We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base from which to explore surrounds”
Review of Ghost Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice African decor in the lounge and dining room. The room was a good size, pleasant, bathroom needs upgrade. Breakfast was buffet style,could do with more fresh fruit, something for everyone though. Dinner was also buffet, they have a terrace menu too if you are wanting a la carte. Food was inconsistent and not always as was described on the menu, hamburger was good. Great little spa and gift shop. A boat ride is a must, you'll see animals on the banks of Lake Jozini if you're lucky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the spa, quieter that side
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Ghost Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed one night only en route from St Lucia back to Johannesburg. Room was fine, dinner buffet was great (ate far too much!) and breakfast the next morning was good. Outstanding feature of Ghost Mountain Inn was the information I received from Jean Toucher, the Safari Manager, who really went out of her way to ensure that I received the best possible advice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller55KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

For a mid size hotel this is not a bad hotel but it is not great either. I found them in the Greenwoods guide which generally is a good recommendation as other hotels that they review have tended to go from good to great. The management was good and helpful, the a la carte the first night very average but the following night the buffet good and generally I don't like buffets so this was a pleasant surprise. The room was a hotel room, ok but not memorable. Price wise it was probably reasonable but when I see what value you can get from some boutique hotels that go the extra mile and are special I would prefer someplace different.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were passing through and only stayed a night. Rooms are beautifully styled. Age of building shows and roof needs attention. Good range of dstv channels. Fully reliant on bar and restaurant - i.e no place for own food/drink. Staff professional. Food ok - burger was good, but butternut wrap lacked 3 key ingredients listed on menu. Not tasty. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in December. Our room was 39 and looked onto the garden. The garden is well kept and manicured. There are beautiful palms and alo Vera plants.
The rooms have recently been redecorated however the rooms show there age with the holes in the wall and the aging ceiling cornices.
There is both a shower and a bath.
The bed is large however again it's showing age and compressed on the bottom due to heavy usage and lack of mattress turning.
The breakfast is buffet and is included in the room price, there are ham, cheese and rolls. Also there is a hot buffet with bacon, sausage, mushrooms etc. you can order omelets with onion, mushrooms and cheese. The omelets are not cooked so well.
The dinner is also buffet and costs 200 rand per person. The soup and starters are of good quality. The main is a different story. The beef is cheap quality and rubbery. The lamb is nice and the chicken I personally didn't trust.
The veranda area is beautiful and well kept. We purchased a bottle of wine which had turned vinegary due to heat and sun exposure however when this was highlighted the bottle was exchanged immediately with no question.
Conclusion - a beautiful old lodge that has a few issues.
On the whole recommended, maybe try eating dinner else where.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I both stayed at GMI mid November after a tough ride through Mozambique. We were welcomed by friendly staff and had all the luxuries we could possibly need. That evening we sat down to a lovely dinner accompanied by traditional Zulu choir - What a lovely touch!! Sean and his team really went the extra mile for us and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Anch0r_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here as part of our Grand Tour of South Africa, via Ilios Travel. Staff were first class - professional, friendly, knowledgeable and great fun. Jean and her team were really great, including Adam the Ranger. Wonderful views from the intimate jetty area, great food and service made our short stay a really great and memorably experience. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
17.9 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
13.5 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
8.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mkuze
373 reviews
22.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Mountain Inn

Address: Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghost Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the legendary Ghost Mountain lies the privately owned 4 Star Ghost Mountain Inn, a perfect setting for taking time out to relax and experience the charms of Africa in comfort and style. This intimate and beautiful hotel is in the heart of South Africa's Zulu Kingdom and is the ideal location from which to explore the array of wildlife and coastal reserves in northern KwaZulu Natal. Relax in one of tastefully appointed, en suite bedrooms or take in the golden African sunset from your very own garden patio. The Inn provides good food and friendly service either in the air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the expansive grounds and indigenous gardens. Nature enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of wildlife and the scenic splendours of this rich and diverse region, either as a self-drive or In the company of Ghost Mountain Safaris' knowledgeable rangers. Safari offerings include game drives and hikes in Mkhuze and Hluhluwe game reserves to see the big five, boat cruises and tiger fishing on Lake Jozini, Zulu cultural excursions and acclaimed birding in one of Southern Africa's top birding destinations with over 450 species. Escape and be pampered at the Ghost Mountain Spa. Offering a range of treatments utilising organic eco certified African skincare products, a steamroom, relaxation area with private plung pool, healthy lunches and an exercise facility for the more actively-inclined. For those travelling to southern Mozambique, or between Kruger Park, Swaziland and Durban, Ghost Mountain Inn makes an excellent stopover or memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ghost Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghost Mountain Hotel Mkuze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing