We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed longer......”
Review of Ghost Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have stayed longer......”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a small-group tour and thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good (especially the breakfasts) and the staff were helpful and friendly (Sean went out of his way to help). The safari arranged at the Hluhluwe reserve was amazing, with a friendly and knowledgeable ranger (hotel based). We were also lucky enough to experience an open air concert by an amazing choir, under the stars in the hotel grounds. Truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    136
    35
    9
    0
See reviews for
75
185
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a night at Ghost Mountain Inn to celebrate our anniversary.
We loved the area, the hotel's public areas were neat and looked newly refurbished. The housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming, variety on the buffet was average for both Dinner and Breakfast.
We stayed in Room 29, the carpet and base of the bed were stained with dirt. We found pubic hairs in the bathroom, the silicon had mould around the bath and the rooms are a bit dated. Our TV didn't work and when we reported this the manager came said he needed to replace the cable and never came back, we asked reception if we could move and we were told no even though the hotel was not full. Prices advertised for drinks in the menu were not updated, at least we got an apology from the barman. We will not stay at Ghost Mountain Inn again with all of the other options in the area we feel that they are geared towards tour groups and business travelers not really interested in making use of the facilities on offer. We booked the hotel to celebrate our anniversary and I feel they felt short delivering on the basics.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFourie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear JFourie106,

Thankyou for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy the area and our public areas. Our staff are certainly very special and are renown for their friendly Zululand hospitality. Many have been part of the team at Ghost Mountain for over 25 years and are certainly our secret ingredient. I am terribly sorry and disappointed to hear that your room wasn't inspected properly. If it had been you would most certainly have had a much better experience. Your review has been discussed at length with all concerned and we have made changes to our operating procedures to try to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I believe that our General Manager has been in contact with you and you will hopefully be returning. Hopefully for a bit longer so that you have time to go for a boat trip on Lake Jozini, a game drive in Mkhuze game reserve or romantic sundowners on top of the Lebombo Mountains. Or maybe a luxurious organic Terres d'Afrique body treatments in our Spa.

Best wishes,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of friends and it was a lovely place to stopover on the way to Kruger. The room was pleasant and the meals good and they had a spa and a gym and nice pool. Rooms were clean and seemed to be a popular place for tourists. The staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My uncle took me here for my 18th birthday and it was easily the most stunning place I've ever every stayed at. My room was stunning with a glass window separating the bathroom and bedroom. Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the spa, swimming pool late in the evening and the river and Safari rides. I have never been made to feel so welcome at a hotel in my life. On my birthday I went for breakfast and was sung to in Zulu by the staff who also had made me a cake. Ghost mountain in definitely go the extra mile to make your stay an amazing, memory filled one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Ghost Mountain. The hotel is located next to a lovely lake with it's own picturesque jetty and views to the mountains. Lots of pleasant public areas to relax in and excellent restaurant and bar. The staff were always welcoming and attentive. The rooms are quite small but well specified and with a small outside area to sit in the sun.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-G23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for two nights. Good, comfortable rooms, with patio area. Good bathroom. Interesting grounds. Pleasant communal areas and the walkway leading to the lake is worth trying. No a la carte and buffet at dinner not the best (but maybe I'm being fussy after several other good offerings at other hotels on this trip). Breakfast fine. Service helpful. Sean the General Manager is very visible and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Upon our arrival, everyone of our group was surprised by the exotic setting of this hotel. Mkuze doesn't look quite the same way. Our rooms were large, each with a private patio. Bathrooms were good sized also. Our first night here was a rainy one so dinner was served in the dining room which is tastefully decorated. The options on the buffet were extensive from appetizers with shrimp & smoked salmon through to the entrees with vegetables & 3 meats on the indoor grill, followed by 5 dessert selections. Tea & coffee were included here also. Our second night's dinner was a wonderful braii outside on the candlelit patio, again with many choices. Following dinner we were entertained by the female staff singing accapella then we headed to a fantastic Zulu show performed at the back of the property. The lobbies are relaxing places where everyone gathers for the internet. The pool is clean & warm & used by many in our group. Those who used the spa raved about the massages. Management is always checking how things are going - super friendly. This was a fantastic stay - we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, Owner at Ghost Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Lyn021
It is always such a pleasure to know that we have delighted our guests - thank you for your kind words. Look forward to hopefully seeing you again at the Ghost Mountain Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mkuze
13.5 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
8.1 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
11.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 33 in Hluhluwe
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
17.1 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Mountain Inn

Property: Ghost Mountain Inn
Address: Fish Eagle Road, Mkuze 3965, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mkuze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mkuze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghost Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the legendary Ghost Mountain lies the privately owned 4 Star Ghost Mountain Inn, a perfect setting for taking time out to relax and experience the charms of Africa in comfort and style. This intimate and beautiful hotel is in the heart of South Africa's Zulu Kingdom and is the ideal location from which to explore the array of wildlife and coastal reserves in northern KwaZulu Natal. Relax in one of tastefully appointed, en suite bedrooms or take in the golden African sunset from your very own garden patio. The Inn provides good food and friendly service either in the air conditioned restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the expansive grounds and indigenous gardens. Nature enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of wildlife and the scenic splendours of this rich and diverse region, either as a self-drive or In the company of Ghost Mountain Safaris' knowledgeable rangers. Safari offerings include game drives and hikes in Mkhuze and Hluhluwe game reserves to see the big five, boat cruises and tiger fishing on Lake Jozini, Zulu cultural excursions and acclaimed birding in one of Southern Africa's top birding destinations with over 450 species. Escape and be pampered at the Ghost Mountain Spa. Offering a range of treatments utilising organic eco certified African skincare products, a steamroom, relaxation area with private plung pool, healthy lunches and an exercise facility for the more actively-inclined. For those travelling to southern Mozambique, or between Kruger Park, Swaziland and Durban, Ghost Mountain Inn makes an excellent stopover or memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Ghost Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghost Mountain Hotel Mkuze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing