other lodgings nearby. We would have liked to stay in some of the uMkhuze reserve camps but arrived a bit too late for that (we got a tent in uMkhuze the next night). To be short - it's not the place for staying just one night but if you are in the area and it's evening, you really have no choice. The hotel has a spa, lounges, large gardens, two pools, tennis courts etc that you do not need when you arrive in the evening and leave early morning the next day. But the room price considers all these facilities i.e. the value for money for the typical overnight stay is horrible. It was by far the most expensive room of our 3,5 weeks in South Africa (incl stays in Johannesburg and Pretoria) but sadly was not the best hotel nevertheless. I acknowledge that I am not the target customer but here is my review anyway.
The good first:
1) Breakfast was really good and abundant
2) The room itself was huge and well equipped with a matching bathroom.
3) The territory of the Inn was really nice and filled with lush gardens.
Now the bad:
1) The attitude at the reception was unbelievably rude. Yes, I did not have a reservation and wanted the room for one night only but that does not mean that the eye-rolling and huffing and puffing were justified. As she told us the price of the room, I started discussing with my partner if we stay or not. Soon there was a demanding question from the receptionist: "So you want the room?!?". After that I REALLY wanted to say no but we did not have a choice, did we? The receptionist in the next morning was on the contrast really helpful but the damage was already done.
2) From the "Finest Country Inn in Zululand" you would not expect that there is a mold (or some other weird discoloration) and cracks on the ceiling of the room. But there were.
3) No free wifi in the room. Ok, this is an extra service but I have gotten used to having it and most of the self-respecting lodgings offer it.
So all in all - if you make a reservation and choose Ghost Mountain Inn as a base for touring the area for several days and are interested in playing tennis and/or relaxing in spa, you probably will not be dissapointed (if the staff is in the good mood). But still the price/value is not good here and I would definitely advise to look elsewhere - either down the N2 road or in uMkhuze reserve. My final rating is 2,5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear EstTravller
Thank you taking the time to submit your review. It is a pity that you spent such a short time with us. As you noted, we are a great base from which to explore the area for a few days. From the outset I am terribly sorry that you did not receive our usual warm reception and I fear that this poor initial impression unfortunately tainted your stay. Previous reviews attest to our great customer service and your welcome certainly wasn’t typical which is disappointing. All front office staff have been reminded of their crucial role. Our rates start at R630 ($63) for a standard room including breakfast and then we run great value packages for longer stays at various times in the year. This is maybe more expensive compared to self-catering options in nearby parks but we are certainly comparable to other 4 star hotels. I trust that you had a good stay in South Africa.
Best wishes, Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A very special hotel. It is extremely well run, efficient and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The surroundings are great. The food was fine. The excursions interesting and well run. It claims to be the best in the area and I would have little doubt that it is!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
17.9 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
8.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
13.5 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mkuze
380 reviews
13.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
14.6 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Mountain Inn

Address: Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Price Range: £89 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghost Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the legendary Ghost Mountain lies the privately owned 4 Star Ghost Mountain Inn, a perfect setting for taking time out to relax and experience the charms of Africa in comfort and style. This intimate and beautiful hotel is in the heart of South Africa's Zulu Kingdom and is the ideal location from which to explore the array of wildlife and coastal reserves in northern KwaZulu Natal. Relax in one of tastefully appointed, en suite bedrooms or take in the golden African sunset from your very own garden patio. The Inn provides good food and friendly service either in the air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the expansive grounds and indigenous gardens. Nature enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of wildlife and the scenic splendours of this rich and diverse region, either as a self-drive or In the company of Ghost Mountain Safaris' knowledgeable rangers. Safari offerings include game drives and hikes in Mkhuze and Hluhluwe game reserves to see the big five, boat cruises and tiger fishing on Lake Jozini, Zulu cultural excursions and acclaimed birding in one of Southern Africa's top birding destinations with over 450 species. Escape and be pampered at the Ghost Mountain Spa. Offering a range of treatments utilising organic eco certified African skincare products, a steamroom, relaxation area with private plung pool, healthy lunches and an exercise facility for the more actively-inclined. For those travelling to southern Mozambique, or between Kruger Park, Swaziland and Durban, Ghost Mountain Inn makes an excellent stopover or memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Ghost Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghost Mountain Hotel Mkuze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing